We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Coasters from Australia.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamanu on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tamanu on the Beach to your Saves list
Tamanu on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Whitesands Road, Port Vila, Efate 678, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SPECIAL 30% DISCOUNT
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gold Coasters from Australia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just spent 2 weeks in Vanuatu and had the best chill out holiday that you could ever hope for. Initially we spent a couple of Days in Port Villa but then we ventured to Tamunu on the Beach which is located about a half hour’s cruisey drive around the island from Port Villa. It is a beautiful, tranquil and pristine beachfront paradise adjoining a Tropo Garden of eden.

During our stay at Tamanu we got married ( after 17 years courtship ! ) with a Tribal Warrior to herald the wedding and another Tribal Warrior and his tribe as escorts. The wedding took place right on the beach and the Warriors added a spectacular war dance! We are a mini Bradybunch from previous failed marriages and we have recently attended graduations and marriages of our own kids but the celebrations in Tamanu are the best way to go. At Tamanu we did a Tropical, Tribal, Japanese Samurai wedding and you just couldn’t do that sort of thing justice in Australia. With a bride dressed in a slinky Tropical Print and the groom dressed as a Japanese Samurai singing the vows, the Native Warriors had as much fun as we did !

Virginia, the lovely manager of the resort was so helpful and she made arrangements really easy. Her Executive Master Chef Mr Cameron Morrison, treated us with a daily feast and he also proved to be a great wedding photographer ! Virginia’s husband Greg ( the local Building Contractor & Project Manager ) was great to talk to and just about convinced us to semi retire to the Islands of Vanuatu. And the Native Vanuatu Staff at Tamanu were really friendly too. They were fantastic to talk to and without obligation they provided us with lovely flowers, woven necklays and treats for our wedding preparations.

We spent a great time relaxing, swimming, snorkeling, beach-walking, sun-soaking, cycling and of course lots of wining and dining !

There was a Cabaret / Dinner party there one night where we met a lot of the local Aussie Expats and we really enjoyed their company too, and of course the Entertainment ( performed by an International Artist who was also an Aussie Expat but previously a local from Vanuatu ) and the Dinner was incredible ! Apparently Virginia organizes many similar functions at Tamanu throughout the year for the guests and the locals and special occasions.

We had a fantastic chill out, soul satisfying time.

Best Regards - Adrienne & Dick ( Gold Coasters from Australia )

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    12
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
91
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cut off, kick back and enjoy being away from town 30mins away). Lobster is caught off of the beach and the soufflé is worth the wait. A well known spot for local expats. Check out the turtle farm up the coast and see about a day trip up to banana bay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Family gave my wife a massage and lunch at Tamanu. When we visited, there was only 1couple staying there but this didn't impact the service or menu choices in the restaurant. If we travel to Vanuatu again Tamanu will be high on the list of places to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My boyfriend took me there for an overnight getaway & a surprise.
Had a lovely lunch followed by an awesome dinner later that night where we had our own private area. Turns out the surprise was us getting engaged.
Beautiful spot to do absolutely nothing but walk on the beach, eat delicious food, drink wonderful wine & spoil your loved one rotten. Perfect place for romance.
Thank you to Virginia (Manager) & Cameron (Chef) for making our stay perfect & memorable.
We are seriously thinking of having our wedding there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Tamanu for our Honeymoon for 3 nights. We expected to be surrounded by other holiday makers but we instead had the place completely to ourselves for our entire stay! Our only company were the staff and a few people who stopped by for meals. For our entire stay we were treated like royalty and can't recommend Tamanu higher! It was fantastic without any technology and each cabin is literally on the beach! We even spent time at the day spa and they called staff in from a local village just for us! If you want somewhere beautiful and astoundingly peaceful, stay at Tamanu!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked our stay via Getaway website = big $$$ discount and got a top dollars services.
staffs were so nice , friendly, specially Cameron the chef
room (including bed sheets and towels ) were cleaned daily
this the perfect place to relax and enjoy one on one time specially if the occasion is for your 10 years anniversary .....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed August 2013 for 5 days. The resort is about 20 minutes south of Port Vila. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city. We chose this boutique resort for the isolation and uniqueness of mainstream resorts on offer in Vanuatu. Also it advertised that the resort is childfree which was very alluring. (I have no issue of families holidaying with small children they are entitled to holidays as well; but sometimes these families can be intrusive to the peace and tranquillity we often seek when we are on holiday).
The tranquillity of Tamanu is evident from its location, surroundings, villas and staff. We were the only occupants during our recent stay and it can best be described as "Heaven on Earth". The accommodation are beachfront villa's built of coral inside and out with a lovely outside bathroom. (Shower only, no bathtub). The only background noise was the ocean which adds to the ambience of the place. Televisions are not provided but a selection of easy listening CD's & an IPOD docking station are on offer. The villas are very clean and although the bed is higher than normal, it is extremely comfortable and we had no problems sleeping. We indulged with a massage on our first day which immediately relaxed us and brought us to holiday mode. The staff are attentive and respectful but not intrusive. The chef has provided a menu that is of high quality and does not disappoint with the fresh local produce. The whole dining experience was a absolute pleasure.
The only caution I would offer to people considering staying here is that the cost of taxi's or use of there own shuttle bus is expensive. If you want down time and not explore the sights of Vanuatu this place is idyllic but if you want to venture beyond the resort; transport will be expensive because of its isolation.
Overall this resort ticked all the right boxes and we will certainly return in the near future. I highly recommend this beautiful place for couples seeking a romantic holiday. Just provide your own alcohol and music to enjoy the quietness and beauty from the privacy of your own villa.

Room Tip: Bring your own alcohol. Fridge provided. To buy alcohol from the resort is expensive if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamanu on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamanu on the Beach

Address: Whitesands Road, Port Vila, Efate 678, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamanu on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamanu on the Beach is a one of a kind destination offering the discerning traveller an authentic, private and romantic South Pacific experience.....where sometimes the best thing to do is nothing. Tamanu on the Beach is truly the right antidote for today's busy world and as such makes it the ideal place for couples, weddings, honeymoons and special events with friends. Our six French provincial style coral cottages, which have recently been refurbished in bright beach themes provide you with the creature comforts you expect and deserve. All have open air bathrooms and are situated only metres from Tamanu's sprawling, unspoiled, white sand beach. Our fine dining restaurant, which is considered to be the best in Vanuatu is renowned for its pavilion styled open-air restaurant and has earned a highly respected international reputation for delivering the most distinctive fine dining cuisine, featuring local organic meat, indigenous produce and the freshest of seafood. Staying at Tamanu on the Beach is one of life's simplest pleasures. There is a magic here. There are few pristine places left in the world that can truly be described as Special.... Tamanu is one of them ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tamanu on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamanu On The Beach Hotel Port Vila
Tamanu On The Beach Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamanu on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.