We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Bar and Grill

The Waterfront Bar and Grill
Kumul Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 74 Restaurants in Port Vila
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The food was pretty good and some locals visit here. The staff was so wonderful and had us laughing throughout the meal. Enjoy the water and sunset.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    197
    85
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Te Kauwhata, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location hit or miss food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Having been recommended we headed to Waterfront on our first night. The location is beautiful and very peaceful sitting beside the water on a warm evening. However the food was really disappointing which is such a shame because the service is outstanding and the staff so friendly. I had the roast chicken and it was possibly the driest chicken I have ever had in a restaurant. The veg was cooked to within an inch of its life and the chips soggy. Just such a shame. My partner seemed to fair slightly better, he had the fish and raved about the mashed potato but again neither dish lived up to the price tag. The end of the night redeemed itself with a beautiful pana cotta and a delicious fruit cocktail but i just can't get over the chicken, don't think we'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglet, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent meals overlooking the harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

One of the few places in Vanuatu wth a good fish menu. Two very enjoyable meals here - try the yellowfin tuna. Local band entertains at weekends ... good atmosphere and lovely views across the bay

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good meal. Nice Place. Wish I had found it earlier.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Have read some conflicting reviews on the Waterfront, but decided to give it a try. I had a very good time. Seated by a pleasant waitress, then a guy named Harry came over and introduced himself as the manager. Good vibe. Ordered the Filet Mignon which was done to perfection. Followed by the banana fritters. All very nice. Saw some great seafood pass by and people seemed to be really enjoying the platters. I will definitely head back next time I am in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“barely just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Its a nice location with a great outlook but the food and service is nothing special. This place is said to be renowned for its steak but I cant agree, my wife rates it as about the worst she has ever had. The food is OK but it's nothing to write home about. There are better places to go in Port Vila.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Port Vila, Efate
 

Been to The Waterfront Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.