We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu to your Saves list
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Breakas for four nights in early January 2012. Upon arriving, we were greeted with leis and a fruity drink before staff walked us (and our heavy suitcases) to our garden fare (# 52).

We were instantly impressed with our fare. Sure, we saw the pictures online, but they didn't really show how cute the place was. Our only complaints were the fare did not really get much cooler at night (the sea breezes the website mentions did not reach us) and the refrigerator did not get all that cold. If, like me, you need it cooler at night to sleep well, you might be better off to spend the extra money and get a fare near the water - particularly in December and January when it's hot and humid.

The resort itself is beautiful with the many flowering trees and plants. It's quite obvious that the staff care for for the resort. We never ordered off the restaurant menu for regular food, but we did partake in the Melanesian and Seafood feasts. Both were pretty good for buffet-type food, but the atmosphere of having dinner on or near the beach and the native dancers made the money worthwhile. The breakfast buffet (which was included in our rate) did not change while we were there, but we were happy with the choices available (coffee, fruit, juice, and pancakes worked for us). The bar also makes beautiful drinks. One could easily stay at the resort without leaving, but I would recommend taking a bus into town and trying out some of the local restaurants (L'Houstelet, Baywatch, and and Jill's Cafe were all good). Although we generally had good luck with the buses, there was one episode where we felt we were getting scammed - ask the concierge what your trip should cost so you know.

We would definitely consider staying at Breakas again although we would probably stay in the cooler months.

Room Tip: Since there is no AC, choose a room closer to the sea or wait until the cooler months (July / August...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    176
    54
    22
    12
See reviews for
33
397
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently returned from an unforgetable trip to Vanuatu and we could not have been happier with the breakas beach as our resort. The overall cleanliness of the resort was immaculate, the staff were incredibly friendly, the location was fantastic- with only a short bus trip into town and the local Pango village just up the road with an amazing private beach, the rooms were simple yet perfect.

We had gone on our trip to relax and do some sightseeing and definately did just that! With such helpful staff ( especially Alfred the tours desk manager) we were able to do just about everything Port Villa offers. He really took us under his wing and gave an unforgetable experience up in the village at the kava bar, playing pool with the local boys! he really went above and beyond for us and we were so appreciative!!

The melaneysian night was a success! amazing entertainment and the food was incredible! definately reccomend doing this.

Prices in Vanuatu is very similiar to Australia so we were not fussed about the costs of meals at the resort or in town but it is great to do a bit of both.

The pool area is unbelievable!! Going in the off peak season meant my partner and I practically had it to ourselves the whole time!

House keeping were so friendly and always did a great job! They were never intruisive and it was always so lovely seeing the workers in the paths around the gardens and on the beaches!

We happened to experience an earthquake in the middle of the night on one of our last nights there, and the way the staff were so helpful about it all really calmed our panic! :)

George the owner is doing a wonderful job at Breakas!

Overall had the most amazing week away and would not have changed a thing (other than going in the dry season not the wet! but in saying that we did get two and a half full days of sun!) It was simply an amazing holiday and we were really appreciative of the staff for making it that way! We really got what we came for and definately reccomend Breakas Beach as your choice of resort!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden fare on the front fringe towards the road, though you could hear the cars at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at the best resort in Vanuatu - Breakas Beach Resort is amazing! From the beautiful beach to the great staff and friendly locals you can totally lose yourself in the tranquility and beauty of the gardens. We found the staff brilliant and attentive to our every need. The owner George greeted us personally when we arrived which was a nice touch. We were in a garden fare and the lush tropical gardens were both cooling and beautiful. The simplicity of the resort really embodies the way of life in Vanuatu and the locals and staff make you feel so at home you really do find yourself agreeing with the resorts website signature statement of "Welcome Home".

Room Tip: If you like plants and feeling like your on Pandora from avatar then choose a garden fare. If you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Wow what a place! My boyfriend and I stayed at Breakas for 6 nights on our first trip to Vanuatu and we were impressed to say the least. We stayed in a beach-front fare which was small but adequate with features such as a mini-bar fridge, beach towels, handy mosquito net, and tea & coffee making facilities. Our room was made up each day by the friendly staff and generally we found the cleanliness of the resort to be of a very high standard. We loved the open-air shower which really reminded you that you are in the tropics, however we did find a couple of reasonably sized crabs living in there!

One of the best features of the resort is definitely the location. Located on Pango Point, Breakas offers some decent surf breaks on both the right and left hand sides of the resort which are easily accessible and well worth the paddle out. The reef directly in front of the resort offers fantastic snorkelling but don't worry about having to lug your own gear, as it can be easily hired at the activities desk for a small deposit which is refunded when you return it.
Travelling into Port Vila city from the resort was also easy, with buses passing by every few seconds and costing around 150-200VT depending on where you want to go.

Another one of Breakas' best qualities is the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and easygoing, and genuinely wanted us to make the most of our trip. All our needs were catered to with no problems at all. In particular the activities organiser Alfred was great, offering useful suggestions and advice on what to do and where to go. Each morning you would see him wandering around the reception, making sure that everyone got picked up for their tours, which he was also able to organise for us. Unfortunately my boyfriend became sick on our last night and required an ambulance to pick him up from the resort. The staff were fantastic, promptly ringing the ambulance for us at 5.30am and assisting in his transfer to the hospital in any way they could. When we returned, they offered us a room for the day for free (as we had checked out at 11am and were not flying until 3pm) and kept the breakfast buffet open for as long as we needed.

Although on the expensive side, the food at Breakas is excellent. Each day the breakfast buffet offered wide variety of foods from tropical fruits, to muffins, croissants, cereals and daily specials. We only ate dinner a few times at the resort due to the price, however the a la carte menu was delicious and it is definitely worth booking a table on the sand to eat under the stars with the waves lapping at your feet. The Melanesian night is a definite must in order to try some of the local cuisine and sample Kava. The atmosphere at dinner each night was relaxed and social, and we enjoyed meeting many other couples from whom we received recommendations of some of the best activities to do on the island.

Breakas is one of the most beautiful and clean resorts I have been to, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to relax and unwind in a tropical island paradise!

Room Tip: It is definitely worth the extra money for a beachfront fare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed at Breakas recently and whilst a nice small resort, some changes put in to place would improve the guest experience.

The staff friendliness can be very hit & miss - particularly the wait / bar staff.
On sight workers / staff using the sand paths between the garden fares (located further away from the beach) shouldn't be talking - particularly loudly! - early mornings.
Considering the fares only have flyscreen & wooden shutters (hence noise carries & can be heard easily), people paying to be on HOLIDAY don't want to be woken up from 6 - 8am by staff chattering / shouting to one another as they walk around the paths (and next to the fare windows!). Not cool.

When the weather is bad (raining), wouldn't be a bad idea to establish a pool umbrella up at the front of the entrance for guests to wait under for the taxis / busses......

On the score of bad weather - it's really hard to get anything dry in high humidity & wet conditions. Providing additional towel rails / hooks in the bathrooms / fares wouldn't go astray.

And on the note of it being an adult only resort -if this is the case - then STICK with that policy. There were families staying there with children clearly under 15 yrs old. The pool / bar area is only small - only takes a couple of loud kids / family to be present to change the atmosphere.....not for the better. I for one don't want to hear the constant screeches of 'MUM....MUMMMM' and the general deafness displayed by families with young teens.
Couples on holiday relaxing on the beach by the pool aren't interested in hearing that!

On the + side, the Fares are nice, clean & well maintained, housekeeping was good, pool towels are provided & the food was excellent for the majority of our stay. The melanesian feast at approx $35 pp was the one bad meal we had - the food that night was terrible, and the 1 time we'd wished we'd gone up the road to Le Lagoon Resort instead.

Whilst the above points were small issues, they do add up on a daily basis & subtract from what could be an overall great experience that will have people raving about the resort.....
word of mouth does count these days.

George the owner is very pleasant & friendly to guests - I wish him success with the resort in the future!

Room Tip: Choose a beach fare away from the pool area or garden ones just behind the beachfront fares. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Breakas is sitiuated on the ocean side of Pango Point. We stayed a week and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The people are nice and friendly, the food is pretty good (compared to Fiji) but comes at a price similar to back in Australia.

The rooms are basic but nice, but the staff and delivery vans start early and don't worry about making noise.

The lagoon in front is nice and protected, good for snorkelling, and there is a reef break that i am told does get good, but not while we were there.

There are enough sites to see around the Islands to keep you busy, but the nightlife is very low key. Vanuatu is a great place to relax and get away from the TV, phone etc.

Try the Coconut Crab and go to Tanner Island to see the Volcano erupting...that was a buzz.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean front Bure on the point away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed here for seven nights with my partner, a friend and his partner.
We got to Breakas quite late so we did not get to see what it looked like until the morning. It is a beautiful place with the most amazing and attentive staff.
We stayed in Beach Front Fare and we were not disappointed. A king sized bed, day bed, table, chairs and outdoor furniture made sure we had plenty of places to relax. The bathroom was great, with an indoor/outdoor shower which was great due to the humidity.
The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job and were never instrusive.
The reception crew are a credit to the hotel as are the bar staff who were always keen to help and get us whatever we needed.
Alfred "Reggie Miller", the concierge, was brilliant. He organised trips for us whenever we needed them and gave us his top recommendations (which were all spot on). The village tour is something we all will never forget - thank you Alfred!
I was lucky enough to meet the owner, George. He is a very nice man who makes sure that you are having a great stay.
I cannot speak and higher of Breakas. We will be back to stay most deifinitely.
Keep up the good work and thank you!

Room Tip: Beach Front Fares are brilliant - indoor/outdoor showers add a real tropical touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.