We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular place - with good reason!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Rossa

Luna Rossa
Lagoon Lodge, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
676 26324
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Nuku'alofa
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tel: +676 26 324
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Popular place - with good reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've never been here on a "quiet" day - and I'm pretty sure they don't have any! The sashimi with Marco's secret sauce is to die for - since the first time I had it years ago...it's always my benchmark for sashimi where-ever I am. I've never had an "average" meal here - they are all beautifully made and simply delicious. Ana and Marco are exemplary hosts - it was at least 4 years since I was there last and they still remembered my name! - how's that for service. The staff are excellent and super attentive - and with great memories too! - we were a table of 10 and the waitress remembered our orders off by heart and distributed them to each of us personally without needing to be prompted! - and there is a beautiful breeze flowing off the lagoon that drifts through the restaurant - really lovely place to be every single time :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“One of the best on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We ate here and found it good in all respects. Cheaper than Little Italy and much better food & service.
The sashimi was great, the grilled mahimahi with choice of sauce very good too. Service is quick even when busy (which it is every weekend).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
“The Best Restaurant in Tonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The food is amazing,,,,,,,,,i love the suaces that this restaurant use......all food is excellent.

Whwn it comes to service, .....Luna Rossa is the best in the Kingdom of Tonga....!!

Well done Ana and Marco,

I will be back again soon.....!

Ofa atu,,,,,,Malo

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere man
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Best in Tonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Sauces are what this restaurant is all about, and they can turn an average cut of meat (which unfortunately is the rule in Tonga) into something special. Interesting seafood entrees, good service and great lagoon aspect top off what is the best restaurant in Tonga. The only drawback is the remote location and pot-holed road to get here, otherwise I'd dine there more frequently.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

A great hidden gem which is off the beaten path. Excellent service and exceptional food. The lobster ravioli was as good as you get in Italy. The crepe suzette cooked in front of us with all the trimmings. In my opinion the best restaurant in tonga.lovely service to boot. If you are lucky you might get to sample the vanilla flavoured vodka or whiskey flavoured sultanas!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa also viewed

Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 

Been to Luna Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.