We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eratap Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eratap Beach Resort
Save
You added Eratap Beach Resort to your Saves list
PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We recently returned from our seven-day honeymoon at Eratap. Off the beaten track and well secluded, Eratap offers a peaceful and idyllic piece of heaven. I cannot imagine a more beautiful location for our wonderful honeymoon.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and even went out of their way to track down our luggage that was delayed in Sydney (especially thanks to Liz and also to Robert for collecting the bags from the airport for us the next day). Thanks also to, amongst others, Andre, Walter & Sharon for continuously bringing us lovely cocktails (recommend the A-bomb!) to us at the pool.

The beach front villas are spacious and behold spectacular views of the ocean, especially at sunset. Despite a previous reviewer's comment, at no time did other guests walk around our villa or encroach on our privacy.

The food was truly amazing. A firm favourite was the fillet mignon, cooked to tender perfection and the local fish dishes are a must to try. Eratap has a definite winner with their chef, Cameron.

There are plenty of daily activities to try such as trips to the local village, kayaking, snorkelling, walks, although admittedly, the purpose of our trip was to relax so we spent most of our time lazing by the pool. Perfection.

Thanks Tony & Louise, we had a fantastic time and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
300
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

When we arrived at Port Villa we where greeted by Eratap staff. My partner and i hopped in the mini bus with another family of four. The trip from the airport to the resort was about half an hour long, and the bumpy ride that the other reviewers complain about is not that bad: our driver was very good at moving around them, the road is bad but is not worth the hype that it gets in the other reviews.

Upon arrival we where greeted by the resort owner: he gave us a run through of the resort. It was absolutley beautiful, better than the website made it look. We where shown to our little villas, absolute beach front, the vila's where closer than i would have liked but we had a 6month old baby in the villa next to us and we didn't hear her once.

The staff are extremely friendly, and they made our stay very comfortable..

We bought the meal plan with our accommodation, i strongly recommend it. It gives you four courses a day, we had our lunch as one course and then entrees dinner and desert everyday. It also gave us peace of mind that at the end of the stay we would only have to pay our drinks bill.

Menu and food was AMAZING! fresh fish, beautiful tender beef and yummy lobster and prawns.

I felt a little guilty because i was in a remote resort which could have been anywhere in the world, however the resort offered cultural and exciting activities everyday for the guests, which included tours to Eratap village, boat trips to the surrounding islands and fun soccer games on the beach.

You must organise a private dinner on the beach if you are staying with your partner, we had a beautiful dinner at sunset, where my now fiance asked me to marry him... the Eratap staff made it such a magic scene.

Snorkelling in the surf was great, lots too see! just make sure you venture out at high tide. Although i will say even though snorkels are provided still bring your own, it may have just been the the holidays but there wasn't a lot of sizes to pick from and lot of the sizes where broken.

Our stay was beautiful,

one pointer would be to have bath robes in the room for night time....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princess_Louise
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Eratap for our honeymoon mid January 2010 and were not particularly thrilled with our experience. During particular periods of time this resort does not accept under 18s, due to my profession I was not able to stay during one of those times, I would strongly urge all who are able to schedule their stay during those times to do so.

The bungalows are quite close together, so be prepared to listen to your neighbour's children cry, watch dvds and yes, even clear their throats. Also, we had an issue with a group of neighbours using the space behind our bungalow as a short cut to access the main path around the resort. Our main concern with this was that the bedroom was VERY open and at the back of the bungalow, and considering this was our honeymoon our privacy was invaded a number of times. Compound this with the nature of the resort, a relaxing, quiet place to wind down and primary school aged children with little to 'do,' left to wander around the place, we felt as though we had to lock the place up to make sure our honeymoon 'activities' were discreet.

The resort does run activities, these ranged from the extraordinary snorkelling off an offshore reef to the not-so-extraordinary 'collect wood for the bonfire.' The first activity we decided to do, kayaking, was scheduled to leave at 2:00 pm. We arrived at 1:55, waited around along with another guest but no-one showed up. We then found out, after much chasing around, that the tour had already left. For the next activity we chose to do, snorkelling, we arrived 10 minutes early, only to have to wait around for 25 minutes. Also the activities were quite repetitive, snorkelling was scheduled three times within three days.

The weather was quite warm, which was to be expected. The air conditioners in the room have been placed above the heads of the beds, we were rudely shocked on the first night when we turned the air conditioner on to have it spit water on our faces. This happened every time we turned it on. Relaxing?

I read glowing reviews of the food at the Eratap, however we can only assume that the former chef no longer works there. The menu is limited, and when you stay there for a few nights a limited menu becomes quite tiresome. There is a specials board with different dishes, however we found that the 'specials' were often very similar to items already on the menu. The menu is quite inflexible, one example of this is when my husband ordered the eye-fillet one evening, we were then told that they didn't have any eye fillet, and asked if he would like the fillet mignon instead. He said that it should be fine, we were then told that they would charge us the fillet mignon price and prepare it in the manner stated on the menu. This was not ok, it was considerably more expensive and accompanied by a lot of seafood that he did not want or like.

In short, the resort is placed in a truly idyllic location, albeit off the beaten track (quite literally), however I am uncertain as to whether the location can compensate for the shortcomings, considering the cost. Despite all of the negatives we did enjoy the majority of the time we spent at the Eratap, however if I did it again I would choose to honeymoon elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We had a wonderful time-a big thanks to all the staff that made our visit so memorable.
Facilities are well maintained and very comfortable.
The staff are friendly and helpful without imposing on your privacy
A beautiful location, beautiful staff and beautiful food.
Hope to return again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Had a wonderful five days at Eratap,was a great place to relax after our 6 day adventure to Tanna.Staff all very helpful and friendly.Robert the driver even stopped on the way to show my wife a particular plant, most impressed by this.We stayed in Vila 9 which was a perfect location with a nice view of the water.The facilities are very good and the pool area was lovely.

We did however find it a bit like holidaying at a retirement village as all the other guests seem to be rather old.I was expecting a zimmer frame or two to appear.But all in all a pleasent experience.

The food was without fault and the selection was varied.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong,Vic, Aust.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

My wife and I recently spent 7 days at Eratap and had simply the most relaxing time we have had for many years.
The villa was very comfortable, not lacking any creature comfort although the lovely solid timber bench tops could have done with some dreesing up to make it look a little more homely.
The view from our bedroom/lounge and balcony over the water was stunning with beautiful azure blue waters lapping against the beach. The weather could have been a little better ( it didn't stop us doing anything )but we did have some sensational sunsets while have a quite pre-dinner drink.
The grounds are very well kept and will improve in condition with some rain as it appears to have been very dry before our arrival.

The food was excellent with a wide variety and a daily specials menu. If you wanted anything special, the staff would do their best to accommodate your request. We thought the meals were good value and for us, usually a main course and a shared dessert was enough to eat at night. The breakfast was a daily highlight, sitting the balcony watching the waves roll in and enjoy as many of the delights from the kitchen that you could justify eating. Yum.... breakfast was a prolonged meal!!
Despite eating a little to much each morning the daily activities wore away the excessive calories. Each morning there was an activity at 10am that was either energetic or interesting or there was a bus into town for some shopping. The ride into town was an interesting experience with avoidance of potholes and bumps a near impossible task for the driver. Roadwork isn't a priority in Vanuatu.

All the staff from Tony and Louise the wonderful hosts to Liz, Robert, Stephen, Andre', Walter, Sharon, Sante' and the many others made our stay an absolute pleasure. Nothing was a trouble and every request was met with a smile.

We have been snorkelling many places and we feel that just off the beach at the resort was very good. A 7/10 when compared to Aitutaki and the Great Barrier Reef.
We can highly recommend a stay at Eratap Beach Resort if you are looking for a brilliantly quite honeymoon or just a relaxing island holiday. We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boort, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

What can i say that hasn't already been said? We stayed at Eratap for 7 nights during November and found it simply fantastic! I don't think there is one thing I would change about it. The fact that it is a small resort was one of the reasons we chose to stay here and we were not disappointed. The position of the resort, the staff, the food, the facilities are all perfect. We found the snorkelling from the beach out the front of the restaurant, off Castaway island and the big island all much better than the Great Barrier Reef which we have snokelled on many times before. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. We had a private dinner in our little gazebo for my 50th birthday and the staff all came down to our villa with a cake and sang Happy Birthday. During our whole stay we ate and drank our way through all the menus and not one meal disappointed. We stayed during the child free time and it certainly was very peaceful. It certainly is a place I would recommend to anyone who appreciates beauty, friendliness and quality. and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eratap Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.