We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emily's Cafe & Takeaway

Emily's Cafe & Takeaway
Rue Dartois, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
+678 25550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 74 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Emily's is next to the National Museum and across the road from Vanuatu parliament and operates a "No Frills" restaurant that is renowned for its "5 Star" quality food at budget rates. Emily's is the only restaurant to be licensed to operate 24x7 in Port Vila and serves a variety of cuisines with regular and daily specials also featured on the menu. We are famous for our large helpings and our Vanuatu Steak and also feature dishes such as our wood fired BBQ Chicken and chips, Poulet fish and chips and Chicken Schnitzel to name a few.Emily's, ples blo gud fala kakai! (where the food is awesome!)
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good food well cooked, smiling faces. Give yourself a treat at a reasonable price. It is not too far out of town (just up near the Parliament Building) and there are many cheap buses to get you there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Well the smiling faces is how we were voted the 'happiest place on earth' ... Our smiles, service and easy access have all attributed to our award winning cafe. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for us.
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    48
    20
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food at Reasonable Prices!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I live on the Island and am making my way around Port Vila, so far, the burgers are good at Errakor Island, but the burgers are better at Emily's Cafe!! Great meat used with egg, bacon and cheese included with salad for less than $6 Australian?! Heck yes.

Great overall menu as well, always reasonably priced and now with an ATM that disposes Australian Dollars that can be changed for Vatu over the counter at the best rates in Vila.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
So glad you found our famous burger - Aussies need an Aussie burger!
We try to have convenience for all travelers and so the ATM has been a very popular addition. I'm glad you took the time to include these items in your review, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sports Bar-ish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Is on main road so easy to have a go . Has both good takeaway and full mains. Sports bar-ish / tv screen and they do Live music which is good fun ! Worth Stopping by during busy Holi-Day..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Live music has been a key factor in our success. Not much of it in town. We try to create a fun & friendly atmosphere in which one can relax after a hectic 'touristy' day,.
Really appreciate your review, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“so cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you're wanting to have a decent meal and save some cash then Emily's is well worth a visit. Very very cheap meals (1000 vatu steaks!)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Our 1000vatu specials are changed daily, so you can visit more than once and not have to have the same meal. was great to have you with us...love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good for a casual night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Got takeaway one night for the kids and they enjoyed the food, nothing bad about it, just burgers and chips, staff were friendly, about the same price as home

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks Kerry for your review..glad the kids enjoyed the burgers. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily's Cafe & Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to Emily's Cafe & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.