We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Emerald
Vuna Road, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
+676 24 619
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 25 Restaurants in Nuku'alofa
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Cheap standard Chinese fare - tough meet and over salted. Open most nights. Handy to waterfront. Can do takeaways.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Predictable But Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The wonton soup here is wonderful - fresh vegetables in a light broth and good-sized wontons. Main dish treats include the cashew chicken - you know what you're going to get, but you get what you expect. And the portions are tremendous - come prepared to take extra food home.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday haven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had lunch here on a Sunday afternoon being one of the few places open (and used it as a refuge from the intense sun outside). I think it was good, though I did hear some yelling coming from the kitchen which I thought was a little unprofessional. Food was great, drinks were cold, - overall fine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“do yourself a favour; find another place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I had eaten at this restaurant some months ago and it was fine. This time things were very very different.

1. some items on the menu are outrageously overpriced (at least where the local currency is concerned).
2. we ordered starter and main course and both arrived together. So basically by the time we got to our main course it was cold.
3. the service is pathetic. Another guest had joined us and we moved into a private room. Then they sort of just forgot about us. Every time we needed something one of us had to go out and inform the staff.
4. It also seemed that staff were not aware of what was available on the menu. One staff would say its available and then 15 minutes later when we would ask another staff would say the item wasn't available in the first place.

So, bottom line, do yourself a favour and don't go here. You might be disappointed since its really a hit and miss kind of place. There are other wonderful places to eat in Tonga. Don't let the decor fool you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Your basic oily gooy "brown sauce" chinese restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Large restaurant. Big menu. Lots of traffic. Reasonably priced. Clean

But generic oily food. No real sparkle in any dish

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald also viewed

Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 

Been to Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.