We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palau Pacific Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palau Pacific Resort to your Saves list
Palau Pacific Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO BOX 308, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Koror
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A bit of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Palau is a difficult destination to reach, but once there...... it's Eden-like. As scuba divers, we focused our trip their on a week-long live-aboard dive boat (the subject of another review), but we book-ended the yacht experience with a night at PPR before, and two afterwards.

A magnificent place, fabulous food on premises, great snorkeling, a beautiful beach, interesting walks, and a staff that understands great service. (I have read other reviews which criticize service, but that was not our experience). It is pricey, but when you figure that everything has to be flown or boated in over distance, it's not out of line.

I don't think another venue on Palau can match PPR on all counts. Comfortable, quiet, and rather large rooms. Internet access (including wifi) was free and easy. We had difficult flight times, but the staff was able to coordinate our needs wonderfully well.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pond are less expensive but lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    149
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
105
205
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Palau Pacific is one of the "better" hotels in Palau. It has a great location facing a beautiful beach and has a large garden with fish bond where you can feed the fish every day.
We had a room at the back for the first couple of nights, facing the congrete jetty. Not very pretty! It was quiet, but also very dark. After a few nights we moved to another family room facing he pool with lots of light and splendid views to the pool and the sea. Rooms are very basic but clean, the balcony spacious. They should consider refurbishing a little, that would make a huge difference!

Food wasn't anything special, it was greasy and they wanted to deep-fry everything. It was quite difficult to order vegetarian options and our veggie daughter ate the same tempura maybe 10 times during our stay! Luckily there are some good restaurants nearby, so after a few nights we decided to take a taxi and have dinner elsewhere.

The housekeeping and bar staff were the greatest, really friendly and hospitable. Unfortunately the personnel at the restaurant and front desk weren't as competent.

Our kids loved the pool and the fantastic beach, and there was always something nice for them to explore; kittens, chickens, frogs and plenty of fish. Management drink night was also lovely with great performers and drinks and nibbly bits on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I regretted spending the last 2 days here of a 7 day visit to Palau. The property landscaping and beach are gorgeous but the enjoyment was diminished by the inconsistent and mostly indifferent service--from the morning when I called to ask for a notation of a 12 noon arrival (where upon two different people told me that my room would be ready at 3 without ever asking for my name or reservation number) to beach attendants disrupting any tranquility by playing their own music to the evening buffet when the server couldn’t be bothered with a “hello” or “thank you”. Food items were mostly not replenished nor could the staff of the half-empty restaurant be bothered to clear away tables for new guests who wanted to sit ocean side. My almost $400 “ocean view” room had a partial view of a lagoon, not the beach side. The room itself was spacious but has not been updated and the bathroom in particular shows its wear and need for basic cleaning. More even than the ridiculous prices, I wish I had not spent my time here.

Better bet for your time and dollars is the Palau Royal Resort, which is beautiful in its own right, is less expensive and has staff who consistently provide genuine, attentive service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First, the good: PPR is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are nice and the food is excellent.

The bad: This hotel is run by people who care more about getting every last dollar out of you than ensuring you have a positive experience. A few examples: 1. when I ordered tomato soup at dinner and asked for a roll to go with it, I was told that a roll would be $2.50. 2. Our flight from Honolulu to Guam was delayed and, therefore, we missed our connecting flight to Palau. We immediately called PPR, but they informed us that they would charge us $400 for the "late cancellation". 3. After paying $22 for a breakfast buffet, I wanted to take a banana back to our room to eat during our morning dive, but was informed they would have to charge me separately for the banana. And the list goes on.

Just be prepared to be treated like a commodity as opposed to a person and you will do fine. For $400/night, you deserve to be treated better (just my opinion).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This 5 star resort sits in a nice waterside location, with reasonable snorkelling off the beach, but it is really just another resort. Palau is SO beautiful you are better off not wasting your money on this over-priced resort, saving it instead for the plethora of wonderful tours that await your discovery. The food we had for lunch was way too expensive - Macdonald's hamburgers are better. If you stay at neighbouring hotels, often much cheaper, you sometimes may get access to PPR's facilities anyway.
Although not politically correct to point this out, the resort also has an increasingly commonplace Nazi non-smoking policy (not even on your own balcony!), so if you like to light up on your holiday, like many Japanese guests, do not stay here.
Caroline's Resort, just up the hill, was a more authentic Palauan holiday experience, very comfortable, and half the price

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Palau is one of the premier dive locations in the world. I spent a second week solo sea-kayaking in the Rock Islands (well known now from the TV show “Survivor 2005) and a week diving. For a week the fantastically beautiful under-water world of coral, anemones, sea turtles, mantas, and reef sharks at the dive sites of Blue Caverns, Peleliu, and Blue Corner were my mornings. In the afternoons I explored on foot the causeway-connected islands of Koror, Malakal, and Arakabesan. I paddled from Koror to the ecological wonder, Jellyfish Lake, on Eil Malk.
The "PPR" offered a luxurious repast from my paddling, diving, and hiking. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is gracious. The international clientele makes for interesting dining and cocktails conversations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were not guests here (but at Carolines Resort just up the hill) but were able to use the amenities. The bar and restaurant were good - good food (except the pizza which tasted like nothing) and great drinks. A bit pricier than other places in town but with a view like it has it is worth it! The resort and view are both spectacular. If you have the chance to visit PPR...do it. We decided to stay at Carolines because it was a single bungalow (we were honeymooners) and a better price. You definitely pay more for staying at PPR but you are paying for the location beach side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palau Pacific Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Pacific Resort

Address: PO BOX 308, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau
Phone Number:
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Koror
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Pacific Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Palau Pacific Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Pacific Hotel Koror
Palau Pacific Koror
Palau Pacific Resort South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palau Pacific Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.