We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of War Horse Saloon

War Horse Saloon
Wharf Rd | Next to Origin House, Port Vila, Efate 11111, Vanuatu
+678 26670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 72 restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Melboourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Food was okay but the portions were small, the staff very friendly and the owners very nice. The food was pretty average.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    90
    49
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Great service - staff fabulous. museum decor is great too and loved the dogs and bell ringing cat ! let down though by food - pork ribs inedible that night - and price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Wild West hits Port Vila”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Has to be seen to be believed (in a good way). Loved the Great beer and pizza! Don and Donna excellent hosts.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great ribs and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

the texican beer should be bottled and sold internationally - quite unique - like nothing i have tasted before. i have been going to the saloon since it opened 6-7 years ago and the beer they had before was a bit watery and tasteless - like american beer- not the TEXICAN though - as ig as Texas and then some. the pork ribs were great - the spicy chicken was just a tad too hot for my liking but probably perfect for a Mexican in Vanuatu

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good for a drink if you can get one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I waited 10 minutes at the bar trying to attract the attention of a member of staff and was finally served it was not worth the wait. I also made the mistake of ordering enchiladas which were without doubt the worse I have ever eaten. I blame myself after all we are in the South Pacific and I should have known better. My excuse if there is one is that the menu was uninspiring consisting mainly of meat which is not appealing at night.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Horse Saloon also viewed

Port Vila, Efate
Port Vila, Efate
 

Been to War Horse Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage War Horse Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.