We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Tentation Restaurant

La Tentation Restaurant
Ocean Walk Complex | Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
+67829661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 73 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: $5 - $63
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: La Tentation is a Romantic Fine Dining Restaurant and Cafe located on the Waterfront in Port Vila, Vanuatu
1 review
“View outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had breakfast& was very pleased. The outlook was beautiful. When we returned for dinner we were very dissapointed. The steak was undercooked & the lobster was so overcooked. Very dissapointing meal. The staff were very nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamariya, Owner at La Tentation Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are glad to hear that you had a great breakfast.

It is such a shame that you didn't address your dissatisfaction with your dinners on the night. We would have happily addressed your concerns and, if necessary, replaced your meals to ensure that your experience with us was a pleasant and memorable one.

Cheers,
Nathan & Mariya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    64
    37
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My partner and I tried many of the restaurants in Port Vila, but this one was our favorite. The food is excellent and the cocktails beautiful. The service is professional. I was very surprised when we came back and the waitress remembered what cocktail I had two days ago.

If you go to Port Vila, try this restaurant out - you won't be disappointed on any level!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamariya, Owner at La Tentation Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback and wonderful review.

We love receiving positive feedback about our staff, we'll be sure to pass your compliments on to them.

Cheers,
Nathan & Mariya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great coffee spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Love the coffee and the fantastic view. Great place to start your morning. Well done! Just need to sort out the parking and trash pick up..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamariya, Owner at La Tentation Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
La Tentation indisputably has the best location in Port Vila!

Thanks for the great feedback on our coffee, we've worked hard over the last few months to create a great product that we and everybody else loves, or so we keep being told.

We do not understand your comment regarding rubbish, all of our rubbish is stored in a privately fenced facility behind the restaurant and is not accessible by the public.

Our car park is a shared facility with the entire complex and can fill up quickly on some days.

Cheers,
Nathan & Mariya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“La Tentation Port Vila”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

La Tentation is situated on the waterfront at the airport end of Port Vila business area. The premises are modern and reasonably impressive.It was a quiet weekday night so the service was in keeping with the small number attending. The food was very satisfactory without being outstanding. Overall we were quite happy with our experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamariya, Owner at La Tentation Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for you good review.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience at La Tentation and hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers,
Nathan & Mariya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Still does great coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We hadn't been to LT for about 12 months and were surprised to see it a bit sad and empty to how we recall it being previously. They still do a nice coffee and cake but the menu looked a bit overpriced for steak sandwiches and hamburgers at 1650vt.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamariya, Owner at La Tentation Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
The February to early March period is our low season here in Vanuatu so unfortunately most places here are a little slower this time of year. Very shortly our beautiful island will once again be a bustling tourist destination and Port Vila will fill up very quickly.

Thanks for the wonderful feedback on our fantastic coffee and cakes. We believe (and are told daily) that we do the best coffee and cakes in Port Vila!

It's a shame you didn't try our burgers or sandwiches. They are made on bread freshly baked in our kitchen every day, loaded with fresh Vanuatu grown vegetables and the amazing Santo Beef (grown here locally and exported worldwide, including to places like Japan). Every burger and sandwich order at LT also comes with a large side of crispy potato chips and your choice of sauce.

You'll find our prices are very competitive and on par with all of the other establishments of our calibre in Port Vila. We are certainly very competitively priced with Cafes in Australia and are cheaper or similarly priced to places like The Coffee Club, Toscani's and Grilled.

Cheers,
Nathan & Mariya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tentation Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Tentation Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tentation Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.