We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eratap Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eratap Beach Resort
Save
You added Eratap Beach Resort to your Saves list
PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

As many have already stated, we wondered if the reality would live up to the reviews. It has and it did.

Eratap is stunning, but what makes it truly beautiful, is the people.

From the minute we were picked up from the Airport by Ced and Ben, to the trips done with Robert and Mack to the Village and seeing how coconut oil is made, from the wonderful service provided by Rose, Andre, Melani, Yvonne, Walter, Georgina and the others in the restaurant, to the gentle hands of the staff at the day spa, and to the bright and cheery hellos of any person you came across at the resort, every interaction with the Ni Vanuatu people was joyous, kind and caring. We felt like we were the only people there, and Tony (the owner) and Pascale are to be commended on the warmth and graciousness of the people in the resort.

The facilities are also superb. We stayed in Villa 2 (2nd from the Bar/Restaurant), and were initially concerned that we may have noise from other guests. The concerns were completely without warrant, as the privacy of all the Villas and their surrounds, ensures that you are not disturbed at all. Our villa was spotless - huge shower/bathroom, large lounge area and beautiful bedroom with a view to our own private piece of paradise. Walk out the door, 20 steps, and you are in your own beach hut. Another 10 steps and you are at the waters edge, where snorkeling on the reef provides a wonderful spectacle.

There is no need to leave the resort for Port Villa unless you really want to. Each day has an activity planned (at no additional cost), and you can choose to participate if you wish. The activities are generally of a cultural nature, and are a wonderful opportunity for you to meet the local villagers, and gain an understanding and appreciation of their day to day life.

The road in is bumpy, but this is part of the attraction. You feel truly isolated, but the reality is that you are only a 20 minute picturesque ride from Pt Villa if you do want to visit. We did a trip to the Mele Falls (Cascade Falls), which is not to be missed, although I would hesitate to do it on a day that a cruise ship was in town.

Food is superb, with plenty of variety for all, and are all reasonably priced.

Its not often that we visit somewhere and want to return immediately. Eratap is one of those places, and I look forward to the chance of revisiting at some stage soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 2, and it was so quiet and peaceful. The only sound you hear at night is the wav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
108
306
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

After reading many of the reviews of this resort we thought it would be hard to live up to the standard indicated by former reviewers. Guess what, not only did it live up to the reviews but exceeded our expectations. From the setting, the food, the staff, the accommodation all were superb. Surfing with Tony and fellow guests,the Village tour, snorkelling and other water activities were great. All of the staff on the resort were wonderful with a ready smile and happy hellos.We could do no more than highly recommend this wonderful experience. Our stay was also highlighted by meeting and enjoying the company of four great people who we will remain in contact with. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 11 The Honeymoon villa, deserved that after 42 years married, what a treat. All V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It's a great Hotel, perfect for couples in love!
Great details! I've stayed in Pool Villa number 9, which has a nice situation, with amazing sunsets and the Villa itself is very big, clean and everything you need is there for you!
The only thing it's not so good it's the beach, full of reefs. (good for snorkelling...!!!) But if you like to go to the beach, the Hotel has a private little boat (included in the Hotel price) that can take you to one (or both) of the two private islands that are situated just in front of the Hotel, 5 minutes away from the Hotel!. So cool!!! Breakfast is fabulous and dinner is very good quality and perfect service. Only thing is that they don't make any table reservations so don't go too late for dinner or you'll miss the best tables in the sand! The second day I was there, i asked to book one of the best tables and the lady that was in the restaurant told it was ok, but when we arrived to have dinner, the table was occupied and another member of the staff told me that her colegue had made an error because she was not supposed to book the table. Not very nice, but....ok! They could have told me before, because if I knew that i could have arrived a bit earlier.
In conclusion, the Hotel is a very good one! Thanks for the wonderful stay! And there were no kids! Fantastic!!!!! They also provide a mini bus (every morning at 10..00am to take you to town. Go and make some shopping in the tourist market, and visit the fruit market!. The town itself it's nothing special!

Room Tip: My Pool Villa was number 9! Just...perfect! Absolute privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's all been said before, but that's because it's all true. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a welcome fruit cocktail and a personal orientation, we felt relaxed and welcomed. By contrast to many other places where we have stayed, the strength of this place - apart from its obvious beauty - lies with the staff. Everyone is friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They even forwarded our luggage to our next resort while we journeyed to Tanna. The food and wait staff quickly learn your details and preferences. The restaurant menu is varied, with daily specials in case you get bored (unlikely). Breakfasts are fresh and plentiful, with thick, homemade bread, fresh fruit and a divine homemade toasted muesli, topped with yogurt and fruit. After your breakfast, there is plenty to do. There is a shuttle bus to Port Vila each day, along with a different daily activity. Or maybe you want to hang around the resort, where there is everything from relaxing by the pool to kayaking to investigating the billiard table. There is a day spa too, which usually has a daily special so you can indulge for a little less...

The accommodation consists of your private 2-wing villa with its own sun deck and beach hut. The extra outside shower is great and it's a novel experience to shower with the sun on your back. You can have a bath with candlelight, whilst looking through the cutouts to the beach beyond. We stayed in Villa 5, which is a two bedroom, two bathroom (3 with the outdoor shower!) configuration. The bed is much more comfortable than my own one and I slept soundly. There were just a few tiny additions I would make. There are only 2 cups and 2 glasses, so a glass in the bathroom or by the bed is a bit more difficult, and please could we have an extra saucer so there is somewhere to put used teabags? And a teatowel to dry the cups when we reuse them. There is a great selection of teas, but a biscuit or two would be welcome with our cuppa. Having said that, I know we would only have to ask.

Best of all is the splendid isolation. Because it is way off the beaten track, there is little noise, no traffic and no security problems. This is also a disincentive to spend time anywhere else, since taxis are expensive and will not always travel that far, especially at night. The absence of children was a plus for us, and this was a contrast to the resort where we spent our final night (closer to the airport due to early flight).

Pros - Splendid isolation, wonderful views, friendly staff
Cons - also the isolation.

Room Tip: No room is bad. Even the one closest to the reception does not suffer excessive noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I booked this week at the Eratap for our 30th anniversary and everything we were looking for was here. We could have spent our time relaxing around the villa or the pool or the beach, or we could have explored our immediate environment and village, plus do all the water activities provided. We decided to do a little bit of everything and enjoyed every minute. The staff are friendly and helpful, and we met other guests who we spent many enjoyable hours eating, drinking and relaxing with. We would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a real escape from the stress of every day.

Room Tip: we had a one bedroom which was great. Friends there had the honeymoon villa which was fabulous. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Eratap is the perfect place to relax, where the grind of daily decision making comes down to which lovely spot to plonk yourself next. It could be by the beautiful pool, looking out over gardens and sea or out on the small island, where the lee side looks Maldivian ( crystal clear water, fine white sand beach) and the windward side is lined with coral, which you can drift over, emerging at a perfect sand spit. Stay out there as long as you like. The surrounds of your own villa, with its own private beach shelter and sun deck, is no shabby option either, particularly at sunset.

Or you could visit the cracking, belching, scary and absolutely incredible volcano on Tanna. Or take a stroll along the dusty streets of Port Vila and poke around the beautiful food market. Wander along the road from Eratap in the late afternoon and reflect on what men walking towards you carrying machetes and axes would mean in your home context. Here they're just out collecting the makings for dinner.

By now, given the number of excellent reviews here, I think you can be confident that this place is very, very good. It does everything near perfectly ( and I only say near, because surely they must do something a little wrong - but we didn't see it). The physical assets of the place are superb , but the staff are what really sets it apart. Nothing is a problem; smiles and thoughtful suggestions abound.

The combination of the perfect place to stay with no need to leave the resort (if that's what you're after), with a fascinating culture, amazing landscape and only 3.5 hours from Sydney is unbeatable. It is expensive , but a similar standard of accommodation and facilities in Australia would be three times the price. It's worth every cent.

Like all islands, weather is not perfect all the time so don't expect to be able to be water-based every day. Not a lot of options for good exercise when the weather's bad - you can run the road (flat)...... Or eat less, which is unfortunate given the good food available.

Menu is varied, food quality good. You can eat by the pool, at your villa, in the lovely restaurant area - your choice. A Margarita in a coconut, drunk in a lounge by the pool, with softly swaying palms overhead and quiet music playing in the background is a good option.

It's hard to think of any significant improvements that could be made here. Eratap will certainly be our 'go to' destination for a totally relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had Villa 10 which was gorgeous. The plunge pool was too cold to comfortably use, but was beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived, I knew we would love it. It's a long, bumpy, dusty drive to Port Vila, but once you arrive, there's no need to leave, and why would you? The rooms actually surpassed my expectations from the website, spacious, airy and light, and beautifully clean. The pool was huge, and lovely, and never crowded (I don't see how it could be with so few rooms in the resort). There was enough choices on the menu that even the fussiest eater (myself) was well fed all week, and the food was lovely. Also, every night there are specials according to what's available that day.

Daily activities were a bonus, we took a trip to the Big Island with Mack and later visited Daniel's house to see the way they make coconut oil for sale. There were plenty of options like kayaking and snorkelling, and if you wished to be taken anywhere offshore in a boat, all you had to do was request the service. These activities and the restaurant were also great places to get to know the other guests in the resort, who were almost uniformly great people and good for a chat or a casual drink.

I could go on about the resort, but the thing that makes it was the staff. They seem genuinely happy to be there and look after you, not merely polite. They always greet you as you walk through the resort, and ask how your day was at the evening meal. When we left, there were hugs all round and I was genuinely sad to leave my new island family behind - as that is how they had made me feel. Hats off to Tony, Pascalle, Wendy and all the staff. We'll be saving our pennies to return!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eratap Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.