We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koror
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterfront Villa
1036 Koror waterfront villa | PO Box 1036, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau   |  
Hotel amenities
california
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Never again! Unfortunately, our experience at Waterfront was not good. We would caution those traveling in groups to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Avoid this place at all costs. It was overpriced and unfriendly. Our credit card was charged $4000 US! There were also charges made against our credit card without our being informed. A final dispute over the bill on the final day led to the police being called in order to negotiate with the aggressive male owner of the hotel.

Palau is such a great place but this place should be avoided at all costs!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfrontvilla, Owner at Waterfront Villa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
The review "avoid at all costs" is misleading.
The review comment on a credit card charged of $4,000 charged to their credit card without them being informed.
The guest after checking in asked for only a few days stay, as time went by he added more people to his room, making it a triple and extending for more days stay.

On June 8, 2009, the guest asked to extend his stay and was billed for the extended days. The the amount of that invoice was $308.00 and was held against his credit card on file, check in form. It was a hold transaction, not charged. This credit card hold transaction had an approval code (404353).

Then upon check out while trying to settle his account, an error in punching occurred. From looking at the credit card HOLD transaction, the authorization code (404353) was erroneously keyed in placed of amount. this error was immediately corrected on the spot.

We have provide the copy of the credit card transaction
showing the HOLD transaction when it was made, not charge but a hold when he extended his stay. Also on that receipt of the HOLD credit card transaction, you can see the Authorization Code (404353) which is the same number keyed in erroneously in place of amount, but was immediately corrected on the spot by voiding the transaction within 3minutes, while the customer is still standing there.
We also have the copy of the check out transaction, where the error was made. Notice the time the error was made is 7:19am of 6/12/2009, and it was corrected on 7:22am of the same morning June 12, 2009.

We also have the copy of the correction of this error. Notice the time the correction was made is 7:22am of 6/12/2009. Within 3 minutes, the error was corrected.
After the error was recalled and void, the customer still left the hotel without paying his bills.Claiming we tried to cheat him. When we tracked them down later on that afternoon to collect the payment, they called the police saying we were bothering them.

Only when we showed the police that they still owed money to Waterfront Villa and have checked out without paying their balance due on their folio, ONLY then they came to Waterfront Villa to pay for their balance. You can see the last transaction time is much later in the afternoon at 4:51PM.

This last attachment dated 6/12/2009 showed the time 4:51PM when we finally received payment from them.

Transactions were charge accordingly, check in they sign a check in form and provide a credit card that charges made to their room can be held against that credit card number. When he extended his room stay, an invoice was issued in the amount of $308. This same amount was held against his credit card number on file. This is the transaction on June 8, 2009.

Aside from the HOLD transaction, you can see that each transaction and every transactions the guest was present with his credit card to process the transaction as the name of the card holder is indicated on each receipts. In order for the name of the card holder to be imprint on the credit card receipt, the card has to be physically swiped.

We never have physical access to any guest credit card, unless they present it for swiping-when processing a payment. So if the imprint shows his name on the credit card transaction slip the customer was present at the time of the transaction.

Hope these information will shed some light on this long over due misleading reviews.


Thank you again and we look forward to getting your response to this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agana, Mariana Islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

The Waterfront Villa in Koror, Palau is a small, very reasonably priced hotel for those needing a place to hang their hat in between dive trips. The main detriment of the place is it's location, which is the north end of Koror, further away from the Rock Islands and Peleliu than the pricier Koror resort hotels. The hotel has a pool and and a very good restaurant. The restaurant offers a limited, though tasty menu of reasonably priced steaks, chicken, and seafood. Internet access is available for a price and the owners offer airport pick up, drop off service, and rental cars. The rental cars are a bit pathetic, mine came with no gas, an insubordinate passenger door lock, and was in desperate need of an alignment. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful, though the staff (filipinas mostly) are limited in their English.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — not close to anything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2007

Staying at Waterfront Villa was a great experience and a great value.

In our research, most of the other hotels in Koror were offering a standard 200-300 square foot hotel room for $150 - $300/night. The 3 hotels we found below that price range looked pretty dubious online (and even more so when we got to Koror).

Since we are a family of 5, we were facing the prospect of renting two rooms or squeezing uncomfortably close for almost a week.

Then we stumbled across Waterfront Villa. They offered three types of rooms: a typical hotel room, a one-bedroom condominium and a two-bedroom version. The price of the two-bedroom condo was around $110/night (the smaller rooms were less), but that price included a military discount, so the price may be higher for you. This price included all room taxes and service charges. Better yet, it included a delicious bacon & egg breakfast each morning (for 5 of us)!

The owner/operators, Arnold & Jaime, are very friendly and honest. Everything about their hotel struck us as being clean, good quality, simple, and reasonably priced. Even the courtesy snacks they put in the room were only slightly marked up from the cost in a grocery store. They were very helpful for all of our requests.

The building itself is a 4-story L-shaped structure that faces the ocean. It actually sits on a small bluff and is flanked by mangroves, so ocean access isn't really practical from here - but the view is very pleasant. There is a small pool, gymnasium, and bar/restaurant.

The location is about 10 minutes outside the main hotel/restaurant district, but that was fine with us. We prefer the quiet atmosphere to the noise and pandemonium of downtown. It actually sat at the end of a cul-de-sac in a local village. We enjoyed driving through the village and meeting some of the locals, who were very friendly.

Bottom line is that this is a not a luxury resort, but if you're looking for a clean, quiet, affordable place to stay, you can't do better than stay at Waterfront Villa.

  • Liked — The value and the friendly owners
  • Disliked — The bathtub leaked
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterfront Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Villa

Address: 1036 Koror waterfront villa | PO Box 1036, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty lodging in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Villa overlooks the ocean and is tucked in a quiet Koror hamlet, with a short drive into town approx 5-10 minutes.Twenty one spacious fully furniture d rooms, along with a large kitchen that can provide the space and relaxation you need, weather you are alone, friends or with family. A fantastic small restaurant that offers unique tasty cuisine. The view looks on to the vast pacific ocean view with expectations to the most wonderful firing sunsets, which you can also enjoy while you are in the swimming pool at the Center of Waterfront. Also if you are an exercise fan, we provide a fully equipped Gym. We offer standard hotel rooms, condo style (1 & 2 bedroom, with kitchen & living, dining room). Laundry service and wireless internet access are available. We hope you come stay with us while visitng Palau. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterfront Villa Hotel Koror
Waterfront Villa Palau, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waterfront Villa to your Saves list