We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of War Horse Saloon

War Horse Saloon
Wharf Rd | Next to Origin House, Port Vila, Efate 11111, Vanuatu
+678 26670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 74 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Pizza, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great food i had the ribs and my partner had the fish. Great service and meal was served quickly. Also price was not expensive neither of us could finish our courses

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    80
    29
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great smoked ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The best ribs ever. If the bar is busy service is a bit slow. Great casual atmosphere unless you have 12 drunk Americans at the next table. Other than that it was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Place for Value Food and excellent beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The War Horse Saloon is a very friendly place where you can get a very large serving of scrumptious food and some really excellent beers brewed by the owner.

We enjoyed the burgers but were tempted by a lot of the menu.

The atmosphere is straight out of the western movies (with updates for TV to watch essential football matches) and somewhere you always feel you will get an honest tasty meal and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Such a strange place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I don't think the Saloon bar is the kind of place you go by mistake. It attracts a crowd of OZ expats, bikers and big eaters. The food is average - but the portions are huge (we shared the ribs among 3 people).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Wings in the South Pacific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were there with friends, and enjoyed an amazing "American Feast"

All my friends had ribs, though I chose 4 servings of chicken wings (buffalo wings), with their awesome blue cheese dressing (I miss the USA). It was great and then we proceeded to get slightly tipsy. Great night out!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Horse Saloon also viewed

 

Been to War Horse Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage War Horse Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.