We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Honiara
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, great rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Of the Honiara hotels I think this one has the best location and possibly nicest rooms. Although I am always one to judge for myself, I had heard it compared to the heritage (where I have stayed also), but I was determined to view the Mendana with an open mind. And I found it to be really great. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and well maintained. The internet was wi-fi and not that crappy bumblebee they have everywhere else. Big plus.They have cold brew and several cuisines to choose from. The a la carte is alright, sort of the usual westernised fare that characterises many restaurants in Honiara: which is to say, kind of generic, unimaginative and hotel-ish, or in other words, what I expected.

For something a bit different, try the Japanese restaurant. The service is kind of surly but the food is pretty nice. If, like me, you thought there would be more fish on Honiara menus, then the Japanese will hit the spot. Also, I love organised/compartmentalised food, so Bento is an all time favourite. Note that you can also order the Bento of the day in the main restaurant - worth noting if you are sick of frozen veg.

Breakfast is just okay. I have a pathological wariness about lukewarm buffets and meat, so you might want to order the fresh cooked omelette. But also, hotel breakfast is just not to my taste anyway. I prefer just a strong coffee and some grainy toast with real butter. But what is always available is drip filter 'joe,' and bread so white it is practically a cake.

Now to the disclaimer part of the review. I stayed here on business. I didn't pay for anything except my own booze. And I am a fortunate person by many world standards, so feel like a bit of an ingrate saying anything critical. However, if you are paying for your stay, or are deciding between the Mendana and the heritage and aren't planning on spending a lot of time at the pool, choose this one. Its kind of half a dozen of one and 6 Of the other. But I think the staff, the layout and the Japanese just tip it in the Mendana direction.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can, it's quite lovely to hear the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    32
    20
    11
See reviews for
3
8
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

In short: worst value place I ever stayed at:

1- Old... No, geriatric. Worn out. Run down. Did I mention delapidated?
2- Service? What service. Lacklustre at best. You could also call it disinterested, careless, arrogant...
3- Food is undescribable... I mean that literally
4- Internet? What internet? Oh, the 10 Euro / 2 hours internet that can't send a 154 kb attachment...

Stay away, until the management of this place learns its lesson, it really is this bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Once, this place was the best in town. But, no longer---not only has it been overtaken by competition (ie, the Heritage Park next door), little, if any, refurbishment appears to have been undertaken in the last decade. The place could be superb (given its location), but is run down and dirty--for the price, look elsewhere. Too many things about this property say.."if only...". The pool...if only. Instead, its a dilapidated area with scruffy plastic chairs..two beer cans rested in the parking lot my entire stay, a dead roach on a staircase for 2 days. Not a pretty sight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

While there are some redeeming features about this Japanese run hotel, it needs a complete makeover in order to make American travelers feel good about staying here. We stayed in room 422 and had to drag heavy luggage up many flights of stairs as there is no elevator. Rooms are very dated with marks and stains all over the room. Our door jammed at the bottom making it very difficult to remove the room key. The plastic key broke twice during our stay.

Bathroom amenities, TV, and frig were Ok and the bathroom was basically clean. The bath door opens such that if you are not careful you drop into the shower stall. Readings lights were poorly designed and the light switches are not marked. The sheets and bed smelled lightly of smoke. Although the room was big, there was just one small trash can and none in the bathroom. Frequent power outages were such that we could see it impacted JUST the hotel and not adjacent properties.

On the positive side the food at the hotel restaurant was quite good. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner and were quite happy with the buffets. If you can, stay a the Regency next door.

Room Tip: If there are better rooms I did not hear of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After having read previous reviews and seen some of the pictures posted by the dissatisfied ones, I made sure to confirm and reconfirm and confirm yet again that I would be given a Seaview East room. I was and found it absolutely satisfactory. Spacious enough, balcony facing the sea, quiet A/C, lovely bathroom with slate flooring. The best thing was the double bed with its lightweight summer duvet (no having to pull a drawsheet out from under the mattress along with all the other sheets just to get into bed).

Honiara is full of heat and dust so the Mendana was a nice haven to retire to at the end of a busy day. The only minor complaints: (i) the lobby was being retiled at the time and while some unlucky guests have to be staying there when this happens, more could have been done to minimise the spread of dust; (ii) the end rooms next to the yacht club can get very noisy if a party is going on at the club or mains power is down so that the club has to use its very noisy generator. Fortunately none of the problems was that persistent or severe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing but avoid the rooms at the yacht club end (they would be numbered end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I didn't know what to expect from Honiara, and was a little trepidatious but needn't have been. The Mendana does its best under difficult circumstances. The staff are helpful, and although the place is somewhat tired they seek to keep it scrupulously clean. My room was not one of the refurbished rooms - a ground floor garden room, but it was fine and actually better appointed than the place I had just stayed in Brisbane. The air conditioning worked well and I kept the doors closed, which kept out the insects (of which I saw very few). The wi-fi worked fine. I enjoyed the fresh fruit and drinking coconuts at breakfast. I think the key is to have realistic expectations and be cognisant of the challenges they're working with.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Perhaps I'm just too critical but...this hotel just didn't do it for me. The breakfast tried to be top class but just didn't cut it. The Capitana Restaurant was generally ok bu the Japanese restaurant was good. The staff need to be trained to meet the sort of quality one expects when paying close to US$200 a night.
The housekeeping is on a strange schedule - with tasks being done on a piece-meal basis (one person comes for the towels, another cleans the room, a third brings new towels 4 hours later - meaning you don't have a handtowel for the afternoon...)
The pool and outdoor areas may once have been classy but they just look tired now.
All in all, an OK hotel but for the price, it should be a lot better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel

Address: Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Honiara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solomon Kitano Mendana Honiara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.