We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost for words...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eratap Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eratap Beach Resort
Save
You added Eratap Beach Resort to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lost for words...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We completely agree with all the rave reviews of Eratap resort and that is one of the main reasons we went there for my 50th birthday. We would like to add to all the great reviews in a different way by adding on all of the finer details that often get overlooked.

A not so bumpy ride into the resort from our Port Villa motel. Robert knows all the bumps and avoided them well. If anything the main highway in and around Port Villa was the more 'pot holed' road! An extremely warm welcome from Pascalle (Manager) as well as a Walter's special fruit cocktail (wish you well in your new job Walter) when we arrived. All activities and info about the resort explained to us in full. Even photos showing the best spots to swim out from and snorkel.
Eratap is intimate to the extreme with only 12 villas available and children there only through the school holidays. Most times you have the facilities to yourselves. Restaurant, kayaks (single or double and plenty of them), stand up paddle boards, pool, billiards, surfing, snorkeling, petanque, motor boats to outer islands (usually had the islands to yourself too). The option to do as much or as little as you want. Free activities to be enjoyed every single day- thanks Tony for the walk to Black Sands Beach, and also thanks to Mac for the privilege of seeing your Village. Thanks also to Ben for looking after us on Castaway Island. The fire night by Vanua Fire (outstanding to say the least). The Cultural dancing and music night.
The villas are HUGE, beautifully cleaned and made up everyday (thanks cleaning ladies!). The bathroom products in the bathroom for our use were devine. The linen on the bed - such a fine thread count and heavenly to sleep under. The lovely flowers in the villa also, the arrangements done freshly every few days.
The linen also on the restaurant tables - also the best quality.
The convenience of a phone call from our villa or the pool for food and/or drinks to be delivered there- what an indulgence. Who needs a swim up bar?
The gardens surrounding the villas and all through the rest of the resort were beautiful and kept tidy. The thought taken in making sure there were main trees left when the resort was built. Also planting a couple of trees or pandanus palms between each villa's cabanas so you have more privacy.

The restaurant!!!! Chef Kandy (has worked in London's Michelin starred restaurants) your food was exceptional. We needed to spend at least a month at Eratap to try everything available. Pity we didn't even get halfway through the menu, especially with a new muffin flavour every morning, two specials with the lunch menu and two with the dinner menu everyday. Your homemade muesli, banana pancakes, homemade crumpets, poulet fish, fillet steak, I could go on all day. But the best of all - your mum's chocolate mousse, worth going back to Eratap just for that, although I think I need to diet for a while yet!
Andre - yes you make the best coffee-happy now?? Our main man very happy to look after us whenever he was on shift. Of yes, the Resort uses Vanuatu coffee, Tanna-the best - YUM

Tony and Louisa we are sorry we didn't get to meet either of you and Russ would have enjoyed a surf with you. Maybe next time. We have to congratulate you on the wonderful job you have done with your resort. And to commend you on your choice of staff, they are the best. We have had a great holiday and any holiday in the future will be hard pressed to reach the bar that has been set so high by your Eratap Resort.
Memories - Pascalle-nothing too much trouble, Robert-expert driver, Ben-snorkel director, Wendy-directions and help to our Villa, Andre-best coffee, Mac-great tour guide, Tony-boat man and tour guide, Walter-cocktails and coffee,Yvonne-your smile,Jenny-what a whistle, Sharon-the best waitress,Georgina-what a giggle. I know I've missed plenty of the staff as we didn't get all of your names but you were all outstanding.
I have been to the Maldives and seriously why go that far from Australia when you have such a wonderful place only 4 hours away?
We look forward to one day returning...

Room Tip: Any villa is fine, we had No 3. Be ready to be lulled by the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
108
315
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here in March, and even though there was a cyclone affecting the weather and the water, we absolutely loved it. The resort has everything that all the other high end resorts have, however it is the staff that make it exceptional and stand out from all the other resorts.

The one thing I would recommend, is do the day trips. This is when we really got to know the staff and learn the history and culture of Vanuatu. The attractions in and around Port Vila are nothing compared to the day trips we experienced at Eratap.

Regarding the menu, everything is great, my favourites were the garlic prawn salad and the lime juice (thank you Andre!).

All the staff were fantastic without exception, from the men gardening to the owner. Special thanks to,
- Palu our fearless tour guide
- Wendy the scuba dive expert
- Rose for her hugs, high fives and coffee
- Andre for his sense of humour

You cannot go wrong staying at Eratap and it is worth every cent. Thank you!

Room Tip: Do the day trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Pricey but worth it- THE PLACE to stay. It's a bit removed from the rest of the island; but w/all the incl. daily activities, (+2 boats to hire@no chg) there's little reason to go into town (still, they run a free daily shuttle). Tony the owner went so far above/beyond for us that we're still in awe!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a beautiful resort, perfect for a relaxing holiday. There are only 12 villas so it never seems crowded and most of the time the resort is adults only. The surrounds are beautiful. On one side is the beach and the other a lagoon which is perfect for kayaking. Each villa on the beach side is right on the beach. It was amazing to wake up to the view and sound of the surf every morning. The resort was kind enough to offer us a two bedroom villa for the price of a bedroom one (as there weren't any one bedroom ones available when we booked). The villas are very spacious and have a nice deck area where I sat every morning enjoying the view and our own cabana with a couple of banana lounges right on the beach. The villas are so private with a fence between each of them.

There is a day spa with very reasonably priced treatments, especially for a resort (about A$55 for an hour long massage) and they have a special each day where they offer about 10% off for a particular treatment (I actually had 3 massages during our one week stay!). My last massage was complimentary - a lovely gesture and greatly appreciated!

The resort provides you with a bottle of water when you arrive and there is free filtered water available in the reception. The welcome fruit cocktail you receive when you arrive is delicious and so refreshing! Although there is only one restaurant (beautiful spot overlooking the beach), there is a lot of variety on the menu with 2 specials each day for lunch and dinner) and room service is at no extra charge - another lovely touch. The food and drinks are reasonably priced - similar to (or in the case of the wine, cheaper than) a nice restaurant in Australia - about A$15 for lunch, A$32 to A$37 for a main at dinner, A$11 for dessert, A$8 to A$11 for a glass of wine and A$12 to $14 for a cocktail (with half price happy hour once a week). The breakfasts (which are included in the room rate) are the highlight with my favourites being the muesli, fruit salad, muffins and french toast. The eye fillet, garlic and mozzarella pizza bread and chocolate mousse at dinner were also highlights. Some of the other dishes were average however.

They have entertainment at dinner a couple of times a week - a fire show performed to modern music (fantastic) and a cultural show with music and traditional dance (also very good). There is a wine tasting and tasting of local delicacies once a week which is fantastic, as well as a cooking demonstration which was great.

There is no gym (which is understandable given the size of the resort) but there are daily activities including visits to the local village, snorkelling, kayaking and walks (although we did not actually join any of these). There is a free shuttle to Port Vila once a day which gives you 2 hours in town (which is more than enough and actually too long for us - not a lot to do there!)
A must do is a visit to Castaway Island with a picnic lunch provided by the resort. A motorboat takes you there from the resort and there is a staff member on the island to call the resort when you are ready to leave. The sand is beautiful and white on the island and has some nice snorkelling close to the beach. The beach here is even nicer than at the resort (which is really for snorkelling rather than swimming - the water is beautifully clear but full of coral and the sand has quite a lot of shells etc.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

After reviewing Trip Advisor, it seemed Eratap Resort was the place to stay in Vanuatu. My husband and I have just returned from spending 10 amazing nights for my 50th birthday. Robert collected us from the airport and I was prepared for the "bumpy" ride that many had said was a bit rough, but honestly it's not that bad or that long, it's actually an adventure ride - don't be put off.
The Villa's are beautiful, spacious, king beds, lounge, day beds as well as a day bed hut on the beach right in front of your Villa. They are well appointed, and have all the amenities you could ever need.
A great food menu choice and delicious, the gardens and surround were like a tropical paradise. Being part of Eratap Resort enables you to experience so much more than any other resort. Robert and Mac are from the local village and they will take you there to meet the local people, experience their world and their culture. You are welcome to attend the church service, see all the gorgeous children, watch and participate in making pure coconut oil and see how their life is without mobile phones or ipads.
The shopping in town is simple yet interesting the markets are a great place to pick up local hand -made items. Upmarket shoppers have a look at Rococo it's a fashion store in town, a little more expensive but beautiful items to buy, from stunning formal outfits to casual clothing, jewellery, shoes and bags.
At Eratap Resort there are loads of things to do, snorkelling, bike rides, kyaking, fishing, village and town trips, picnics arranged on Castaway Island, and this is to just name a few.
The staff are absolutely fantastic, cannot do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble. They always know your name, and treat you as though you are the only one staying there.
Join in the events, such as Cultural Dancing and Fire Twirling demonstrations from the locals. Happy Hour, Village Tours, Long Walks, Cooking demonstrations, wine tasting and so much more. There is a beautiful spa that offers treatments such as facials, massage, mani or pedi. You must have one of these very - reasonable in price.
Thirsty, you can have a fresh coconut from the tree and ask Alec or one of the gardeners to cut a hole in it for you, It's the best and it's fresh.
Weather in May is perfect around 25, not too humid. You just need, shorts, tank tops, thongs, bathers and a light summer dress and that's it. Buy some outfits in town from the locals, and add a flower in your hair from the Hybiscus tree right from your own garden. The pool water is tepid like a bath, I don't normally go in the water, but I went in every day, I loved it.
We met some lovely couples, and I plan to keep in touch with them. Embrace the experience, join in the activities and relax/unwind and be prepared for a holiday trip of a life time - it may even be a life changing moment for you ... (it is for me) !

Room Tip: It will not matter which Villa you have, they are all beautiful and have WOW views of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We have been to a number of resorts in Fiji and this is our first visit to Vanuatu. We selected Eratap Resort based on the excellent comments on Trip Advisor, and we have not been disappointed in any way! From when we were greeted, through to the personal introduction about the resort, beautiful villas, fantastic snorkelling off the beach... Motorised boats are available to take you further out at no additional cost, you just need to book in. It is amazing and we will be back. The food is also restaurant standard which is not what we've had before. Just wonderful.....

Room Tip: Book early or you may miss our as the are only 12 villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here as a family in July 2013 (where has that time gone...). I purposely delayed my review because I wanted to reflect on the experience but did not intend to delay it this long. Neverthless, the recollection remains fresh. Here is some things worth being aware of before I comment on the resort itself. The fairly lengthy unsealed road leading to the resort is worth a mention. It is a shocker with pot holes all over the place meaning plenty of swerving to avoid them and plenty of bumps where they cannot be avoided and the van travelling it with you has no suspension to speak of. If you have a bad back, trust me it will not be helped by the road journey - and even if you don't it might well put you off venturing out of the resort again until you have to leave. Not that there is much to venture to: you will not miss much (or anything) if you did not visit Port Vila itself. I thought the town was charmless, with the notable exception of a lovely gift shop owned by an Australian woman the name of which I forget I am sorry to say. So, this became quite simple for us: a resort holiday. What a resort, though. We loved it. Stylish, relaxing, lovely villa, wonderful food, lovely people, a great pool, stunning lagoon in which we swam and kayaked, tiny islands easily visited for half day adventures. We were so relaxed that our fears that we would feel a bit trapped here (after realising that there really wasn't much else in Vanuatu for us than the resort) proved to be spectacularly unfounded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eratap Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.