We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vanuatu, Port Vila Two Beautiful Options.

Subdivision jutting out into the harbour.
Subdivision jutting out into the harbour.
Subdivision jutting out into the harbour.
'SEA BREEZE GUEST HOUSE'
'SB' KITCHEN
'SB' LOUNGE
Port Vila
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
helenmcle...
Dalby, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“extremely disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

after considerable research my husband I and my sister-in-law decided to book Sea Breeze Guest House for our 8 day holiday in Vanuatu. we were pretty impressed with the photos on the website and were looking forward to our holiday. When we arrived in Vanuatu we were surprised that no one was there to pick us up - apparently there had been some misunderstanding but we rang Kim who picked us up and was very helpful.

Whilst we did not expect beachfront, when we arrived at the house we were gobsmacked to see that, unlike the picture on the website, you do not look out over a vacant blow to the beachfront, you look out at a high concrete wall! there was a laneway down to the beach but that was blocked by gravel and building materials. the guest information sent to us after we had paid our final accommodation payment stated "As the lot in front of SBHG is not built on, flotsam and jetsam wash up on the beach therefore please feel free to wander through the subdivision and swim from any of the beaches there" - there was no mention that there was a big concrete wall just metres from the front fence. I have attached a copy of the website photo and also of what the actual view is and the blocked laneway.

We expressed our disappointment to Kim and she said we could perhaps have the apartment which has water views. Kim took us the short distance to the apartment but had no key to let us in. This didn't matter because the apartment was accessed by a stairway and the whole of the downstairs area was a building site!

As it was late we went back to the house and settled in for the night only to discover that the microwave had left over food in it, the tv wouldn't work, the utensils and fry pan had to be cleaned before we could cook with them, the outside glass table was filthy, the beds didn't feel clean and had sand/grit in them. we telephoned Kim and advised that we were very disappointed and did not wish to stay. in the morning we tried unsuccessfully to contact Kim so we cleaned the house so there would be no question about our bond, found alternative accommodation and left.

I emailed Kim and no response. I sent a second email wanting to resolve everything and said that their response would impact on my review, meaning I was hoping to say that our complaints were amicably resolved. instead I received emails from the owner telling me I was a blackmailer, that they would not "subsidize my temper tantrum", that my standards of cleanliness were high, blaming me for being "impulsive" and was told " sadly life can be one big disappointment, things are not always going to be, as we envision them. Things/situations change , it's called life :-) :-).".

we asked for our money to be refunded to us (less the cost of one night's accommodation) but were told they would only refund our bond plus $200 for unused electricity. and that is what we received.

I don't think its too much to ask that owners take some responsibility for the state of the house and the fact that we were not given the chance to cancel when clearly the outlook of the house changed to a wall, for deceptive and misleading photographs on their website etc. apparently it is not alright for a holiday makers to complain about anything at all because when they do they are made out to be a troublemaker, liar etc. I am not in the habit of throwing money away and I rarely complain about anything, but as this was a holiday we saved for and is a lot of money to us we were extremely disappointed with how things turned out and particularly with the way the owners chose to handle it. I see on another review that when someone else complained they were shot down so I imagine that is what will happen with this review too.

on a positive note......if you don't want a view and the house is properly cleaned then it is a lovely spacious house and would be great for families. The owner did offer us a weeks free accommodation next year but we have no plans to return to Vanuatu - all we wanted was our money back.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 1 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: spacious house
Liked least: concrete wall view which we didnt expect, unclean house, owners response
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2013
Helen,
How many times do I need to explain this unfortunate situation to you? We have spent a lot of time chatting to you, explaining to you, and even apologizing regarding the neighbours inconsideration in erecting his fence/wall, which he's entittled to undertake.
Your first complaint upon arrival to Kim was the house was not beachfront. Kim realised that you had obviously made a mistake and were looking at the photos of our absolute beachfront guest accommodation, hence the reason Kim offered, the beachfront guest accommodation. It appears your complaint kept changing, once you realised your mistake. Things you said to Kim at the time have since altered.
The guests before you, and after you, have been delighted with the house. One said "The wall is not a big deal due to our tropical garden in front of the house being so lush.
No one has EVER complained about cleanliness of any of our houses. Our housekeeper Kim, checks everything prior to every guests arrival, if we are not in Vanuatu. This time was no exception.
You were offered absolute beach front, that wasn't good enough for you. You were offered a free holiday, again that didn't suit.
The water view photo in our website was taken prior to this new wall/fence being erected. This photo centered on the 5 metre access way in front of the house to indicate the potential view, if and when the house across the ROW was built.
We have alway's stated the house is one back, or 50 metres from the waterfront, with a 5 metre accessway to the beach. We also encourage our guests to swim/snorkel from lots 1 to 7 these being from the subdivision gate around to the point.
We do not take kindly to blackmail, no home owner should be held to ransom on the threat of a negative review. But I have already discussed this with you, as I have with everything else within your review. So sadly there's nothing more we can say to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CautiousK...
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The house was fantastic it has everything you need & is a great size. The covered verandah is huge. The down side is that there is now a 3.0m concrete wall which is now the view from the house as they have been built out there is no seaview from the house. The beach on the oceanside is much cleaner than the one on the harbour side which is full of rubbish unfortunatley the locals dont seem to care about their beach. Swimming is best at high tide lots of coral so you might want to wear reef shoes. Lcoation is good 10-15minute bus ride into town. Busses come to the gate about every 20 mins we had to walk wabout 300m furtherest before a bus came along. You can get a bus to the airport form approx 1500-2000 VAT.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: beach on harbour side
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2013
Hello Brendon,
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Sadly we have to agree with you regarding the natives unconcern for their beautiful island. It's an ex-pats nightmare, it absolutely breaks our hearts, but what can one do? Education regarding their beautiful enviroment should start at 5 years old.

We always recommend guests swim/snorkell from lot 1 to lot 7 from the subdivision gate to the point, (west to north) there's no problems with any of those beaches, as you stated, within your review.Guests are welcome to swim off any beach within the subdivision.

You are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Romykins
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing views with a few surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at House of the Rising Sun Apartment for 2 weeks and very much enjoyed ourselves. Kim, a lovely Aussie who looks after the house in the owners’ absence, had a big part in this by being very helpful and immediately available when small snags arose. Also, the view from the balcony is unbeatable – a source of endless entertainment, we would spend hours watching the weather roll in from the hills on the other side of the bay, and the boats going past. It was fun to watch the action on the island, with children (of all ages) playing on the beach and in the water.

The apartment is well-appointed, with good kitchen utensils, a small BBQ, sun loungers on the balcony, a TV (no DVD though, contrary to what the ad claims), a stereo, soft beds you sink into like a cloud, and fairy-lights on the balcony, which added a nice romantic touch.

There were, however, a couple of surprises: we read about the accommodation being in a gated community, so expected the place to be private, but sent an email inquiry anyway specifying that we were after somewhere “quiet and private”. As the owner didn’t say anything to the contrary, we went ahead to find that quite the opposite was the case: the beach in front of the house actually serves as the landing point for the small ferry boats transporting locals to and from the island 80m offshore – not somewhere you could lie quietly and read a book. In addition, the builders normally working on the house (who work on neighbouring properties while there are guests here) will come and have their breakfast and lunch, followed by a siesta, on the half-built ground floor of the house. They aren’t unfriendly, but I still didn’t feel like walking past them in a bikini.

Then there was the fact that there are building sites on either side of the house. For most of the day Mon – Sat there was noise from circular saws, power-drills, and hammers. Not deafening noise, but certainly there. The same is true for the cottage further inland, which is also next to a building site. Not something the owners can do anything about, but it would have been nice to pre-warned. As it was, it forced us to get out more than we would have otherwise, so it was actually not a bad thing in the end.

A side note on the internet: would not recommend it. The megabytes we bought on prepay disappeared as fast as kilobytes on our normal connection at home. Paid $8 AUS for 45 minutes of online chatting with my brother - text chatting, not voice or video. Better to go into one of the internet cafes in town.

All in all, we didn’t regret coming here, it was an adventure!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The building noise from the neighbouring properties. No privacy.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2013
Hi Romy,
Thank you for your review, and thank you for letting us know about the boys coming onto the site at lunch time, that is an absolute No, No and it will be nipped in the bud immediately. Before we left we gave them strict instructions they only go on site to do the gardening.

It was not deliberate in not responding to your email regarding privacy, we have no recollection of recieving it, we have gone back through our correspondance, and still not able to find it, so I apologize for that, but had you done a wee bit of research, you would know all beaches in Vana's are public.

At the top of your lovely review you said seeing boats going past, and kids playing in the water was endlessly entertaining, then you say you weren't keen on the ferries pulling up on the beach???? The connotion of the word ferries is grossly misleading. They are not ferries, they a small banana boats approx 4-6 metres long. These drop the occassional Ni Van off at any of the beaches within the subdivision. We would have thought this too was part of the whole island experience. These people do not trespass onto the property.

I'm not sure where the building noise you speak of is coming from. The only house currently being built nearby is 50 -60 metres away, we, and subsequent guests have never been bothered with noise from that lot, it's too far away to be an issue. However, we understand that the house will be completed in the very near future.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and welcome you back in a heartbeat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
FamilyTai...
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday House - Great location and value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
4
people found this review helpful

The SBGH - 4 Bedroom House was fantastic. We stayed for 10 nights and had 3 adults, 2 teenagers and 1 younger child. Kitchen has everything you need from a rice cooker to containers for left overs. 2 Bedrooms are really large and 2 others still plenty of room. Easy to get to town either via Bus (150 vt) or Boat (100vt).

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Home away from home, very comfortable and at a great price. Fully fenced, great for familie with younger children.
Liked least: The overgrown block in front of veranda blocking quite a bit of the direct ocean view. Out of owners control as they don't own that block.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Beryl and Basil
B.O.P New Zealand
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review B&B. It was our pleasure being able to assist you, so glad you had a lovely day in Port Vila. Remember, you are welcome back, anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Chrissy41
Tamborine mtn QLD
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
6
people found this review helpful

Leaning Tree Cottage.Sorry to say this property was a dissapointment, nothing much like the photos and no mention of it being a construction site and only 4mtrs away from the building itself and while we were there the owners moved into the house, so im afraid no privacy and no peace during the day , i would say before the new building was started it would have been a lovely house to stay in, but im afraid any new tenants may be very dissapointed.The waterfront of the house is lovely but gets very hot and you cant sit at the back where the verandah is because of building and lack of privacy, i would say that this once lovely holiday rental has had its day.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
2 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The local people
Liked least: The house site.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2012
Sorry Chris, this review is extremely two faced. You at no stage, did you ever advise you were not happy. Then you spew forth absolute rubbish like this. If you had something to say, SAY IT, don't hide behind a computer. Shame on you.
This review is Null and void, as "Leaning Tree Cottage" no longer exists.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SteveCott...
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow,what a location! 2 villages nearby one on Efira Island, beautiful people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Located just up the road from the wharf is this 2 bedroom cottage. Watch the kids catch a ride to school on a small boat, see all the cruise liners sail past your deck and the fish jumping out of the water.

We were privileged to be invited to go across to Churh on Ifira Island (just a stones through across the harbor) by Tin Tin, a local mother from the village next door. This was a beautiful experience and gave us acceptance by the locals.

Bus to town was 200 Vatu per person, we suggest you simply tell your driver that this is the amount you want to pay otherwise they will try to get as much as they can , also buses all have red capital letter 'B' at the front of their no.plates.

We found kids from the villages loved to visit, and we would cut up fresh apple & oranges for as many as 10, on 2 occasions their parents brought us freshly caught yellow fin tuna as a gift for our kindness to their children. We suggest if you prefer a quiet time do not engage with the kids as they will just love to be with you if you do.

Just a 3 minute walk is the fabulous Élan Resturant & Bar run by the owners Linda & Darryl Millar, $A50 total will be plenty for a fabulous diner for 2 extra for drinks.

Island Kyaking operates on the doorstep so snorkeling and/or Kyaking is both fun and so very convenient with Big Russell, Kim & Bob.

We had the best and most wonderful time here a leaning tree cottage, the bed was fantastically comfortable, the BBQ was huge and used every day and to just walk outside to swim &snorkel every day was brilliant, and the NiVans are the most beautiful and friendly group of people we have ever had the pleasure to share our lives with.

The cottages location was brilliant even though the cottage was basic, everything else combined to make it a worthy 5 ster experience for us.

Steve & Jo-Anne Cotter
Canberra
Australia

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Relaxed friendly and warm environment with easy access to island life.
Liked least: That we could not stay forever.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2012
Many thanks Steve & Jo-Anne for your kind words. We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay. Vanuatu really is a magical place, isn't it? It sounds like you both peered into every nook and cranny. Please remember you are alway's welcome at Leaning Tree Cottage or Sea Breeze Guest House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$139
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
R C
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2010
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing