We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet family resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Beach Bungalows Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tara Beach Bungalows Resort to your Saves list
Tara Beach Bungalows Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Devil's Point Road | Bukura, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Port Vila B&B and Inns
rockhampton
1 review
“Lovely quiet family resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Excellent family Resort, staff friendly and always helpful.
Rooms great, maybe just suggest putting a toaster or sandwich maker in the rooms.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    40
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Syd
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Tara Beach Resort is unique. First, the resort is set on 40 acres of
park land. The cabins are a few metres from the beach and the view looks
back at Port Vila - beautiful by day and night. Second, there are very
few places in Vanuatu that are owned and operated by local Ni-Fan people
- in Port Vila and on the island of Efate Tara Beach is the only one.
All staff are local family members from the different islands and all
profits are distributed among these families.

If you stay at Tara Beach you have access to the best of everything. In
terms of local knowledge, Tara Beach can arrange any activity that you
might want. The owners have operated tours in Vanuatu for over 40 years.
They know the best tours, sports, hotels, recreation and dining anywhere
in Vanuatu. And, you will have loads of space inside and out at the resort.

More than anything, Tara Beach staff are Ni-Fan. This means that they
take care of you with a smile!!! What ever you want, when ever you want
it. Tara Beach will do anything they can to help make sure you have the
kind of holiday you want - singles, couples, families, conferences,
anything!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

The Thursday night feast night was quite interesting and unique. Sala (the owner) is ever so happy to accommodate anyone; him and his staff give the place a vibrant and cheerful vibe. The location was a bit of a travel out of Port VIla, but it made it more private than the hectic rush experienced in the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

the staff are execellent cant do enought to help .beautiful cultured freindly locals with lots of passion .rooms were your piece of paradise looking over the most amaving reef on your door step.the nataral beauty was breath taking of the comerical side of tourism trail peace and quiet locacation. great snorkelling right there fish like yiou never seen before .a real cultral exerience most freindly people. thanks SALA,CRISTINA ,CAPTAIN KARL be back again

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We have recently returned from a fantastic two week holiday in Vanuatu staying the entire time a Tara Beach Resort. Tara Beach is in a very peaceful and picturesque bay with beautiful views from every bungalow and snorkelling, kayaking and swimming literally just in front of the resort. The accommodation is simple and certainly not five star (and we weren’t expecting that), but our room was cleaned every day, we had comfortable beds, hot water in our shower and the staff were fantastic. The room was fitted with three ceiling fans (that all worked) and were more than ample in keeping our room cool enough to sleep overnight. There aren’t any screens fitted on the windows however we kept the windows closed at night and having taken a plug in mozzie repellent from home had no issues with mosquito’s or bugs of any kind. The large veranda area at the front of the bungalow was fantastic, providing shade during the day, a great place to relax in the evenings and a fantastic spot early in the morning to watch the sunrise (if you get up that early).

We only ate in the restaurant three or four times and apart from the Melanesian feast night/Island Night (which is held every Thursday and well worth going to) we were really boring and chose fish every time, so I don’t feel qualified to give an overall comment on the food. I can however highly recommend the poulet fish with coconut cream and onion. The meals were a little expensive (compared to New Zealand prices) but they were the same everywhere in Vanuatu. Karl from the restaurant came and asked us each day if we intended eating in the restaurant at night, but we never felt pressured to either dine in or away. Breakfasts were simple with fruit juice, coffee & tea, cereal, toast, tropical fruits and delicious French pastries; this is included in the room rate and was more than ample.

Tara Beach is about 15-20 minutes from Port Vila itself, but transport can be arranged at the resort with the drivers from Tara Beach happy to pick you up again either at an arranged time or when phoned. We bought a local SIM card for our phone for a minimal cost and it lasted the whole holiday. The van into town is 300vt per person one way, half price for children but was still cheaper than a bus/taxi that charged approx 500vt per person.

We can highly recommend the round island trip, Christine is the guide for this full day adventure and has a fantastic knowledge of the island. We rented a car for our last three days in Vanuatu (from Discount Car Rentals, who we can highly recommend also) and returned to some of the places we had been to on our tour to do further exploring.

If you want a holiday at the Ritz, go to the Ritz. Tara Beach doesn’t have all the luxuries of a big resort, there is no pool, no kids club (although babysitting is available) and no beauty spa, but if you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings, where the staff treat you like family and where you can snorkel with the fish and turtles, kayak in the bay, enjoy magnificent scenery and just chill out, then Tara Beach is ideal.

Check out some more of our photos of Vanuatu on Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/tony_nz/sets/72157621504490757/ .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

For a group of 21/22 year old guys Tara was great. The resort is a way out of town, which gets you away from the noise etc. of Port Vila and onto a private beach (though of course means that a taxi or bus ride is required to get into town for shopping). The staff were great, and genuinely helped us get the most out of our trip (Carl for example organised a soccer game between us and the nearby village, as well as spending plenty of time telling us where to stay and what to see in other parts of Vanuatu). The kayaks that were freely available were great and we spent a day paddling around the coastline - I should advise caution to anyone who like us thinks they can surf waves with kayaks though! The snorkelling just off the beach was also great.
A highlight for me was the fact that we were able to sit on the beach or on the grass playing cards or reading all day, and to stay there as late into the night as we wanted without disturbing anyone.

Potential issues that were not huge for us, but that some travellers may have - the rooms, which comfortable, were certainly not luxurious. The mattress was quite thin, the toilets were clean workable but not great. The restaurant was quite expensive, but that was the case in most places in Vanuatu. For travellers on a budget (as we certainly were) it is a lot cheaper to buy food at supermarkets in Villa and then do your own thing. The distance from town could perhaps also worry some people. By taxi / minibus Tara is about 15-20 mins from Port Vila. The resort provides a minibus service for 300vt per person (charging per person surprised us at first but the same technique is used by minibuses in town as well).

Basically, for anyone who wants to be a bit secluded, wants a more authentic experience than most places offer and who isn't fussed with just having the basic comforts, I would strongly recommend Tara.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I stayed at Tara Beach a couple of week ago with my family, we booked 3 rooms and in reply to the last review , there is only one Tara Beach. We booked this resort after reading the reviews on trip adviser and I must say we were dissapointed. Although this resort in my opinion is at one of the most beautiful spots in Vanuatu, the resort itself is lacking. I would like to say that Christine who looked after us while we were there is a true asset to this resort, if it was not for her we would have seriously considered shifting. The rooms are basic, which we were prepared for we did not expect 5 star. The rooms cannot be locked, whatever locks were there were unusable. No robes to hang your cloths. Take your own soap. Furnishings are very basic, don't expect matching linnen or towles. No screens on doors of windows, which could be a real problem in warmer months. Beds and pillows need a desperate upgrade. The resturant is in need of a major overhaul , breakfast each morning could be impoved by investing in a hot water urn for tea and coffee , giving each table butter instead of sharing one plate with 6 tables. Keeping the food coverd from flyes. Evening meals were very sub standard and in my opinion expensive for what we received and yes we were incouraged on several occassions to eat in our rooms or eat out for convienance of the staff. Toilets in the main area near the bar were to say the least disgusting . This resort could be magnificiant , but unfortunately staying here is like being in a episode of Faulty Towers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tara Beach Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Beach Bungalows Resort

Address: Devil's Point Road | Bukura, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Beach Bungalows Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Beach is absolute beach front situated on 12 lush acres fronting picturesque Mele Bay, Efate, Vanuatu. With crystal clear, safe waters at your doorstep, we are the perfect spot for snorkeling, kayaking, swimming and getting away from it all for a while. We also have a chilled out open air bar / cafe known as the Beach Hut that is also open to day visitors and locals. Located about 15 mins from town & 10 mins to the airport, we provide free airport transfers for guests. All bungalows have tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge, with ocean views a few metres from your door included as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Tara Beach Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Beach Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Tara Beach Hotel
Tara Beach Port Vila
Tara Beach Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Beach Bungalows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.