We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“from Guest to Friend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavanipupu Private Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honiara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tavanipupu Private Island Resort
Tavanipupu island | Marau Sound, Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Honiara
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“from Guest to Friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

They say you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend.......and these are friends and memories to treasure for a lifetime. Paul and his staff have managed to find the perfect balance.....attentive service that doesn't encroach, luxury accommodation that retains a rustic appeal, but best of all a sense of home in paradise. Nothing is too much trouble to the wonderful team at Tavanipupu, the smiles are broad, the food sensational, the setting sublime. There are days that remain with you for a lifetime....and Tavanipupu gave me one of those days.....I will be forever grateful. Next time I'll be bringing my family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
35
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

With some of the Most Beautiful and Tranquil Settings of the Solomon Islands - including other private islands personally picked by the wonderful Pamela.

To the Most Impeccable Food and Service of the Amazing Manager Paul and team - Yes, The Best Cuisine in the South Pacific.

Tavanipupu is simply Paradise.

Or as their motto states - Paradise for the right people! Hell for the wrong ones!

From the moment I arrived and stepped off the boat, to the final luncheon and stepping back onto the boat to leave, the majestic feelings of tranquility, peace and happiness never stopped..... and will continue in my thoughts forever!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My second stay on this wonderful island. Wonderful accommodation, people, food and nature at it's best. Beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We travelled half way around the world from Scotland to discover the South Pacifc. The Solomons does not have a tourist infrastructure and can be challenging .. western travellers used to the Seychelles, Maldives or Bali. Tavanipupu was our third stop on our adventure
and we saved the best for last. It is .a true desert island with coconut palms, cockatoos, parrots and other tropical birds. It has the best snorkelling we have ever seen. The variety of soft corals is truely amazing. For amateurs the fishing is easy and Derek, the fabulous chef, will turn it into the freshest sashimi you will ever eat. Trips to other even smaller islands for drinks at sunset is a must too. If you are looking for air-condition, five star, twenty four hour room service, bulk standard luxury, Tavanipupu is not for you, but if you want a memory of the south seas that will stay for you forever, book up now before the Solomons becomes another Fiji or Bora Bora.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoniaraSmarter, Owner at Tavanipupu Private Island Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Just now realizing we can respond to the many wonderful reviews we've gotten. Will now respond to everyone!

People like you two are the reason we are here! You made us smile and warmed our hearts, thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We live in Honiara and I was looking for a very special way to celebrate my husband's upcoming 40th birthday. After extensive research of resorts both within the Solomon Islands and in neighbouring locations such as Fiji and Vanuatu, we settled on Tavanipupu Resort, which is a 25 minute flight from Honiara airport.

The holiday was so memorable from the moment we set off. Great flight over with amazing landscape of Guadalcanal, perfect weather and great fun landing on an airstrip that's just a cleared field in the middle of an island. A quick boat ride across to the resort where we were greeted by manager, Paul and staff and our adventure had begun. There was only one other family at the resort at the time and it felt like we had the entire island to ourselves. Perfect!

The bungalows are lovely and the huge canopy bed draped with white muslin was gorgeous. They brought in two extra single beds for our boys, each complete with their own muslin mosquito nets, which were accommodated easily in the large room. The bamboo screened outdoor shower at the back was a big hit with everyone too, though the water temperature was a little hard to regulate due to super-heated Pacific solar panels. The room has two fans and there are often lovely sea breezes but it can get hot at night.

We filled our days with swimming, snorkelling, jumping off the jetty near our bungalow, exploring the island, lying in the hammock, reading, eating and generally having an amazing time. We swam with schools of colourful fish, reef sharks, star fish, and even a local turtle (Snappy) who visits most days for a feed under the wharf. The boys also saw dugongs swimming in the cove, which was very special. Husband went diving, I had a massage over the water while watching the fishies underneath and the boys went on their first fishing trip, catching two big Wahu's. Lunch on a nearby deserted island, complete with chocolate cake, to celebrate the big day was magical. And the food is the best we've had in the Solomon Islands to date.

This island is not for everyone. No swimming pools with water slides, no kids club, no endless organised activities. Just peace and tranquility, lovely staff and the opportunity to spend time with your chosen special people in a postcard perfect setting.

Paul, our five days on Tavanipupu felt like two weeks. Thank you for helping to make it such a wonderful holiday and a 40th we'll never forget. TIll next time...

Room Tip: Ask for Bungalow 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbabane, Swaziland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We have just spent Easter in Tavanipupu with our extended family group of 3 generations. You will not be disappointed. Tavanipupu is an idyllic gem miles from the rate race. We travelled by our own boat to get there but it is also a quick flight from Honiara.
While Tavanipupu does not encourage families they welcome well behaved kids...that is families who know how to play together, and chill together in a fabulous tropcal environment. Our kids loved it. Entertainment is not laid on but there is heaps to do from snorkling and swimming with the resident turtle, to kayaking, fishing, biking, walking, relaxing in hammocks, exploring the island and visiting remote islands. Really its the perfect place to slow down, unwide and just enjoy the surrounds and freedom from normal life.

The food is the best you will find and certainly the best you will find in Solomons. Every meal was a great surprise as the food was fresh and varied.
The rooms are gorgeous, generous in size, elegant but understated.
The staff provide typical Solomon Island, understated, gentle friendly service - not in your face, but ever there to help.

If you have managed to find Tavanipupu and are thinking about visiting - go for it. Solomon Islands is a hidden treasure and Tavanipupu is the best it has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Tavanipupu is as much a state of mind as it is a destination. And I don't mean to in any way denigrate the destination, because you can't reach the state of mind until you reach the destination. Although it's difficult to find adequate words to describe our experience there, "tranquil" comes immediately to mind, as does "serene", and even "elegant".

Tavanipupu exceeded every expectation I had for it, and I was expecting a lot. If you're considering a "get away from it all" tropical holiday, you won't find a better place for it. The hardest part will be leaving...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tavanipupu Private Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavanipupu Private Island Resort

Address: Tavanipupu island | Marau Sound, Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Honiara
Also Known As:
Tavanipupu Private Island Hotel Honiara
Tavanipupu Hotel Honiara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavanipupu Private Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tavanipupu Private Island Resort to your Saves list