We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eratap Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eratap Beach Resort
Save
You added Eratap Beach Resort to your Saves list
PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Mena Creek, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Couples retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon in August 2012. We really couldn't fault the place. The managers and staff were so friendly and the location was stunning. We stayed in one of the 2 honeymoon villas which was extra special with our own plunge pool and beach access. The food was the best we had in our whole 2 weeks in Vanuatu. We'll have to come back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
299
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Eratap for our honeymoon in October 2012. We chose Eratap because of the glowing reviews on trip advisor. Even though I had read almost every review, and, as a result, had high expectations of Eratrap, the resort STILL managed to exceed my expectations. It was amazing. We stayed in honeymoom villa 11. I would highly recommend his villa. It is slightly more expensive, but worth it. I have read some reviews that have suggested that it is not private. It backs onto the ocean and you have your own beach so you will see people swim past out the back but there are only 12 villas on the resort and Tony has exclusive use of that ocean area so I think it's as private as you can get. The staff at Eratap are so incredibly friendly. Nothing is too much trouble, even bringing cocktails to us in our private gazebo behind our villa. The snorkelling off Eratap is excellent. The food at Eratap is amazing and very reasonably priced. Eratap is a good 20 min drive from port villa but that doesn't matter. In fact, we would have preferred to stay at Eratap for the whole week we were there rather than even spend a few hours of our week visiting port villa. We will definitely be back to Eratap and would recommend it in a heartbeat to anyone visiting Vanuatu. Thanks Tony, Pascal and the team for all your hard work!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Everything that has ever been written about this resort is spot on. Yes, it's pricey and it's not a 5 star resort but it's all worth it. We stayed in Villa 11 and loved the fact that to the right of us, we had the lagoon and to the left, we had the ocean. We took advantage of all their gear - kayaks, snorkelling, paddle boards, etc. All is included in the price you pay and seeing as Villa 11 is so secluded with it's own beach front, we felt like we were on our own isolated island. I loved everything about it and the memories will live on forever. The staff are fantastic, the food amazing and the weather treated us so well. Not one single bad day sometimes cloudy but only for a few hours. Try the picnic on the island, make sure you go to the waterfall, try all the dishes, they are all very good and the chocolate mousse is to die for! Believe me, this is heaven on earth, you will not be disappointed! We stayed in Villas 9 and 11 and couldn't have been happier. For our first island experience, we couldn't have asked for more. Thanks to all the staff, you are brilliant and you made it all worthwhile. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Villa 11..........the best!! Secluded beach, makes you feel like you are on your own island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We just came back yesterday from a week in this beautiful resort. Everything there is perfect. the ground is gorgeous with coconut trees, flowers everywhere. The villas are very well kept and are very spacious. Nice bathrooms. The snorkelling in front of the villas and restaurant is fantastic. The best we have done in a long time. Lots of nice corals and fish. You can ask for one of the staffs to take you to one of the surrending islands and have a picnic on a deserted beach. Great experience. The restaurant is nice and food great. Cocktails are great too... Try the Frozen Coconut Margarita! But what we loved the most about our stay was the staffs. They were so friendly, and happy. Nothing was too much trouble. Always a smile on their faces and a nice word to say to us. Thank you so much Roberto, Rose, Georgina, Yvonne, Tony, Andre and everyone else at Eratap for such a wonderful stay. We will definately recommend you to everyone we know heading to Vanuatu and we will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Me and hubby visited this fantastic place in January 2013 for 7 glorious nights. The hotel resort is all it says and more. I have read the recent reviews and everyone is spot on. The 7km dirt track is a very bumpy experience but to be honest you only really need to go on it twice - once in and once out! We visited Port Vila to go get some bottles of wine for our afternoon drink watching the sun set in our private beach bure -(every villa has them). Port Vila in my opinion is not really worth another trip, 15 mins all done! Back to the resort, from the moment you arrive you are one of the family. Pascalle is an excellent manager and all the staff are just great and friendly. Rose makes a mean margarita and little Yvonne is just great. The food is excellent and a big variety of choice, they also have specials on lunchtime and dinner, so just when you have figured out the menu along comes something else to change your mind again! The prices are Aus prices, you are looking at no more than $20 for lunch and $25-$35 for dinner plus desert etc. The villas are excellent and spacious, outdoor shower as well as indoor. Seating area inside and out, loungers and your own private bure on the beach. All TV channels are same as Australia incl UKTV and Lifestyle - i know i know so much to do and watching TV but good for when back in the villa at night when a full belly! The spa is the best! $50 AUD for 1 hour massage. They have activities on during the day and night like the village walk, island walk, etc. The village was great and an experience not to be forgotten. Twice a week the resort has entertainment, fire dancers - fantastic, and a cultural show. All free and happens during dinner. Our flight was delayed and Pascalle kept us informed the whole time and did not send us to the airport until the 2 hours before the new scheduled departure time. We were able to stay at the resort and enjoy everything as though we had paid for the day. You must do the snorkelling - their little boats are free and take you whereever you want in then nearby vicinity - either to castaway beach - or we went to a 30m drop off to snorkel. It was like swimming in an aquarium. They have equipment for you to use for the whole stay and free of charge. I cannot praise this little resort highly enough. We were villa 7 and had privacy just like every other villa. I have posted a few photos too. couple of negatives: The towels were very thin and old. Surely with 12 villas and the price of the accommodation you would get better quality towels. The dining area was spectatular, but there was no where inside to eat, and if you jump at everything like I do, we had eat whilst still relatively light to avoid the bugs. Also any bottled water after the initial bottle had to be paid for - that said, there is a water cooler dispenser free of charge to fill up your existing bottle but sometimes this tasted smoky... However, after 7 days constant eating and drinking we were never ill at any time so it must be OK!!

Pros: Everything except the 3 cons below
Cons: Towels are like rags, you would think that these would be better quality.
No indoor dining to escape the bombardment of flying insects at night, you had to pay for bottled water.

Would we visit again or recommend ? You bet we would.

Room Tip: Room 7 is just at the end of the beach - great for viewing the sunset. However, all rooms are excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPVan, Owner at Eratap Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Diane B,
Thank you for your very kind review and we are all so glad you enjoyed your time at Eratap.
I just wanted to quickly respond regarding the towel situation at the Resort as It has come up a few times in recent reviews.
We replaced our entire stock of towels in July 2012 using the same supplier we had always used. For some reason the new towels we received seemed to wear much faster than previous orders, we are not completely sure why and nor is the supplier but it could be the new washing machines that we had installed in our new laundry. Anyway we then placed another order in October 2012 and received the container of new towels in early January 2013 (it was, not surprisingly, delayed!). Hence we have now replaced the entire stock of towels again and are hoping this order works out better, we have also changed our supplier of washing powder and fabric softener in a bid to provide a better quality result. Please also bear in mind that water in Vanuatu has an extremely high calcium content which makes producing consistently fluffy towels almost an impossibility despite all the fabric softeners and other water softening techniques we use. None the less we agree that "hard" towels is not a plus and we are doing our best to change that.
We look forward to seeing you again back at Eratap one day and thank you for taking the time to post this review
All the best
Tony Pittar
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The brief given to my travel agent: A very Special anniversary requiring a very special holiday to commemorate, and we needed a private place to chill out and be together after a tough year. Must be max 6 hours flying from Sydney and max 1 hour from destination airport and we didn’t want to go to yet another “McHotel” or “McResort”.
A number of recommendations were made, Vanuatu was chosen as we had not been before – and Eratap Beach resort recommended as the best venue in Vanuatu. (3 and a bit hours flying time + genuine 30 minutes from airport).

We stayed 25-30 January 2013 – we have nothing but praise over this holiday. We cannot recommend this resort enough and we will return (though in future using it as a base to explore Vanuatu) .

It is small (12 villas) which are fairly private, well maintained and presented, the grounds are immaculate, the food excellent (superb), the staff are very friendly and take a genuine pride in their work. You can be free to do as little as you wish, or you can do some excellent Kayaking or Snorkelling. We also went on Sunday to the local village and Church on Wednesday did a tour of the local village with the son of the chief – both excellent cultural and spiritual experiences.

In closing I will make 4 comments to assist any perspective traveller to the resort:
1 – On arrival you may be picked up in a 4WD ute and you will travel the last 7 kms on a dirt road. Don’t let this first impression put you off!
2-Do the village and church tour. We also went to Port Villa. Frankly, Port Villa is nothing to write about – but hey you can say you have been there.
3-Food is expensive in Vanuatu (think Sydney prices and then at time plus some) – but the food (and drink) at Eratap is well worth it. Focus on the beef (local beef is brilliant) and the pullet steamed fish (local) and for desert the Coconut and banana. We ate exclusively at the resort and did not tire of their food.
4-The snorkelling is fantastic – the coral is literally at the shoreline and a Kayak (either in the lagoon or open ocean) is great. Their Kayaks are good, I bought my own snorkelling gear-but they do have their own which is fair. If you intend swimming in the ocean (which is great) bring good quality sea shoes. They do have some fair quality shoes – but you really need a good quality pair as the coral grit will bite your feet. There again, you could just veg in the pool which is more than fine!
In short, yes this will cost, but it is excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 10 which is next to its own "private" beach. Apparently this is to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I think this sums up the trip: I was actually in tears when I left. So was Jenny and Robert.
I have been sitting on this review for a year and had no words to describe our trip. It was a sick-leave recovery trip, you know a trip primed to help me get over long term sickness. It did all that and more. It is a bit far from other resorts and pain to get to, but that is part of the charm. The charm starts when Robert picks you up at the airport with his big gleaming smile and WELKAM!
What I liked/loved about this place:

1. Only a dozen villas which meant you get the utmost privacy
2. All the staff know who you are and there is genuine interest and care in your wellbeing. On one of the roadtrips to town, I told Robert I was going to hunt for mangoes. When he picked us up at 200pm, he gave me a bag!
3. Having the option of AC, fresh sea breeze and fan (yes yes i am bourgeois)
4. Food on offer is varied. As such, no point going anywhere
5. The staff are on the ball, smart and genuinely caring. Gawd I miss them.
6. Beautifully decorated villas, and more than enough spots to swim and snorkel (though it is really hard to get on the floating jetty, if you are clumsy like me)
7. Safe!
8. So much to do!

What I dont like: at $500, it makes it hard for me to return every year.

Tips for future visitors:
1. Bring reef shoes
2. There is a local school in Eratap which runs out of supplies. If you have space in your luggage, bring pencils, exercise books, childrens books, soft toys, balls of all shapes and sizes
3. There is a tip jar in Eratap: there isnt a tipping culture as such but this goes into the staff fund. Failing that, they do a wonderful job, so bring them some chocolates, OZ tshirts

When can i go back? When my financial situation permits.

Room Tip: Choose a vila away from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eratap Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.