We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have been really disappointed were it not for the jellyfish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palau Aquarium

Palau Aquarium
Palau International Coral Reef Center | PO Box 7086, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau
680-488-6950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 12 Attractions in Koror
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This aquarium is dedicated to teaching people about the coral reef system.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
182 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
449 helpful votes 449 helpful votes
“I would have been really disappointed were it not for the jellyfish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

You can't help but feel sorry for this place. It is relatively new, and yet so forgettable. And yes, it is way over-priced for what you get to see.

The only reason I was really happy to be there was to get spectacular photos of their jellyfish. Check out my photos attached here. Since the jelly fish are in an aquarium with lots of natural light and clear water, the close-up photo quality here are better than the ones at jellyfish lake (especially if you're using a basic, underwater point-and-shoot camera at jellyfish lake). I'm not saying there are a lot of jellyfish here....just four of them during our visit.

All of the attached photos were taken at this aquarium.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    16
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, MA
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
179 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Save Your Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I do not recommend the Palau Aquarium. The only reason we really went there was to pass the time on our last day. They do a fair job teaching about how fragile and important the reefs are, but for the eco-system that they have there they could do so much better. I was surprised they didn't have more different types of fish since there are so many specimens in the Palau Islands. I liked the small jellyfish display they had and the 2 Crocodiles that are inside a pen. You can get a good view of them. The admission was way overpriced. Seeing that the quality of this aquarium is so poor the admission should be free.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koror, Palau
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“mesmerizing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I love this place. so much to see in such a small space and i totally space out for ever in front of the most colorful beautiful relaxing aquarium

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Go visit just to support Palau tourism”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Entrance fee is high but not much to see. The Aquarium is basically a miniaturized natural life in Palau, but it is too small to be able to show you much about the real natural life

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Eminently skippable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

If you need to kill 30 minutes while you're in Koror, stop by, but if you don't get to visit the aquarium you're really not missing anything. Don't think "Shedd Aquarium" or "Georgia Aquarium" when you hear "Palau Aquarium". This is a small, dingy place, with a handful of habitat displays and inadequate signage. We were fortunate enough to be with a guide or we wouldn't have gotten anything at all out of it. Go snorkeling or diving and immerse yourself in Palau's real-world aquarium instead.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palau Aquarium also viewed

Koror, Koror Island
Koror, Koror Island
 

Been to Palau Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palau Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.