We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal island experience holiday destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Troppo Mystique

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Troppo Mystique
Save
You added Troppo Mystique to your Saves list
Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Refreshments on Arrival!
Dunedin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ideal island experience holiday destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Chez Troppo is for you if:
you prefer peace and tranquillity to a busy resort,you would rather mix with the local people than other travellers, enjoy fully self contained rather than a hotel room. We spent a wonderful 7 days at Annie and Archies special retreat set in the village of Erakor.Its relatively undiscovered, most locals dont know it exists! They have built 3 modern units on the waterfront but only one is currently available for short stays, the other two being occupied by permanent residents, so the property is always peaceful. Apart from the laughter of the local children in the neighbouring village houses.

On arrival you are welcomed by a transfer and then a cool coconut milk drink.They thoughfully provide a range of basic food in the fridge and pantry, but the transfer driver will willingly stop at the supermarket on the way from the airport so you ca stock up for the week. The units are comfortably furnished with very good beds and excellent enormous shower. A range of books and DVDs to while away holiday time are in the lounge. A BBQ on the deck overlooking the lagoon makes dining a pleasure. The kitchen has every untensil you could ever need and a coffee plunger for the excellent Tanna coffee. Ceiling fans for cooling, much better than aircon which stop you from acclimatising to the temperature. Sarah the housekeeper comes every day to keep the unit spotless and if you happen to be lazy one day she even does the dishes.

Set in a lovely garden with beautiful views over Erakor lagoon you can gaze at the resorts across the water and muse on the fact that they are paying twice the nightly rate for a similar view.

The property is approximately 15 minutes drive from town and we opted to hire a car from World rentals (Best rate, tru).There is the novel local bus service if you prefer, an interesting way to meet the people and see places you might not otherwise visit.

The fabulous extra with Chez Troppo is the owners. They are there if you need them but unobtrusive otherwise. A mine of information,personable and passionate about their property and location. Thanks Archie for making our stay memorable, the beers on the deck were fun and the village kava walk is a must do.

If you crave nightlife,restaurants, casino and shopping they are just a short drive away,then you can return to peace and tranqullity.

We had a well priced, relaxed, fabulous holiday at a memorable location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

Chez Troppo is the perfect holiday destination, to relax, enjoy and soak up the beautiful surroundings. It's run by the ever so friendly and helpful Archie and Annie, not to mention the dogs are a lovely addition (hi Troppo & Coconut!)
The self contained villas are great for everyone, couples families and friends getting away, they are modern, very clean and excellent value for money.
We'll be sure to go back and recommend them to anyone wanting a little piece of paradise!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

As is typical for me I'd jumped on the plane in Auckland having done very little research into where I was going, where I was staying and what to expect... admittedly I felt a slight trepidation on the transfer from the airport to Chez Troppo as we were leaving behind Port Villa town and all the big, commercial resorts and heading into "real village life", although within 10mins we were pulling into the driveway of a beautifully landscaped garden on the edge of the lagoon and any concerns I had were forgotten (also the driver kindly pointed out where we could catch a bus into town from so no worries there). The moment we jumped out of the bus we'd known we'd chosen the pick of the bunch - this place was amazing - literally a little slice of paradise!! We were welcomed by Annie & Archie - the perfect hosts (and as I'm looking out the window on this rainy day am very jealous of). Everything you need is supplied so really all you need to do is sit back and relax!! I could go on about the fabulous food avialable on the Island and the extremely friendly locals, the snorkelling, the great culture, the markets in town, the kava, the diversity of the island and the French wines... but really you should go and discover for yourself. Have fun and say Hi to Troppo & Coconut.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We had an amazing romantic getaway in Vanuatu - Chez Troppo. This was exactly the type of accommodation we were looking for. Self contained, in the middle of nice garden, with beautiful views, no busy resort, just a quiet peaceful environment. This is unique location as Chez Troppo is located in a local village and you cannot experience it anywhere else. Location is amazing with Erakor Island just opposite to the vila where you can go for a drink or meal any time you want. The water is beautiful and warm so you can go for a swim or paddle on kayak any time you want. There are few nice snorkeling spots just around the island but we would recommend to go to the Hideaway Island for better snorkeling.
If you are looking for a quiet holiday this is the right place to go. Just buy all you need in the Port Vila and start relaxing at the lagoon or on the nice veranda at the vila.

The owners of Chez Troppo (Annie, Archie, Coconut & Troppo) are the best you can imagine. They told us everything about the Vanuatu and locals and gave us useful tips what is worth to see on the island.
If you are planing to go try to go for longer than six nights as it was for us too short time. Yeah, holidays are always too short.
The transport on the Island is good and easy as you have only one main road which is good to go for a day trip around. We have tried the local transport which are vans with nine seats, single trip costs 150 Vatu per person. It is good to have exact change while you are using local transport as you are paying when you are getting off and the drivers might try to get some more money from you :-) (especially if you are going to a tourist destination-eg. Mele Cascades). Buses have B on the plates and taxis T - where for a taxi you will pay much more.

We have hired a car for one day to do the round island trip and it was very nice. We have seen the picturesque landscape, more local villages, secluded beaches and breathtaking views. Also it is good to have some change as you are paying for some beaches to get in as the locals are taking care of the surround. The roads are terrible :-) but if you hire a small Four Wheel Drive you will be fine. Don't forget to drive on the right side of the road. It is easy as there are no traffic lights around. We have hired the car from BUGGY FUN RENTAL and the owner is French (next to the AVIS and BUDGET rentals). One day is enough for the whole island if you manage to leave early morning. The prices are not that cheap and the fuel as well. But the island is only 160km around.
All other prices are as in Sydney. Food is perfect and the market in Port Vila offers fresh local produce of organic fruit and vegetables. Make sure you will try some of the great beef, which you can prepare on the BBQ at the vila.

We will try to come back to Chez Troppo for more in the future.

It was like waking up from an amazing dream, when we were coming back to Sydney.

We would definitely recommend Chez Troppo to anyone who likes to cook during holiday and doesn't want to lay at the pool the whole time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Queesland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

My partner and I were looking for a short getaway and considered a bunch of options - it was only by good fortune that we managed to come across Chez Troppo. Having made the booking we weren't really sure what to expect having never been to Vanuatu or the South Pacific.

Things started off well before we got there...we got a call from Annie about a week before going over to tell us they had arranged transfers from the airport, answer any questions and explain more about what to expect. It was really great as we did have quite a few questions and was a pleasant surprise to be called out of courtesy.

Chez Troppo is not your usual resort. We were out in Erakor Village which is about 15 minutes drive out of Port Vila. With only 3 bungalows, which are all self contained, allowing a sense of a small 'holiday home' as opposed to a unit. It was so peaceful and to be not surrounded by hordes of other holiday guests was awesome. If you don't want the crowds, than this is the place.

We found getting to town was easy by bus and only about A$2 each - catching buses around the place added to the experience of living in the village - as we could be part of the locals lives and chat to them on the bus into town. We found the locals very friendly – perhaps part of the reason they call Vanuatu the happiest place on earth.

With the facilities at the bungalow we managed to keep cost right down by cooking at 'home'. Being Australian we made good use of the 'Barbeque' provided exclusively for our bungalow. (And never having to clean it as housekeeping takes care of that!) The local experience of shopping in town and being a part of Vanuatu life was better than any sanitised big resort experience.

The Melee Cascades was amazing, hand feeding the tropical fish while snorkelling at Hideaway Island, Village life tour and dune buggy drive around Port Vila, Black Sand beach and through the jungle villages were some of the best highlights. High fiving the kids as we ‘buggied’ through the villages was a ton of fun. Also our night at a local Cava bar with Archie is one to remember - although Archie might not remember much!

Archie and Annie are just so helpful and friendly and welcome you into their home and lsland life world. You wouldn't expect anything else from a friendly Aussie and Kiwi couple. Kayak's and snorkelling gear are provided to enjoy what seems like your own private lagoon right out front - no need to go anywhere.

To finish up - not knowing what to expect and preferring to try and experience a place rather than spent a few nights in a big resort by a pool - this place excelled. We loved the village feel and experience. The ability to look after ourselves with transport and food or dine in town if that was our choice, really put us in control.

We highly recommend Chez Troppo for couples or a small family who want a ‘real’ and set your own pace holiday in a relaxing and idyllic South Pacific Island setting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldcoast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

This was our first trip to Vanuatu and fortunately we arrived to perfect weather which remained for the duration of our stay. I travelled with my three children 14,12 and 10 looking for a bit of an adventure. What we also found was a truly idyllic location. Situated amidst Erakor Village, Chez Troppo is the antithesis of big resort accommodation. There was no beauty spa (only 5 minutes away by water taxi if you really need it), pool (lagoon at door), or kids club (babysitting available if required), but instead a friendly, personal atmosphere where the kids had a wonderful opportunity to spend some time experiencing the local village lifestyle and to play with some of the local children.

Our two bedroom bungalow was newly built, spacious and modern with some beautiful handcrafted wooden furniture surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens. The property only accommodates a small number of bungalows and those are mainly taken up with people staying long term (some people have all the luck). Much of our time was spent swimming, kayaking, snorkeling and walking around the village. Initially the kids were a bit daunted by all the underwater life but after the first day it was hard to get them out including ventures over to Erakor Island and Le Legon.

The self catering villa provided to be very economical for us, with excellent kitchen facilities/BBQ area. Other families we met were spending $200+ for their evening meals. Chez Troppo is 10-15min by road to Port Vila and transport can be arranged at the resort (you could also hire a car just be prepared for the lhs steering). However, for us the short walk up the hill to hail a minibus which is quick and cheap only added to our adventure. We did this a few times to buy food at the supermarket and the local fruit and veg. market (an experience in itself).

John and Annie are truly wonderful hosts and are a wealth of information. Following their recommendation we spent an evening at Erakor Island for tribal night including my first kava experience. A great night was had by all. Also a wonderful trip to Hideaway Island - just don't leave your scuba diving for the last day as we did only to find out that diving and flying within a 24 hr period is not allowed - lucky the snorkeling was exceptional. We will definitely be making a return trip to Chez Troppo.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This oasis is magic, bungalows on the beach that have are beautiful fully equipped kitchen, washing machine, BBQ etc etc all the mod cons you would need. We felt we were a million miles away from the troubles of the world & the owners Annie & Archie are wonderful people, nothing is a problem, we laughed from morning till night . We snorkled and took a kyak out every day. Oh the serenity!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Troppo Mystique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troppo Mystique

Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Port Vila
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to this ?? A picture postcard! Swim ....snorkle....kayak....or just kick back! Three recently built,boutique styled residential, waterfront villas. Stylishly, fully furnished, with expansive self-catering kitchen. Spectacular sunsets, gentle ocean breezes with exceptional island views."Troppo Mystique's" friendly boutique styled,private short & long term residential accommodation, is nestled on a sensational aquamarine lagoon, amidst picturesque tropical gardens.Only 10 mins from Port Villa. A gorgeous slice of paradise - doesn't get better than this! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chez Troppo Hotel Port Vila
Troppo Mystique Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troppo Mystique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.