We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to Carolines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolines Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koror
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolines Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 1713, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Koror
York, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Escape to Carolines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed at the Carolines resort on a diving trip to Palau. We were a party of seven so we had 3 bungalows. No 8 was easily big enough for 3, indeed we had a party one night. The trek to the top of the hill is a problem when u have a HTO plate in your knee but the views are well worth it. The resort is dead of a an evening, but the staff will help get you to the Palua Resort down the hill. This is too far to walk. The breakfasts on the balcony are one of life's 'must dos'. The staff and management were at all times helpful. Don't go expecting luxury. It isn't that. It doesn't pretend to be. It's away from Koror, away from the town, in a beautiful location, as close to the gods as you can get.

  • Liked — The views, the staff
  • Disliked — having to leave...............................
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    32
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

We would like to add our hearty endorsements to all the positive comments about this lovely resort. Zenie and her staff are really caring, the bungalows are lovely, and the view from our terrace was truly amazing. We wish we were back there now! This is definitely the nicest hotel in Palau.

  • Liked — Unique rooms, jungle-like location, fantastic views, great staff, only 8 bungalows, access to 'normal; facilities in the Palau Pacfic Resort, nearby.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

For our first visit to Palau we were looking a nice and quite accomodation and we were totally satisfied with Carolines Resort.
Our woodden bungalow was very nice and spacious with a great view on the philippine sea. It was lovely to have our breakfast on the veranda looking at the ocean!
The hotel is located on a hill outside the main city, and it offers a convenient shuttle service (cheaper than a local taxi service) to reach Koror and nearby restaurants.
GREAT PLUS: all Carolines' guests have free access to Palau Pacific Resort facilities, just few minutes drive from the hotel. The beach at PPR is really nice and it offers good snorkelling.

Zenie, the manager, was incredibly kind and helpful and she helped us to organize any kind of activity during our stay: Pelelieu WWII tour, Rock Islands tour.
She helped us to rent a car for our visit to Babeldaob and she also suggested us very nice restaurants (we tried many and they were all excellent!).

I believe that Carolines was the perfect location in Palau!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

The hotel was wonderful if you are looking for a relaxing trip. The staff was always available and ready to help. Use of the Palau Pacific Resort is what makes the Caroline's hotel fantastic. The beds are not the most comfortable, but the view and having breakfast on your lanai more than makes up for them! The diving was fantastic

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

Nice seven bungalows, up a hill overlooking the sea. Ten minutes rides by car from Koror, and definitely a nicer place to stay than Koror which is really disappointing.
The bungalows are in the middle of a semi-jungle, with nice view.
The manager and staff is very nice and willing to help.

I just thought that the rooms could bear some improvement, in particular the bedding (really poor mattress and pillow) and the bathroom (looks quite old and basic), both of which are not at the level expected for this sort of price.
Someone commented that the place is for sale, which may explain why they do not re-invest to modernise the bathrooms and beds.
The resort could avoid some of the minor charges which are not nice to clients who pay a rather high price : e.g. 5 USD if you lose the PPR pass (how many clients lose it per annum ??? two at most ? but how many -like me- will not like to receive the message : you'll be fined 5 USD if you lose it ! Similarly, the place being far from any restaurant, it would be nice to drive clients for free (instead of charging 6 USD each time).

Access to PPR was quite nice (great pool and beach), although full of kids jumping in the swimming pool on week-ends.

  • Liked — Nice location in the middle of a jungle
  • Disliked — Bed and bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

We were flying on standby so we were unsure of what actual day we would arrive or how long we would stay. The Carolines Manager (although she insisted not to call her that) was prompt on answering our emails and more than accomadating about our weird schedule. She put us in bungalow 7, which has a fantastic view and is slightly larger than the bungalows below it. You can order breakfast in the morning and they bring it to the room so you can eat it on your balcony. Breakfast was good but I recommend skipping the waffles. Turns out they were just eggos. Also, the coffee is bad here. You might want to go for the hot tea.

If you want to be in the middle of it all, then this isn't the place for you. To get to town you have to take either a shuttle or a taxi. However, most of the day tours will come pick you up for free.

Access to the PPR was fantastic and although there is a shuttle option, the walk isn't that far. We walked down to the PPR to use the pool and the beach.

The staff was super friendly and one of them even took us to show us his home village.

This is not a place to stay if you don't like to walk uphill. All of the bungalows are on top of the hill, which gives them their fantastic views. Also this is not a good place for you if you are scared of frogs and geckos. At night they come out in full force and were everywhere. (not in your room though. Although I accidentally let a gecko in our room). The staff did tell us if a gecko got in the room and you wanted him out, they would come get it out. Didn't bother us that one got in.

  • Liked — The view from the rooms and the staff
  • Disliked — That you had to take a taxi to get to town where the restaurants are
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Lush tropical mountain setting, with great views. We just returned from a bit over a week at Carolines. We enjoyed the quiet solitude of its location. The staff was very pleasant and courteous, and worked very hard to ensure guest satisfaction. As this was our first trip to Palau we found Carolines perfect to assist in our easy acclimation to the environment. Their association with our Diving vendor (Sam's Diving) made it very easy for us to transition from the tourist mode to diving mode. I have to say that a key component of this property is its access arrangement with the Palau Pacific resort. This 5 star resort is more expensive but have all the amenities that make for a relaxing holiday (pool, fitness room, internet access, beach, restaurants, etc...) and this is a key component of this recommendation. PPR is more expensive and you can stay at Carolines with unrestricted access to PPR gives you the best of both worlds. Carolines has none of these facilities itself. I would recommend Carolines to any of my friends and if you are willing to pay premium then the PPR would be right there with it. That being said the traditional resort has its pitfalls as well, if you are looking to avoid the less seasoned travelers and their bagagge and really want a place to chill out and relax in peace then Carolines is the preferred location. Palau has plenty of Japanese and Taiwanese centric hotels that are cheaper but you concede a bit of the "escape element". Hope this helps and bottom line is Palau is fantastic environmennt awesome, diving superb, food great!!! MAKE SURE TO VISIT KRAMERS!!!

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carolines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolines Resort

Address: P.O. Box 1713, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Koror
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carolines Resort 3.5*
Also Known As:
Carolines Hotel Koror
Carolines Resort Koror
Carolines Resort Palau, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carolines Resort to your Saves list