We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stayed, just used the facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palau Pacific Resort

Save Saved
You added Palau Pacific Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palau Pacific Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO BOX 308, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Deal
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Koror
Talofofo, Mariana Islands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Never stayed, just used the facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

PPR really cater well to the tourist. I would have loved to have stayed but they were full. We stayed at the Caroline's instead which included being able to use their facilities. We stayed a day, snorkeling and also rented the paddle board for an hour which was fun. Nice shower outside to rinse off the salt! It is also worth just buying a day pass which was $50 with a $20 off voucher if you eat there ( great food). We ate there both lunch and dinner, we did book our dinner table which was needed as they were full up that evening. Staff are great, attentive but not smothering. Everything was cooked perfectly, even catering to our additional requests ( tuna cooked rare etc). Not the cheapest place but worth the extra money because of the surroundings, view and service.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    132
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
91
184
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nice but I would agree it isn't a 5 star, it is the nicest in Palau. I took a group of 26 people/divers and I asked to group us together the best they could in rooms that were close together. We were spread out all over the hotel, which ended up being OK. The hotel grounds are immaculate and the beach is amazing, it is the only real nice beach on the island. We had a bunch of rain which made it difficult to enjoy the resort fully.

The restaurant is pretty good, but remember you are on island time, so don't be in a hurry. The last group we brought, we stayed at the Sea Passion hotel which is about $1,500 less but does not have the beach and the hotel is not as nice. The people at the resort were nice to the group and we had no problem with rude hotel staff.

The dock was being redone, so we needed to be bussed over to Sam's Tours, which was a little inconvenient. Overall I would recommend the resort if you are looking a nice quite resort to enjoy.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you have many experiences staying REAL 5-star hotels, you will notice that this hotel is not really deserved for an "excellent" rate. Indeed, I think this hotel may be one of the best hotels in Palau, but I would not say this hotel meets cost and performance because rooms are not so spectacular, some of staff are not friendly at all and restaurants are overpriced. I felt they tried to scrape all $$$ from customers, instead of trying to provide best customer services.
もし5スターホテルの経験が多々ある方ならこのホテルがそれと同等の評価を得るに値しないホテルだとお解かりになることでしょう。 実際たぶんこのホテルはパラオでは最高級のホテルの1つだと思いますがコストパフォーマンスはあまりよくないと思われます 理由としては部屋が使い古し感が否めない、従業員教育がたぶんしっかりなされていない、レストランは笑ってしまうくらい馬鹿げた値段設定など。
お客へのサービスよりもどれだけお客から搾り取れるか考えているようなホテルの印象がありました

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Palau is a difficult destination to reach, but once there...... it's Eden-like. As scuba divers, we focused our trip their on a week-long live-aboard dive boat (the subject of another review), but we book-ended the yacht experience with a night at PPR before, and two afterwards.

A magnificent place, fabulous food on premises, great snorkeling, a beautiful beach, interesting walks, and a staff that understands great service. (I have read other reviews which criticize service, but that was not our experience). It is pricey, but when you figure that everything has to be flown or boated in over distance, it's not out of line.

I don't think another venue on Palau can match PPR on all counts. Comfortable, quiet, and rather large rooms. Internet access (including wifi) was free and easy. We had difficult flight times, but the staff was able to coordinate our needs wonderfully well.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pond are less expensive but lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Palau Pacific is one of the "better" hotels in Palau. It has a great location facing a beautiful beach and has a large garden with fish bond where you can feed the fish every day.
We had a room at the back for the first couple of nights, facing the congrete jetty. Not very pretty! It was quiet, but also very dark. After a few nights we moved to another family room facing he pool with lots of light and splendid views to the pool and the sea. Rooms are very basic but clean, the balcony spacious. They should consider refurbishing a little, that would make a huge difference!

Food wasn't anything special, it was greasy and they wanted to deep-fry everything. It was quite difficult to order vegetarian options and our veggie daughter ate the same tempura maybe 10 times during our stay! Luckily there are some good restaurants nearby, so after a few nights we decided to take a taxi and have dinner elsewhere.

The housekeeping and bar staff were the greatest, really friendly and hospitable. Unfortunately the personnel at the restaurant and front desk weren't as competent.

Our kids loved the pool and the fantastic beach, and there was always something nice for them to explore; kittens, chickens, frogs and plenty of fish. Management drink night was also lovely with great performers and drinks and nibbly bits on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I regretted spending the last 2 days here of a 7 day visit to Palau. The property landscaping and beach are gorgeous but the enjoyment was diminished by the inconsistent and mostly indifferent service--from the morning when I called to ask for a notation of a 12 noon arrival (where upon two different people told me that my room would be ready at 3 without ever asking for my name or reservation number) to beach attendants disrupting any tranquility by playing their own music to the evening buffet when the server couldn’t be bothered with a “hello” or “thank you”. Food items were mostly not replenished nor could the staff of the half-empty restaurant be bothered to clear away tables for new guests who wanted to sit ocean side. My almost $400 “ocean view” room had a partial view of a lagoon, not the beach side. The room itself was spacious but has not been updated and the bathroom in particular shows its wear and need for basic cleaning. More even than the ridiculous prices, I wish I had not spent my time here.

Better bet for your time and dollars is the Palau Royal Resort, which is beautiful in its own right, is less expensive and has staff who consistently provide genuine, attentive service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First, the good: PPR is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are nice and the food is excellent.

The bad: This hotel is run by people who care more about getting every last dollar out of you than ensuring you have a positive experience. A few examples: 1. when I ordered tomato soup at dinner and asked for a roll to go with it, I was told that a roll would be $2.50. 2. Our flight from Honolulu to Guam was delayed and, therefore, we missed our connecting flight to Palau. We immediately called PPR, but they informed us that they would charge us $400 for the "late cancellation". 3. After paying $22 for a breakfast buffet, I wanted to take a banana back to our room to eat during our morning dive, but was informed they would have to charge me separately for the banana. And the list goes on.

Just be prepared to be treated like a commodity as opposed to a person and you will do fine. For $400/night, you deserve to be treated better (just my opinion).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palau Pacific Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Pacific Resort

Address: PO BOX 308, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau
Phone Number:
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Pacific Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Palau Pacific Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Pacific Hotel Koror
Palau Pacific Koror
Palau Pacific Resort South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palau Pacific Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.