We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see of Vanautu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Island Marine Reserve

Hideaway Island Marine Reserve
Hideaway Island | Mele, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 50 things to do in Port Vila
Attraction details
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must see of Vanautu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

the best way is to get a taxi to hideaway island and give your driver a time and they will com back to pick you up.Catch the ferry over to hideaway island and just chill out for the day. There's a bar there with yum cocktails and the best strawberry milkshake i have ever tasted!!! Beachchairs galour to sit on. We brought some bread from the markets ($1.50nz per loaf so cheap and yum) and took that in to feed the fish while we were snorkeling which is an amazing sight. Its good if you have an underwater camera or if u don't have one you can buy' one from the shop for like $35 which takes like 30 photos. The best sealife I have seen in Vanuatu

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    281
    120
    30
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went to the Hideaway Island resort as a day trip to try somewhere different and to go snorkeling - don't bother it was horrible! Crowded, dirty, old and lots of broken glass on the waters edge and in the water. There was nowhere to sit down as either all the lounges where taken or they were broken, the toilets were filthy and the bar area was no better. We stayed for about 20 mins and the left - thank god we weren't staying there!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Graet for Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

THis was the first place that we went snorkling in Vanuatu. Our 10yr old really enjoyed the fish swimming around him in knee deep water. He also quickly learn't how to snorkel in shallow water - prior to going out to the reefs. A great confidence boost for him. Unfortunatly the Coral wasn't colourful (looked slightly dead) but lots of fish to view. Lunch on the island was well priced , sun loungers free to use, small fee (1500 Vat) to get to island. Excellent place to start your holiday prior to heading out on the Snorkling tours around the island.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrabomberra
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Take the kids here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great for a day trip, but I think with kids you could do half a day and they will be really happy. We actually stayed on the island and the snorkelling very got boring, we had a ball feeding the fish. the coral is regrowiung and getting colour back and the place has a HUGE variety of fish. Don't miss going there, but bring reef shoes and the island is made of dead coral and you need the shoes to walk to the water's edge.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb reef for snorkling!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Superb reef for snorkling!! Take an underwater camera as this reef is pretty good considering it's only a couple of metres from the shore.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Island Marine Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Hideaway Island Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Island Marine Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.