We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good American-style lunches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jill's Cafe

Jill's Cafe
Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 73 Restaurants in Port Vila
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Auckland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good American-style lunches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a thriving busy cafe with ceiling fans and American condiments churning out good diner-style lunches. If you're after a tuna melt, hot dog, burger or enchilada, this is your best option in Vila. Prices are reasonably and the food is good although the service can be hard to find and very slow. No problem if you're on holiday and don't mind though...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    142
    40
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

i left sydney for port villa. after couple of days i wanted some local grub but wanted to feel like i was back at home. i guess i was missing home. i went to Jill's Cafe and i was very very very happy. Must try the cheeseburgers

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious, affordable, quick, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Oh dear God, this place has some of the best cheeseburgers and shakes out there. I'm an American (so I know from cheeseburgers) but live abroad, and really miss these US diet staples! Who knew that all I had to do was go to Vanuatu to find them?

Very happy. I think the burger was 950 vatu or so, and the chocolate milkshake about 350 vatu. Really good deal--the cheeseburger is HUGE! The local mince is totally delicious...I think it's better than most you can find in the US, actually! We went back twice during our 6 day stay.

My friend ordered Mexican, and it was equally as good. We've both lived in San Diego...right next to the border...so we also know good quality Mexican, and this was as close as we've tasted overseas.

Jill's is located in the heart of PV, along the main drag. Can't miss it if it's open (think it closes around 5:30 or so each day).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place became our fail safe for quality service and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

When visiting a holiday destination which runs on island time.. Jills was one of the few places we found which still has great service and reasonable turnaround on delivery of food. When you cant find a single egg in any of the Bon Marche's you can count on Jills for an omlette or bacon and egg roll.

The staff are wonderful and you cant help but absorb their good humour and happiness.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch time yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved the cheesy chips and the hamburgers with the lot. not bad for lunch time menu also the nachos are great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jill's Cafe also viewed

 
Port Vila, Efate
Port Vila, Efate
 

Been to Jill's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jill's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.