We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable bed ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penthouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koror
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penthouse Hotel
Save
You added Penthouse Hotel to your Saves list
P.O. Box 6013, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Koror
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most comfortable bed ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

hotel is in a good location, reception is gentle but not "warm". Definately the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pequannock, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My stay at the Penthouse was all I could ever ask for and more. I went with my dad a week ago and we didn’t expect anything too fancy, since we didn’t pay much for a room – an average $100. We were surprised about how much we enjoyed the stay! The rooms were clean, the staff was incredibly friendly, and the restaurant never disappointed. The hotel is right in the middle of Koror, so you are just a two minute walk from the grocery store and souvenir shops. Free wifi is offered in every room and there is a computer to use for free as well on every floor. The hotel also has books and magazines (recent ones!) that you can borrow to read. The food in the restaurant was unbelievably fancy and cheap!! A huge breakfast was only $6.50 total. Juliette, the reservation manager, was extremely friendly and responded to all of our emails regarding the hotel before the trip. She even invited us for a dinner the last night of our stay. Transportation to the airport was provided, which was on time. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Don’t even spend time looking at others, because the Penthouse offers a luxurious feel for an inexpensive price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is the high end of the non-resort category. No pool, just a very nice room and the services you would expect for something at this price point. The "gym" is just some jogging machines in a spare room. Convenient and reasonably priced laundry, with a do-it-yourself option.

The restaurant has quirky decor, but very good American breakfast (blueberry pancakes!) as well as some local and Asian options. I didn't have dinner there but was told the food is good.

Free wireless internet throughout the hotel, with a faster connection on a fixed line in the lobby of each floor.

Good service. My room wasn't ready despite checking in at 5pm, but they were nice about it and comp'd me a drink at the bar. Nice touch that the 5 star chains often don't think to do.

The beds are soft -- very soft. I happen to like that, but if you prefer a hard bed then you should check with them to see if they have that option.

This is a great hotel if you want a comfortable place to sleep and eat, but you are out touring during the day. It's not a place for hanging around. No views or anything like that.

GREAT massage place right across the street! Chi Yuen massage can arrange an hour oil massage for US$20. Clean, super nice people, and great massage.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, USA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Located within easy walking distance of several major shopping centers and many restaurants serving Japanese, Korean, Indian, Thai and Western food. Seems to be mostly used by businessmen and consultants. Nicely furnished, good sized clean rooms, quiet air conditioner, plenty of hot water. Pleasant staff and decent restaurant with way too tempting desserts. Airport pickup and delivery if notified in advance. Wifi in the rooms which varies from snail speeds to good enough for video Skype. Of the mid-range hotels in downtown Koror, the Penthouse seems about the best overall. For the tourist looking to dive, it is fine as a place to stay but you will need to arrange with a dive shop yourself as there is no tour desk. But the front desk does have the numbers of tour operators and dive shops so you can all and make arrangements without much trouble. They have a small event room suitable for 20 or 25 people and a "fitness center" with an old treadmill and a few dumbbells, not very interesting. There is no formal "business center" but the hotel office is across from reception and can assist with copying, printing and such.

Room Tip: If you want reliable WiFi, stick close to the stair well, not way down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at the Penthouse in Koror because we were arriving in the ealry hours ( 4am and after a long flight for the Uk via Seoul) we arranged a hotel pick -

but no one from the Penthouse arrived to collect us!!

This could have been a very stressfull start to our vacation, however a friendly driver from 'Fish and Fins' diving tours happened to be at the airport and gave us a lift to koror and to our hotel door (many many thanks to Norman!). The desk staff were apologetic at the Penthouse. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and cool (the beds are fantastic and soft) and the food is very good and at a good price. There is a beauty palour with a good massage service and beauty treatments.

Our 2 day stay was good due to the location (2 mins to all main attractions of Koror ) and we moved on to the Big Island. We did return for the last night in The Penthouse and they did deliver us on time to the airport for our early morning flight home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Nice place to stay while diving in Palau. Friendly staff, clean rooms, no bugs, no noise.
Restaurant ok for breakfast before diving. Downtown location good for walking to souvenir shops nearby. Slow internet, but I think that is true anywhere on Palau.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The workers are nice and friendly, especially Monique. When it was time for us to leave, they dropped us off at the airport in the early morning so we could catch our 2am flight. They have clean rooms. The hotel has a nice restaurant and bar. If requested, the chefs in their restaurant will cook food for you even if it's not on their menu.
They have Wi-Fi but the connection is slow.
I recommend this hotel. Affordable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 6013, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Penthouse Hotel Koror
Penthouse Hotel Palau, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.