We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavanipupu Private Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honiara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tavanipupu Private Island Resort
Save
You added Tavanipupu Private Island Resort to your Saves list
Tavanipupu island | Marau Sound, Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Honiara
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Thinking back over our travels during 2011 one memory stands out above the rest and that was our trip to Tavanipupu in the Solomon Islands. We have travelled to most of the world famous sites but the snorkeling around this island exceeded all previous dives in terms of colour and variety in totally clear water which is so warm that one can spend all day floating around observing sealife at its best. There are 6 spaceous thatched cottages and a central dinning room and bar. The chief is truely amazing producing sofisticated fare with very limited ingredients. An example of this is paw paw sorbet which when I make it is totally tasteless but in his hands became the ideal pallet cleanser. This can then be followed by freshly caught spanish mackrel in a coconut milk batter! I also fulfilled another of my dreams by catching a fish which does not increase in length every time I recount the story, and then having the same fish served up for diner an hour later. Now that what I call fresh fish. I would love to go back but the cost of getting there from Scotland is fairly horrific but still we can dream.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

If you are looking for a truly unique holiday/retreat destination, look no further. This private island resort is the perfect choice for anyone with a sense of adventure and a hunger for honest Pacific culture, who wishes to get away from the typical touristy scenes, the noise and bustling. We just soaked up the peaceful ambiance of this idyllic spot whilst listening to nothing but the wind rustling in the palms and the occasional squawk of the cockatoos. Snorkelling off the jetty offered fantastic interaction with the myriad of colourful reef fish. Despite it's remote location meals are top class consisting of freshly caught fish and locally grown vegetable and fruits. The wonderful Solomon Islanders who work at the resort did everything they could to make us comfortable. If you want an authentic experience this should be top of your list. We are so glad to have ventured to the Solomon's and hope to be able to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for Bure 4 but all rooms are close to the water and sheltered by palm trees. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

They say you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend.......and these are friends and memories to treasure for a lifetime. Paul and his staff have managed to find the perfect balance.....attentive service that doesn't encroach, luxury accommodation that retains a rustic appeal, but best of all a sense of home in paradise. Nothing is too much trouble to the wonderful team at Tavanipupu, the smiles are broad, the food sensational, the setting sublime. There are days that remain with you for a lifetime....and Tavanipupu gave me one of those days.....I will be forever grateful. Next time I'll be bringing my family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

With some of the Most Beautiful and Tranquil Settings of the Solomon Islands - including other private islands personally picked by the wonderful Pamela.

To the Most Impeccable Food and Service of the Amazing Manager Paul and team - Yes, The Best Cuisine in the South Pacific.

Tavanipupu is simply Paradise.

Or as their motto states - Paradise for the right people! Hell for the wrong ones!

From the moment I arrived and stepped off the boat, to the final luncheon and stepping back onto the boat to leave, the majestic feelings of tranquility, peace and happiness never stopped..... and will continue in my thoughts forever!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My second stay on this wonderful island. Wonderful accommodation, people, food and nature at it's best. Beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We travelled half way around the world from Scotland to discover the South Pacifc. The Solomons does not have a tourist infrastructure and can be challenging .. western travellers used to the Seychelles, Maldives or Bali. Tavanipupu was our third stop on our adventure
and we saved the best for last. It is .a true desert island with coconut palms, cockatoos, parrots and other tropical birds. It has the best snorkelling we have ever seen. The variety of soft corals is truely amazing. For amateurs the fishing is easy and Derek, the fabulous chef, will turn it into the freshest sashimi you will ever eat. Trips to other even smaller islands for drinks at sunset is a must too. If you are looking for air-condition, five star, twenty four hour room service, bulk standard luxury, Tavanipupu is not for you, but if you want a memory of the south seas that will stay for you forever, book up now before the Solomons becomes another Fiji or Bora Bora.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoniaraSmarter, Owner at Tavanipupu Private Island Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Just now realizing we can respond to the many wonderful reviews we've gotten. Will now respond to everyone!

People like you two are the reason we are here! You made us smile and warmed our hearts, thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We live in Honiara and I was looking for a very special way to celebrate my husband's upcoming 40th birthday. After extensive research of resorts both within the Solomon Islands and in neighbouring locations such as Fiji and Vanuatu, we settled on Tavanipupu Resort, which is a 25 minute flight from Honiara airport.

The holiday was so memorable from the moment we set off. Great flight over with amazing landscape of Guadalcanal, perfect weather and great fun landing on an airstrip that's just a cleared field in the middle of an island. A quick boat ride across to the resort where we were greeted by manager, Paul and staff and our adventure had begun. There was only one other family at the resort at the time and it felt like we had the entire island to ourselves. Perfect!

The bungalows are lovely and the huge canopy bed draped with white muslin was gorgeous. They brought in two extra single beds for our boys, each complete with their own muslin mosquito nets, which were accommodated easily in the large room. The bamboo screened outdoor shower at the back was a big hit with everyone too, though the water temperature was a little hard to regulate due to super-heated Pacific solar panels. The room has two fans and there are often lovely sea breezes but it can get hot at night.

We filled our days with swimming, snorkelling, jumping off the jetty near our bungalow, exploring the island, lying in the hammock, reading, eating and generally having an amazing time. We swam with schools of colourful fish, reef sharks, star fish, and even a local turtle (Snappy) who visits most days for a feed under the wharf. The boys also saw dugongs swimming in the cove, which was very special. Husband went diving, I had a massage over the water while watching the fishies underneath and the boys went on their first fishing trip, catching two big Wahu's. Lunch on a nearby deserted island, complete with chocolate cake, to celebrate the big day was magical. And the food is the best we've had in the Solomon Islands to date.

This island is not for everyone. No swimming pools with water slides, no kids club, no endless organised activities. Just peace and tranquility, lovely staff and the opportunity to spend time with your chosen special people in a postcard perfect setting.

Paul, our five days on Tavanipupu felt like two weeks. Thank you for helping to make it such a wonderful holiday and a 40th we'll never forget. TIll next time...

Room Tip: Ask for Bungalow 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tavanipupu Private Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavanipupu Private Island Resort

Address: Tavanipupu island | Marau Sound, Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Honiara
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tavanipupu Private Island Hotel Honiara
Tavanipupu Hotel Honiara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavanipupu Private Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.