We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flaming Bull Steak House

Flaming Bull Steak House
Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 72 restaurants in Port Vila
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had the most delicious eye fillet steak, on par with those of the Breakfast Creek Hotel in Brisbane. The only problem was the waitress mixed up our orders and the service leaves a bit to be desired. Don't order the Coconut Crab - it's frozen!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    57
    50
    23
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best steak in Port Vila (if not the world!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The eye fillet at Flaming Bull (rare of course) is truly a thing of beauty. I have never had a leaner, tenderer, tastier steak anywhere. We eat there, on average, 3 times per stay (up over 15 visits now, I think) and have never been disappointed. The staff are also wonderfully friendly and efficient. It's not well advertised, but they do offer BYO (wine).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our family of 4 ate at the Flaming Steak resturant 2 nights out of 3 when we were in Vila. Not sure if it was because we had just spent 9 nights on Tanna Is eating fish and rice but we all loved our meals!!. The location was convienient and the service was good. Prices were similar to Australia with our bill coming to about AUD $150 but we had great main courses and we all had deserts plus drinks.
Would reccommend and visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I really loved the food! steak was excellent! couldn't fault the food! will definitely be going when we are there next month! Service was a little slow and dodgy, not much on customer service. can't stand the smoking in the actual restaurant part, but other than that I'd recommend this place! Love the food! Awesome to pop next door and hit the bar and play some pool! chilled atmosphere :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Best steak we had in Vila ... And we tried a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I ate a lot of delicious Vanuatu beef during our 9 day trip, but we both agree that the best one was the fillet mignon (topped with creamy garlic prawns) at the Flaming Bull. It was cooked perfectly! We sent our compliments to the chef after just one bite.

The atmosphere is island-pub. It lacks the ambience that some of the more poplular on Trip Advisor restaurants have, but more than makes up for it with the food.

In response to some of the negative reviews - I didn't see any rats, but it is open air and on the main road in town so I would not be surprised. We found the staff to be very friendly and the service was good. They didn't list jugs of beer on the menu, but I had read about it in other reviews so I just asked and we got one. The toilets were not very nice, but much better than the ones at the Port Vila airport.

My only regret is that we didn't go earlier so that we would have had time to return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaming Bull Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Flaming Bull Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flaming Bull Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.