We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jill's Cafe

Jill's Cafe
Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 73 Restaurants in Port Vila
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“nice view and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have so far on my trip been to Jills twice with a friend. First we had breakfast which was great, lovley fresh fruit and beautifully jam toast and my friend had a breakfast burger that she highly recommended and couldnt finish!
On our second visit, for lunch, I had the chicken schnitzel burger. It was very tasty with lettuce, tomato and very nice ranch sauce. My mate had the taco burrito and gave it a big thumbs up. We also had a side of tortilla chips which were very nice served with sour cream and salsa - kinda more like a cross between shapes and homemade tortilla chips. Still yummy tho. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. It also has restrooms which is a bit of a score in vila. The prices are very good, about 700vt for a burger.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    142
    40
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good American Style Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our local driver took us here of his own volition for Aust. burger style lunch.
Fast, quick, great food. Had a burger & Coke & kids enjoyed the kids menu. A great lunch meal that I would go back again for. Our driver also joined us for lunch and seeemed to have many friends amongst the local clientele.
To the previous poor reviewer, our local also told us the staff average about AU$2 per hour. However, we also went to his local village on the way home. A bare 3rd world subsistence existence. Like most pacific islanders, outside the 'western compounds' I suspect they are dirt poor. Does this mean it is Jill's fault? I don't think so. At least the locals are employed here and the locals seem to enjoy eating here as well. I don't have the solution to the poverty, and I doubt the previous reviewer does either.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jill's - an institution!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Jill's Cafe has been around for ages (now in a new location just a couple of doors up). Great American style diner with burgers, fries and lots of other great dishes, a must for at least one lunch stop. Staff (all lovely local Ni-Van ladies) are efficient and friendly. Service is great and also saw some cruise ship customers paying with Aus $. Plenty of room now with the new location and some bar style seats looking out to the bay and park (across the car park). Consistently Good!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The service was quick & efficient.
Food was tasty and of generous portions with reasonable prices for Port Vila.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Sets the standard in Port Vila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We ate three times at Jill's. Why? The food was great, there were salads (man were we over fish, chips and burgers as cheaper options) and the service was amazing. Our server, Janet, must have thought we were stalking her as we always ended up in her section. Anyone who says 'it's Island Time in Vanuatu' needs to see how this kitchen and waiting team work - they have service nailed; fast, cheerful, orders are correct and food is prompt. Honestly if Jill ever decided to extend her hours to close around 7pm for an early dinner service, I think that the place would be packed. This is good quality food at the right price in Port Vila. We had nachos, chilli, chicken burritos and two different styles of salad (the chef's salad was the pick). The kids had sausage and chips off the kids menu which they enjoyed but they had the chocolate brownie, which was amazing (think brownie, chocolate sauce, ice cream, cream and nuts). The milkshakes are great and Jill's lemonade is divine. We loved the place and would love to see Jill consider extending the service to an early dinner - we'd eat there every night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jill's Cafe also viewed

 
Port Vila, Efate
Port Vila, Efate
 

Been to Jill's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jill's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.