We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boat House | Private beach | EFATE | Vanuatu

Your private beach
Your private beach
Your private beach
Port Vila
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nicola012...
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place is paradise . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Normally the pictures don't meet the actuality of a place - in this case they exceeded. What a beautiful spot, perfect beach house (with a french influence) in an amazing location. Every day we walked out our front door and onto 'our' beach, had a couple hours of snorkelling on the amazing reef and in for lunch and an afternoon siesta. The kids were so excited to see 'nemo's'! We had dinner on the beach bbq and one day even had a fresh fish courtesy of a local fishing crew. The people were amazing, you couldn't be more looked after, and Nicki maintains a beautiful property - nothing more could be asked for. We will definitely be back - thank you for sharing your paradise with us Nicki.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Adyssia
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Special Touch of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
4
people found this review helpful

The Boat House at Dream Cove provided the most perfect holiday. From the outset, owner Nicki answered all questions and allayed any concerns I had about spending a number of days at the property, on my own, before my partner was able to join me. I fell in love with the house and its environs the moment I arrived, and was instantly at home. The house was the glove that fitted perfectly. I delighted in everything it had to offer and wanted for absolutely nothing. Nicki's discerning taste, attention to detail and creative touches are evident throughout. It really was a privilege to be able to spend a short two weeks at this beautiful property. Thank you Nicki, manager Kris, driver Willie, housekeepers Nancy and Elizabeth, and gardener Albert for contributing to a magical, never-to-be forgotten holiday.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Beauty, tranquility
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lovetheje...
auckland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We spent a week here for my birthday and we had a great time. The organisation was easy, Kris the manager was perfectly around but not intrusive and we enjoyed the service from the gardener and house girl. The beach is fantastic and we were sad we didn't have our kids with us to enjoy the snorkelling and beach. But we loved it! It's hard to describe how perfect the water and sea life is, we must have seen 100 different types of fish and its right off the beach. Put it this way, we looked at places to buy by day 2. And it's hard to imagine that we won't end with out piece of Dream Cove!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rebecca
NZ
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
spannamc
naracoorte
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

WOW!!! The Boat House is the perfect place to get away from it all situated in the appropriately named 'Dream Cove' Vanuatu with a magnificent private beach all to yourself! This holiday rental is decked out with everything you need to ensure you have the perfect holiday and is serviced by the lovely Nancy and Albert the friendly gardener. Kris the manager was ever so helpful arranging everything from babysitters, recommended restaurants, places to see and even beer when we forgot alcohol isn't sold on Sundays. She was such as asset and only a phone call/text away from the provided mobile phone. Our little girl fell in love with Marie and Nancy who both looked after her and it was lovely to see that the feelings were mutual! We loved snorkelling each day at our private little beach, using the provided kayaks and just soaking up the beath taking views and tropical surroundings. It was easy to slip into "Island time" and forget what day it was in this heavenly sanctuary. I must mention that Nicki the owner has decked the place out with tasteful furnishings & necessities such as stereo, tv + dvd/dvds. It is like staying at a friends beach house with all the personal touches. A big thank-you to Nicki, Kris, Marie, Nancy & Albert - A holiday we will never forget. See you next time!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location, house, beach and weather
Liked least: Having to leave.....
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jason
Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
4
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
timeofour...
lismore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A private paradise in the South Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
7
people found this review helpful

Sometimes holiday websites hide faults, create a false impression and then disappoint badly when you arrive - we've had it happen a few times. The Boathouse at Vanuatu is the opposite - as nice as the web page is, it doesn't do justice to this unique and glorious holiday paradise!
We had ten perfect days here recently and fell in love, deeply, with this gorgeous house, gardens and private beach. It's slightly rustic, yes - no glass windows, little mosquito screening, no dishwasher or airconditioning but deliberately so and it feels right and as if it grew here. We even felt that Somerset Maughan or Gaughan could have created their best writings or paintings while seated on the verandah, surrounded by the large tropical garden and the sunsets over the water!
The amenities are splendid, the setting very private, the decor unusual and stylish and the proximity to the calm aqua waters and sunbathing platform made for a perfect holiday for this pair of sunworshippers! The decorator touches made it feel so very different and personal from predictable resorts, hotels or sterile holiday units and we loved self catering with the barbeque so easy to use, the beef and veal very reasonable and delicious pates, cheeses and french bread so readily available. Not to mention the wine and French Champagnes!
We loved the white painted floors, timber shutters, tropical and rustic furniture and paintings, ceiling fans, library, displays of huge shells, table lamps and candles, aqua glassware and the romantic mosquito nets. We also were so impressed by the pantry supplies, cleanliness of the house, the relaxing verandah lounges and the flowers in vases to greet us on arrival. Both Nancy the housekeeper and Albert the gardener do a splendid job in an unobtrusive manner and should be congratulated. Praise to for Willie who was readily available to drive us wherever we wished at a moment's notice, was very knowledgeable and took us on a very memorable whole island tour
My only small criticism is that the large and lovely second bedroom would be much improved by a badly needed ceiling fan and a window screen for security so that the window could be kept open at night. We would love to return with friends or family but only if No 2 bedroom had that added peace of mind.
Another thing we loved was that unlike so many other holiday establishments, there was no long list of DONT'S! Instead all information was welcoming, friendly and made us feel wanted and valued, that's very rare indeed and Nikki's warmth emanated from the valuable information pack provided. We almost didn't want to write a review, hoping not too many find out about this blissful spot, but the owners and manager Chris deserve the highest praise for making this our very best holiday EVER, Thank you!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The waterfront platform and beanbags and position
Liked least: No fan or screen in second bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,813
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Steven J
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2010
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 17 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing