We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining Delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Pearl Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Black Pearl Suites to your Saves list
The Black Pearl Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuna Road | Sopu, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Shepparton, Victoria,Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dining Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Although we did not actually stay at this establishment, we were recommended to this Hotel as a place for good food and good service. The setting was delightful, a table on an enclosed verandah overlooking the sea. The staff were excellent - being attentive and happy to explain the menu and food that was available. It was our first visit to Tonga, and was organised as a surprise to my partner. We were delighted with the experience, and hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
15
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner was in Tonga on business and we turned the trip into a short holiday. We stayed here for a week and were sad to see that, although the hotel is relatively new (apparently only about four years old) it is looking very tired. In our room six of the lights and the fridge did not work, The shower had lost its "sprinkler" function and was just a spout of water. Towels were very basic. For the kind of money charged the breakfast was very minimal (toast and jam, very basic cereals, some slices of fruit and instant coffee)

We ate in the restaurant on one evening and frankly the meal was also very poor. This is a real shame because the building is potentially great. It is not entirely true (as claimed by the hotel) that it is "on the beach" because there is a road between the hotel and the sand. We were not aware of anyone using the beach - it did not look particularly inviting. The staff were nice enough but it is definitely charging way above the value of the accommodation and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindale, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel was clean and met our needs and staff were friendly. The view from the balcony was nice accompanied by a refreshing breeze. There is shuttle service available for a fee and well worth the price. Danny was our guide for the day and he helped get us to and from the airport. We were made to feel welcomed and we appreciated the friendly way we were treated. I highly recommend this hotel while you are in Nuku'alofa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worsley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

The accomodation at The Black pearl Suites is first rate. The rooms and all public areas are very clean and comfortable and very spacious. The facilities in the rooms are of a good standard. Olivetti and her daughter Darcey are wonderful kind people who cannot do enough to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable possible. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a huge smile!!! Breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. Although out of town we hired bikes from the shop next to Tia Maria bar very good daily rate at 10 top a day but the longer you have them the cheaper it gets. The ride which is beautiful every day into town only takes about 10 mins and who can beat that commute to town!!! The added BONUS to myself and my husband was NO CHURCH BELLS waking us up at 5am every morning!!!! We spent a few nights in town but the churches although lovely are on nearly every street corner you turn and unless you are a very heavy sleeper you get woken every morning!!!

Room Tip: Executive suites are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel offers at “at home” feel to its guests. There is a genuine touch in the warmth and care expressed by the staffs here. I always found everyone smilingly carrying out their duty. The hotel services were highly appreciable. The room was clean and nice. The location is peaceful so I had a quality sleep during my stay at the Black Pearl. I heard a neighbor room friend mention that this hotel was the best in that place, for he had stayed at many places before. The restaurant out here serves great food. My lovable stay at this place became more memorable with the friendship I made with my neighbor room person. We went to the restaurant together often for our meals. I still have contact with him.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

The lovely welcoming staff and the clean friendly atmosphere of the Black Pearl helped us to feel at home in a very short space of time.
We loved Tonga, we loved the hotel and especially the staff and all the Tongan people. Thanks for a really good, unforgetable week.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Hotel services was great and the rooms/restaurant are really nice, although it is very expensive. Do not book the room online because this service is outsourced to a travel agency that it will send you the confirmation, mentioning that breakfast and pick-up service is included in the price, and that is not true. It caused us a big discussion with the hotel staff, that anyway are really nice people

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Black Pearl Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Pearl Suites

Address: Vuna Road | Sopu, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Pearl Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Black Pearl Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Pearl Hotel Nuku`Alofa
The Black Pearl Suites Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Pearl Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.