We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The origin of the carved stones is as yet unknown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Monoliths

Stone Monoliths
Babeldaob Island, Koror, Koror Island, Palau
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 12 Attractions in Koror
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The origin of the carved stones is as yet unknown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

When I was in Palau as a Peace Corps volunteer, many years ago, the very first archaeologist who had ever done research in Palau had left only a few months before I arrived. As far as I could tell, he never got to the monoliths, and I've never heard of any archaeologists doing research on them since. They are quite small -- only about 4 feet tall. They're truly nothing like the heads on Easter Island, there are many conflicting stories told about their origin but nothing verified. The only thing I was able to establish, after talking to the oldest Palauans in the region, was that they are very, very old -- they probably predate the first Europeans' arrival.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
usa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed photographing the monoliths. It is 102 steps down and back up so not bad but it was extremely hot the day we went. The views of the coast are nice from up there. Our photos actually showed more details of the monoliths than I could see close up. If you have a long lens you could shoot them from the top of the hill without walking down but if you can take the heat go on down to see them. It's worth a quick stop---don't need much time there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hef111
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stone Faces from the Past”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The stone monoliths are fairly well kept, but of the beaten path. They are very interesting, but without a guide they don't speak much to the tourist. Do yourself a favor and go with a guide or local.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Monoliths okay- the real attraction, the entrance gatekeeper!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Although an interesting attraction, more historical and archeological information needs to be secured to make the $5 pp entrance fee worthwhile. The real attraction was talking to the gatekeeper!

We spent more time with him and his colleague chatting than interpreting the attraction! Would go back just to hang out with him. Don't be shy, go to his shelter and strike up a conversation!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

You get a two for one with this attraction. The stone monoliths are an integral and interesting part of the Palaun culture. It has not yet been determined though how the monoliths got to the site nor why they are there.
The second feature of the monoliths site is the absolutely spectacular view. A beautiful panorama of the jungle and outlying reefs. This is a must see.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Monoliths also viewed

 
Koror, Koror Island
Koror, Koror Island
 

Been to Stone Monoliths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Monoliths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.