We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Bliss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu to your Saves list
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

As resort owners ourselves we are pretty finicky but we were more then happy with our one week at Breakas. A beautiful setting and gorgeous grounds. Our accommodation was set one back from the beach which suited us perfectly (still only 30m from the beach) and was equiped with everything we could want and very comfortable and large beds. Breakfast was adequate but lacked little nicities such as cheese and ham, but was nice nevertheless. Having a staff member walking around the pool and beach areas asking patrons if they would like drinks, etc would have been a nice touch as well. We had an amazing and relaxing time here and will most certainly be back. The owner George does a great job as host.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    185
    55
    22
    13
See reviews for
35
419
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We just got home 4 days ago and I still can't bring myself to unpack - had SUCH a great stay - The location is sublime, 10 minutes out of the city and NO CHILDREN which I have to say was a major plus. Yes we had a few minor niggles - king size beds? really? not knowing about what was happening in the resort was a bit of a problem - when was the guided reef tour? when was the scuba diving lesson? apparently there was a happy hour - no one told us and there was certainly no advice anywhere to be seen. But hey honestly these are MINOR MINOR things - if you want to BLISS OUT, READ/ RELAX, and FALL IN LOVE all over again you can't beat BREAKA'S - yes we WILL be back!

Room Tip: Room 22 was perfect! not too close to the restaurant but not too far away (and not so close to the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coromandel peninsula
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently returned from a holiday at Breakas resort and recommend it as a good place to stay.
we stayed in a Garden Fare which we found peaceful and private.The room was spacious, clean and comfortable set amongst lovely trees. There were fares available on the beach front but we thought they were more public, it just depends what you are looking for. We came for a restful break so ate at the restaurant every night rather than going into Port Vila. The food was good and the nightly entertainment was varied and enjoyable.Breakas is child free and that did make for a more relaxing holiday and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: for a tranquil stay choose a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from Breaka,s and have to say we had a wonderful stay !!! We had a beach front fare no 8 and it was awesome , great location , immaculate , nothing too much trouble !! A minor problem with hot water fixed within minutes , Roy was so helpful and went the extra mile , so grateful for the help he gave my hubby during our stay , Freda so great organising our activities , restaraunt was excellent , although as a Vegetarian I found it a bit limited , bed a bit hard for our personal taste but hey you can't please everyone on that front !! Notice a lot of people commenting on George but for us he barely had the time of day , greeted us briefly , a few words here and there when he could be bothered but clearly we lacked importance on that front !!! Our late night checkin on our first night was a disappointment ,, due to flight times we didn't arrive til after midnight , our first day completely wasted !!!!! Not the resorts fault but we never got a proper " greeting " , no village tour was ever offered etc as per our booking info .. Guess we could have asked but in the end it all seemed a bit of an afterthought really . All up this place is really good value . If you enjoy snorkelling try to take as much of your own gear as you can as resorts gear a bit limited and well used !!! Reef shoes are a must .... It's pretty much broken coral for beach ... Not the sandy beaches we know here , despite the pictures . These guys made our anniversary really a special occasion !!! Lovely !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Have arrived home after a too quick stay at Breakas. Can't find fault with this resort at all. Everything was perfect. The location, the accommodation , food and staff were all great. We stayed in garden fare 45 , it was very peaceful , but we could still hear the ocean which was nice. Having stayed in a Raffles hotel earlier in the year didn't think anywhere else could match that experience but Breakas did.
George made an effort to catch up with the guests either at breakfast or early evening which was a nice touch. George your staff are a credit to you.
Not having children running around was nice. The snorkelling was lovely and the view at breakfast was just wow every day !!!

Thanks Breakas team !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had an amazing stay at Breakas Resort. The setting was beautiful and tranquil, although the staff sometimes could be a little reserved. Were a little concerned about the fact that there was no air-conditioning in the fales but found that they stayed wonderful and cool.

Would highly recommend the seafood buffett, although we enjoying eating at the local restaurants more than the resort restaurant.

On the whole, a lovely lovely place to stay. Cannot wait to go back - which we certainly will.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just come home from a 7 day holiday at Breakas. We had a wonderful time, the beach is great, plenty of sand and the snorkling was good. The bungalows are big and spacious with shutters for windows, so no glass. If you enjoy showering under the stars this is a great place to be. George is a very attentative host, we had some very interesting conversations. The food in the restaurant is very tasty, perfect steaks. I would not eat any later than 7.00pm as by 8.30pm most guests have gone so the staff are not quite so attentative. Very friendly and accommodating staff, relaxed island style, Only comment we would make are about the barking dogs and roosters from the village over the road do disturb your sleep at times, so take ear plugs with you. We both had a massage at the spa, lovely experience, highly reccommend. One word of advise for those ladies who like to have manicures or pedicures, do not go the the the place behind the French restaurant on the main street, they do not steralise their equipment, very unprofessional. Bungalows are serviced every day with fresh linen. All in all, a great place to stay, so would highly reccommend Breakas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.