We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK FOR 1 NIGHT!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kukum High Way, Honiara, Guadalcanal Island 1298, Solomon Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Honiara
Dargaville, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK FOR 1 NIGHT!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

OK for 1 night. 1 small room with a small double bed and a shower that had seen better days! Air con was a bit smelly and noisy plus afew night critters flew in and flew out!!
Just as well as this was only a stop over to the Islands.
Reception wasn't the best! Alot of people buzzing about but really only 1 person who seemed to know what was happening!
We kinda new what to expect so our spectations were not high! We didn't know that Pacific Casino Hotel caters not only for travellers but for locals also. We met a lady who came for a holiday 6 years ago and has never left!
The room overlooked the pool and a chineese restautant. I totally recommend the chineese for dinner. The owner is also the chief and is great! You can't beat the sweet and sour pork.YUMO!
We only had a total of 2 nights in Honiara. Next time we come we will wing it and book when we arrive. We felt totally safe and we just loved what we did see.
The 1st morning we went for a 2 hour walk. We were amazed at the ships just parked up on the locals sections.The people were really warm and friendly.
Take a heap of water cause you will need it!

Room Tip: Book the rooms overlooking the pool. Might be abit noisy at night but the view is better than the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

There aren't a lot of places to stay in Honiara and this about middle of the road.

A/C worked, bathroom needed a good clean, staff were friendly and very helpful when asked. The dining room needs to be seen to be believed as it is decorated with large abstract tropical murals on all walls as well as a huge Grecian themed frieze.

We spent one night there on our way elsewhere and for that it was fine. If I was staying longer, I'd want something more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, budget comfort but good value for money long term. Ask for rooms along water which are newer and are fully tiled, have separate lounge rooms, and overlook ocean. Restaurant has great meals at cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were put up in this hotel for one night after a travel issue. Room was clean, cool and spacious (twin room). A/C worked well and much appreciated in the Honiara humidity! Pool was very clean as was the deck/dining area around it. Reception staff are wonderful and there is a cheap internet room. Restaurant food was great. Wouldn't want to spend more than a few days here, but was more than suitable for our needs.

Room Tip: If you don't like VERY long dark hallways, ask for a room closer to the middle of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We landed in Honiara and we supposed to fly to Seghe, but our plane was delayed until the next day so Fly Solomons put us up here for the night.

Room was quiet large with air conditioning in both the lounge and bedroom area but had to borrow a remote from another room as the batteries in our remote were flat.

Encountered the "shower of a thousand needles" in the bathroom - hard water had blocked a number of the holes in the shower head so the resultant streams from the shower head were kind of painful.

Generous menu selection and good service from the Asian restaurant. Drinks were cold and readily available.

Decent night of sleep on clean and comfortable bed.

Lots of cats around - one group were looked after by a lady at the hotel - skinny little island cats - just laying around kind of adds to the atmosphere.

Didn't get breakfast the next day as we had to leave at 6.30am - nothing was organised for this but we had to get the plane at that time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koror
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

So this was the third hotel I stayed at and finally feel comfortable. The Iron Bottom Sound was a little expensive for having lots of little problems and the west wing of the Honiara Hotel was jus disgusting. Sure I could spend four times more for the Heritage park but I am on business not a honeymoon. Not much to look at from the outside, rooms are basic but clean, I didn't notice any lingering smoke but did notice that many of the people who stay here do smoke. Food is decent, try the cheese sticks. Large pool patio area with bar open till 10, upstairs Captains bar open until 1A. It is a little out of of the town central and takes about 5-10 minutes for a cab ride (20SI$, about $3 U.S). Fast laundry service, nice staff and overall good stay.

Room Tip: Bottom floor cheaper but closed windows and no patio. The book up so plan ahead. Discounts for NGO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed at Pacific Casino Hotel for business for several weeks, as I was on a tight budget. Good food, good pool, good internet, and reasonable price per night, and the taxi cabs to town were always prompt and low cost. The place was burnt by rioters a few years ago, and after rebuilding the owners painted the outside the same ghastly salmon colour as before. The rooms to seek are upstairs facing the sea. Ground floor rooms are Smokers Last World haven - and really if you stay in one of these it is not necessary to smoke because what you breathe will do. Everything about the hotel is like an old fashioned Australian pub i.e. corridors and stairs are like a russian cruise liner - noise from the bar is there but not tooo bad - the food is huge portions and good at each meal. The full breafast would certainly be a farmers friend for size and it is all freshh cooked no tired 'ban marie' items at all. The Front desk rules are that the full amount for the stay must be paid in advance, even if using a credit card, and if you want to charge hotel services to the room, another small administrative hurdle must be gone through. The descriptor heading this review is wrong - the hotel has been fully open for business for over a year. Overall, everything needed is there with a smile - laundry - phone - room service - and The Pacific Casino Hotel is a place that is relaxed and where the hotel guest need not perform like a movie star to feel accepted - sure the Restaurant has non stop Christian music, but my room had a nie sea view and a quiet airconditioner and the power stayed on all the time and the hot water was really plentiful in the shower (after I removed the scale from the shower head with my small pointy scissors). I would stay there again, for its cheerful unpretentiousness and low cost - it wouldnt suit people who want a luxury holiday in a dream hotel but it was "what you see is what you get".

Room Tip: Highway side of hotel is cheaper but noisy at daytime - smokers delight on ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Casino Hotel

Address: Kukum High Way, Honiara, Guadalcanal Island 1298, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Honiara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Casino Hotel is a unique hotel situated on a wonderful Kukum Highway seafront, just beside Solomon Island's famous casino, Club Supreme. Surrounded by lush vegetation and overlooking the sparkling Pacific Ocean. The hotel is approximately 5 kilometers from the Honiara International Airport and 5 kilometers to the town's CBD. The hotel offers 151 spacious and comfortable rooms. All rooms feature IDD telephone, air-condition, satellite television channels, mini-bar, tea and coffee facilities and private bathrooms. Some rooms have their own lounge and in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Honiara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.