We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Beach Bungalows Resort

Save Saved
You added Tara Beach Bungalows Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tara Beach Bungalows Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Devil's Point Road | Bukura, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Port Vila B&B and Inns
Normanton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

We were looking for something different this trip to Port Vila and while looking for a house to rent, came across Tara Beach - it was just what we were looking for - plus no cooking. A self contained unit where there was room to move and even with the other units there was plenty of privacy. All correspondence was done via email and nothing was too much trouble for Sala and Lei.

From the moment we arrived (it was footy grand final night) we were very happy with our choice of accommodation. Living with air conditioning for 10 months of the year (live in remote far north west Queensland) my only concern was that it would be uncomfortable in the unit with out air con. Not so, Sala assured us and with the breeze from the ocean and the fans in the unit, he was right - it was pure bliss. Added to that, you could look out to the ocean from the single beds and at night go to sleep to the sound of the waves. The crystal clear water off the jetty made it a joy to feed the fish there and made you want to learn to snorkle!!! The beach though small was a lovely place for a walk and get the sand between your toes plus there are plenty of rock pools to explore.

The staff of Karl, Christin and Lulu were genuinely helpful and nothing was too much bother. One day we were a bit late going for lunch and Karl appeared on our doorstep and said if we would like to order lunch he would bring it up to our unit for us (which we did) - now that is service for you! The food was always fresh and their fish and chips was the best ever. Check out the Lobsters too as fresh as you could wish for. We ate all our meals there, the menu was varied and all food cooked to perfection (I asked for a sample menu to be sent when I booked and they quite happily e-mailed it to me).

The staff at Tara Beach will happily organise any trips you want to go on. We went on the Round the Island Trip hosted by Christine and had a great time, as was the Melanesian Feast night. There were a lot of trips available, but having been to Vila before we only chose the two trips and were very happy with the organisation and the information provided.

We spent 9 days at Tara Beach and were treated to a thoroughly relaxing time - there were no phones or TV in the units (we did watch some DVD's - supplied) but took crossword books and magazines. There is a TV in the Restaurant if you felt the need to watch some TV.
Sala does a great rendition of Elvis songs and the inpromptu get togethers are just another attraction. Each of the staff have a story to tell and they are all proud of their village (Mele).

  • Liked — Clean, small touches like fresh flowers, quiet, location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
36
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

From the time you arrive at Tara Beach you are made to feel most welcome the smiles friendliness and hospitality the staff show instantly puts you into relaxation holiday mode. Tara Beach is a an absolute tropical paradise.

During my stay nothing was to much trouble for the staff every request is catered for such as trips around the island,fishing,
kayaks,snorkelling,feeding fish of the jetty tours around the property,lifts into town for shopping you name it anything you wanted they were there 2 help and often they accompanied you to make sure your experience was memorable.These people are very proud of their place and culture and are more than happy to share all of that with you.

I will always remember my first holiday at Tara Beach as it was so enjoyable and full of wonderful memories especially my last night in the resort the send off was out of this world. I feel i have made new friends for life and look forward to going back in the new year.


TANK YU TUMAS my friends for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

Just got back from a great experience at Tara Beach.
Forget staying at all the Ozzy owned resorts, try something owned and run by locals. It was a great way to find out about the Islands from the people who really know.
We travelled with three small children and we never felt safer and more at home than at Tara Beach. Everyone was wonderful and our little guys got to play with the local kids.
They have the BEST snorkelling around.(they don't fish near the beach so that we tourists can enjoy seeing the fish). They also have kayaks free of charge which is also great fun.
We were right on the beach. The bungalows were exceptionally clean. We didn't experience any Mossies or cocraoches there like we did at other resorts.
I have to admit that after spending our first 2 nights at Poppys (run and owned by australians) it was a little bit of a shock to arrive at peaceful Tara Beach. The furniture is sparce but more than adequate. Perhaps a microwave or toaster would have been handy or perhaps an outdoor communal BBQ. But nevertheless it did not matter since its the position of the place and the people that really count. I'd advise you to take a few dvds with you as their library is limited and there is no TV stations available.
They have a bus which is available to take you anywhere at any time and is the same price as any other bus available in Port Villa.
We actually hired a car for the last couple of days but only because it suited our families needs better.
Whilst at Tara Beach we did the tour around the Island with them which I highly recommend to do at the start of your stay. A great day out and we stopped at some top swimming spots.
Even on the hottest days you can still feel comfortable at Tara Beach since you have the sea breeze to cool you down.
Tara beach is about a 20 minute drive from town but even that is interesting.
Well done everyone at Tara Beach. You made our holiday very memorable especialy for the little ones.
Step outside the square you live in and Go with the locals for a unique experience. You won't regret it.

  • Liked — beach, snorkelling
  • Disliked — no tv station
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from our umteenth trip to Vanuatu, we never get tired of it. We have stayed at or visited most of the resorts there over the years and enjoyed them all. This trip we decided to do something different and booked ourselves into Tara Beach resort, we were fortunate enough to meet the owners on a previuos trip and were given a guided tour of what was then a construction site. I fell in love with the land at first site, 7 hectares of absolute beachfront property protected from the elements by a bay within a bay. When we returned I was blown away with the finished product, they have done an amazing job of the bungalows, restaraunt, everything is great. The owners Sala & his wife Lie are Ni-Vanuatu people from the Mele village, they and their family are very welcoming and obliging, eldest son Erik handles bookings and looks after the guests very competently. Even if you have booked elsewhere already go out there for a meal or lunch and a snorkle, and if you can convince Sala to get up on on stage and sing a few songs you wont want him to stop. (make him sing the laughing song)

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

"Tara Beach Resort - Vanuatu. Off the plane and it is a warm balmy day in Vanuatu. With a short bus ride out of the main town centre Port Villa, Tara Beach Resort is a perfect place to get away from the hassle and bustle and relax in your own bungalow by a gentle beach in the most luscious tropical piece of the earth I have experienced.

It was exactly what we were looking for and more! We (partner Craig 32 and 2.5 yr old daughter Mailee), felt relaxed and enjoyed being hosted by the Tara Beach staff from the moment we arrived. Delicious cool fruit punch delivered to the bungalow- fresh flower and miniture umbrella and all. Just what I needed to start off the holiday. At the quaint resort we enjoyed home cooked meals of beautiful seafood and local produce, cooked fresh. It was interesting to learn more about the culture from the people with tours of the local area, village, local knowledge of flora and fauna, nothing like having a coconut straight from the tree opened fresh for you..

Each morning at Tara Beach we would canoe over to a shell island and then snorkel. My daughter loves collecting shells this must have been heaven from her. It is quiet and peaceful looking and swimming with the spectacular, colourful and O'so comical fish. More varieties of beautiful tropical fish in one area than I have ever seen before. Then back for breakfast with the French influence. Each day we explored somewhere different on the island. We also took a day trip and 4X4 around the island which was exhilarating and a bit hairy at times. Lots to do in Vanuatu.

The most magnificent memories we will cherish will be of the Tara Beach staff whom made the visit special . Fresh flowers picked for you every day... this is paradise. Halo Christine, Lulu, Carl, Lesley, Kana, Ani and Lea & and of coarse Sala, Lei Eric and the bro's. We will be back!!! Thank You.

Lian Scott - Sunshine Coast QLD
Tara Beach 1st Oct 2008 - 11 October 2008

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

"Tara Beach Resort - Vanuatu. Step off the aeroplane and it is a warm tropical balmy day in Vanuatu. With a short bus ride out of the main town centre Port Villa, Tara Beach Resort is a perfect place to get away from the hassle and bustle and relax in your own bungalow by a gentle beach. The most luscious tropical piece of the earth I have experienced - it is breath taking.

It was exactly what we were looking for and more! We (partner Craig 32 and 2.5 yr old daughter Mailee), felt relaxed and enjoyed being hosted by the Tara Beach staff from the moment we arrived. Delicious cool fruit punch delivered to the bungalow- fresh flower and miniature umbrella and all. Just what I needed to start off the holiday. At the quaint 5 bungalow resort we enjoyed home cooked meals of beautiful seafood and local produce, cooked fresh. It was interesting to learn more about the culture from the people with tours of the local area, village, local knowledge of flora and fauna. There is nothing quite like having a coconut straight from the tree opened fresh for you..

Each morning at Tara Beach we would canoe over to a shell island and then snorkel. My daughter loves collecting and playing with shells (who doesn't?), this must have been heaven from her. It is quiet and peaceful swimming with the spectacular, colourful and O'so comical fish. More varieties of beautiful tropical fish in one area than I have ever seen before. Then back for breakfast with the French influence. Each day we explored somewhere different on the island. We also took a day trip and 4X4 around the island which was exhilarating and a bit hairy at times. Lots to do in Vanuatu.

The most magnificent memories we will cherish will be of the Tara Beach staff whom made the visit special . Fresh flowers picked for you every day... this is paradise. Halo Christine, Lulu, Carl, Lesley, Kana, Ani and Lea & and of coarse Sala, Lei Eric and the bro's. We will be back!!! Thank You.

Lian Scott - Sunshine Coast QLD
Tara Beach 1st Oct 2008 - 11 October 2008

  • Liked — Amazing View, Clean, Fresh Flowers, Private, and suited the environment.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We have returned from Vanuatu having spent 7 days there for our 21st Wedding Anniversary.

Our first night at the le meridian, 3 nights at Hideaway and 3 nights at Tara beach resort.

Tara beach was the best by far. Snorkeling and fish feeding were amazingand just off the jetty. Dolphins passed by in the morning and evening which added that special touch to breakfast, and sundowner cocktails each day. We were also able to do reef fishing and our son did spear fishing with the guys. In the evenings we were serenaded by Sela (the owner) and his son Eric. You would simply love the experience of "Elvis at Tara"!
Christina does day trips around the island for those who are interested, Lulu entertained us on the patio of our bungalow with his guitar one afternoon while it was raining. Lulu, Carl and Christina went out of their way to make sure that everything was good and we were comfortable.
Everybody was very friendly - one afternoon we decided to walk to the village shop, before we realised it, James appeared with 2 bicycles and he accompanied our son on their cycle to the village.
The meals were great, freshly prepared, probably the biggest lobster we have had!
The resort is very new and only has 3 bungalows available at the moment with 6 or 7 in progress. The bungalows are very spacious and lovely and clean. Overhead fans throughout and a lovely patio overlooking the bay.
This is the place to go if you are looking for a special getaway with that personal touch that all the other resorts lack!

  • Liked — spacious and clean ,fresh flowers on our beds every day
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tara Beach Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Beach Bungalows Resort

Address: Devil's Point Road | Bukura, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Beach Bungalows Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Beach is absolute beach front situated on 12 lush acres fronting picturesque Mele Bay, Efate, Vanuatu. With crystal clear, safe waters at your doorstep, we are the perfect spot for snorkeling, kayaking, swimming and getting away from it all for a while. We also have a chilled out open air bar / cafe known as the Beach Hut that is also open to day visitors and locals. Located about 15 mins from town & 10 mins to the airport, we provide free airport transfers for guests. All bungalows have tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge, with ocean views a few metres from your door included as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Tingo, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Tara Beach Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Beach Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Tara Beach Hotel
Tara Beach Port Vila
Tara Beach Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Beach Bungalows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.