We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Beach Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tara Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Tara Beach Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Devil's Point Road | Bukura, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Port Vila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We had a really great time staying at Tara Beach Resort. The rooms are very neat and tidy and the service was fantastic. We especially enjoyed sitting on the deck at the front of our room looking back towards Port Vila, afternoon cocktails right next to the beach and the masses of fish you can feed by hand right off the end of the jetty. Snorkelling right out in front of the restaurant/beach was amazing too! Only downside was the distance from Port Vila - but then again, you don't go to Vanuatu for the city life!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    41
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
40
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We have just spent a wonderful 16 days at Tara Beach Resort.

The Bungalows were clean and tidy. They were serviced everyday. There is no need for air-conditioning as the bungalows get a beautiful cool breeze blowing in across the harbour every day. The fans in the bungalow are enough to keep you cool at night.

The staff are the friendliest people you can encounter and we have only nice things to say about our stay at Tara Beach. We had the best time and after such a long stay we felt like we were part of the family. We loved it there and when Lou Lou sat us down to sing us his farewell song I even got a bit teary. Lou Lou and Fred taught us a great deal about Vanuatu and its culture and History.

Carlo and Lou Lou are always ready with a big Vanuatu smile to greet you at breakfast time and lay out a lovely fruit platter full of tropical fruits to eat along with your breakfast.

The views from the bungalows and dinning area were so relaxing. The snorkeling is superb with such a large variety of fish and coral just off the jetty. The Kayaks are available when you wish to use them and we had a few days paddling up and down the coastal strip in front of the resort.
No problem with transport to and from town. Just let them know when you want to go to town and they are there with the minibus at your door waiting.

We didn't have a problem with mosquitos as we only saw two. I had taken a mozzie zapper with me but really didnt need it. It would still be wise to take one though as they may be there at other times. I also took a sandwich toaster with me as it was handy having a toasted sandwich at times as there are no cooking facilities in the bungalow. There is a bar fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. I also took a blow up swimming mattress which was fun floating around the water out the front of the resort and snorkeling from.
We had a great time playing volleyball with other guests and teaching the staff how to play touch footy , which they are all keen to join in on the games.
Sala and Eric, the resort owners are only too happy to help you if you have any problems or questions.

I would recommend Tara Beach Resort if you are looking for value for money accommodation in Vanuatu.
We loved it there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We loved the stress free life style of Tara Beach, no time limits, eat when you want, go to town and staff will wait for as long as you want, no emails, no phones, no TV, could of had another month there easy. We loved the staff so friendly, they often sang to us at meal times. Lu Lu took us to meet the local village children that he teaches to sing, and also hear them. Our family all want to return to Vanuatu we have 4 kids under 12, they loved the colored fish, boats, swimming and the experience of another culture. We made new friends both western and local, it was truly a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I and my daughter of 13 stayed 4 nights at Tara Beach last August. We enjoyed very relaxed holidays at the resort.

The resort was a very beautiful place! The beach was nice. Each bungalow is located only 10 meters from the shore. We slept hearing the sound of waves crushing into the shore. Around the jetty was a very good spot for snorkeling. There were nemo families. We enjoyed snorkeling almost every morning and afternoon except when it rained. The water was a little bit colder and I would choose a warmer season, not in August, if I would come back again to do snorkeling. The food was delicious. We enjoyed club sandwiches for lunch almost everyday. Thursday Melanesian dinner was a great fun night to see. We attended the local village (Mele Village) tour. It was worth visiting to see the life of the local people. All the staffs were quite kind to make our holidays special. I booked the resort using e-mail and their reply was quite kind and informative.

There are some notes for future visitors to this resort. As mentioned in other reviews, there was no lock in the doors. Before sleep, I inserted a wedge (my own snorkeling fin) into the space between the glass doors to lock. Also there was no safe in the room. When I booked the resort, they asked my credit card number for the payment and I assumed I could pay all the expenditures by card through my stay. But they only accepted cash for daily expenditures for dinner, transfer, excursion etc. I had to go to the town to draw money. Hot shower was not available all the time. Sometimes it run out very quickly. Their accommodation is quite simple. It was acceptable for me even with some inconveniences, considering the decent price for the accommodation. We could handle these minor drawbacks. However, I do not recommend this resort to those who expect luxury.

Among other things, all the staffs were very kind and friendly. It made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. If you love snorkeling, this resort would be a pick.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Our extended family (6 of us) recently stayed at the beautiful Tara Beach Resort. All the staff made our holiday one to remember, we all had a wonderful time, the snorkelling is excellent, the location is perfect, it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the town. We have been to several Island Nights but the one at Tara Beach was by far the best we have been to, everyone had a great time and the local ladies put on a magnificient feast. If you like spirits to drink it would pay to bring your own as there was not much in the bar. We would have to say it was one of the nicest holidays we have had in Vanuatu and we have been there 4 times, thanks to all at Tara Beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Excellent family Resort, staff friendly and always helpful.
Rooms great, maybe just suggest putting a toaster or sandwich maker in the rooms.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syd
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Tara Beach Resort is unique. First, the resort is set on 40 acres of
park land. The cabins are a few metres from the beach and the view looks
back at Port Vila - beautiful by day and night. Second, there are very
few places in Vanuatu that are owned and operated by local Ni-Fan people
- in Port Vila and on the island of Efate Tara Beach is the only one.
All staff are local family members from the different islands and all
profits are distributed among these families.

If you stay at Tara Beach you have access to the best of everything. In
terms of local knowledge, Tara Beach can arrange any activity that you
might want. The owners have operated tours in Vanuatu for over 40 years.
They know the best tours, sports, hotels, recreation and dining anywhere
in Vanuatu. And, you will have loads of space inside and out at the resort.

More than anything, Tara Beach staff are Ni-Fan. This means that they
take care of you with a smile!!! What ever you want, when ever you want
it. Tara Beach will do anything they can to help make sure you have the
kind of holiday you want - singles, couples, families, conferences,
anything!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tara Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Beach Bungalows

Address: Devil's Point Road | Bukura, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Beach is absolute beach front situated on 12 lush acres fronting picturesque Mele Bay, Efate, Vanuatu. With crystal clear, safe waters at your doorstep, we are the perfect spot for snorkeling, kayaking, swimming and getting away from it all for a while. We also have a chilled out open air bar / cafe known as the Beach Hut that is also open to day visitors and locals. Located about 15 mins from town & 10 mins to the airport, we provide free airport transfers for guests. All bungalows have tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge, with ocean views a few metres from your door included as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Tara Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Beach Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Tara Beach Hotel
Tara Beach Port Vila
Tara Beach Bungalows Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.