We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Snorkling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Island Marine Reserve

Hideaway Island Marine Reserve
Hideaway Island | Mele, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 50 things to do in Port Vila
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Snorkling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We visited Hideaway island for Snorkeling in a tour and thought it was excellent. We visited the underwater post office and it was a unique place to visit. The staff there was very helpful and since me and my wife both didn't know how to swim, they helped a lot. Though most of the corals were dead, we enjoyed the snorkeling experience. Overall, it was a good trip to Hideaway Island.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    281
    120
    30
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“just magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

What can I say other than this is a must see if you are looking for an experience of a lifetime. This was the highlight of our trip to Vanuatu. Beautiful clear aquamarine coloured waters with an abundance of beautiful fish (100's of varieties!) and live coral. Its just like snorkelling in a huge aquarium.The waters are warm and safe although when the eastly wjnds blow stinging jellyfish come into the bay so its worth a call to the island first for updated conditions.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BAD ORGANISATION”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

if you want to be disappointed take this "tour" they were 1 hour late in picking u sup. if we had been late we would have done our dough! Then then left us waiting in 40 degree heat in an un air conditioned (what was that word) at 3pm before taking us back to our resort.Very bad organisation here. Vanutau time -not today not tuesday not anyday but vanuatu day................
They charge australian dollars for trips etc but give you vanutau results. not worth it

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I am new to snorkelling so I felt safe with the diver swimming beside us and feeding the fish - so many varieties. A lovely day out.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cute Little Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I pre-paid for our day at Hideaway which included the snorkeling, glass bottom boat ride and a barbecue lunch. I'd recommend booking ahead as I think we got a better deal with everything included. If you have reef walkers take them, or buy them beforehand as the coral is sharp. Some reviews have complained about this - but seeing as you come here for snorkeling and it's what attracts the fish... then you really have to expect it! The snorkeling was great, so many beautiful fish. The barbecue lunch turned out to be a set menu and not a barbecue at all (we had pasta!) The glass bottom boat is teeny tiny and nothing flash but I had a wonderful time feeding the fish. A great day out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Island Marine Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Hideaway Island Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Island Marine Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.