We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dive trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aliiibamou Resorts Carolines

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koror
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aliiibamou Resorts Carolines
Save
You added Aliiibamou Resorts Carolines to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 10148, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau (Formerly Carolines Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Koror
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Dive trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in Caroline Resort during Easter break 2013 for 7 nights (dived for 5 days with FIsh n Fin).
Have got to say, this is the best holiday I've been so far. Caroline resort is without doubt, one of the best resort to stay in Palau. It has best of both world - you have privacy of your own bungalow, (breakfast delivered to your daily so you can enjoy the view) and also use the excellent facility in PPR (One of the best beach snorkelling experience).
If you are looking for somewhere romantic, quiet, with good food and best service - look no further. Other guest in other resorts were so jealous when we were getting dropped off.

Room Tip: If you dive with FishnFin, they have special rate for Carolines Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    34
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
69
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

you arrive at Carolines and your heart sinks. The access to the hotel is difficult (to say the least) and the reception area looks sad. However, the huts are great. Clean, good breakfast, good TV, air condition that works etc. Yes yes, I agree with most people here that say that value for money is poor. You pay lots and dont get much. That is true for most of Palau. The reason that Carolines is number 2 on the entire list is that it gives you everything you need + it lets you use the PPR facilities (definitely the best hotel anywhere in Palau). For us that was perfect

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

i have stayed in 4-5 different hotels in Palau. My opinion is all of them are I priced for what you get. Said this, Caroline's has great services at the reception, and some amenities like shampoo, coffee in the room, etc. location is good, with a great view to Palau pacific resort villa. Rooms are spacious, bed is ok, quite confortable and very very clean (as almost all the other hotels I stayed there). The hotel includes the free pass to PPR, one of the 2 that can give this in Koror, you should know that you can also buy is pass daily and it is 50 usd per day. When staying at Caroline's you get the pass to ppr, breakfast included and free transfer to and from the airport. What I like is they offer shuttle at almost anytime, but what most of people don't know is there is a public bus offering transport in some of the main points of koror. I asked about is but the staff didn't seemed to know, I assume is because this way you can use their shuttle service. They charge a small fee and it is much cheaper than taxi, it is still quite convenient because you can arrange anytime, also the staff is awesome and friendly. Besides this the hotel didn't wow me, but I don't think any hotel will do that in palau... Even PPR it's good but not worth to spend about 400 usd per night. Hotel needs to improve the lobby appearance, maybe do something with the gardens at the entrance.

Anyway in palau it's mostly certain you will go for diving, so you don't really need a a lot of facilities if you get a PPR resort pass. Overall I was disappointed with hotels value in palau according to its price, I think rates should be lower for what you get. Caroline's was maybe the best I stayed. So overall in would stay at Caroline's again if rates would be lower, because the added value isn't that much from my point of view, I guess it's because everything in palau is more expensive.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice bungalows with fantastic views from the balcony. Sunset is beautiful everyday. Its a rustic setting and cannot be compared to modern hotels. We were here for a week of diving so only returned in the late afternoons. It serves its purpose as a nice chilled accomodation. Whenever we wanted to head out for meals, the front desk would call a taxi for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have to add my voice to the growing chorus of the disappointed. I went pre-disposed to like it, based on the reviews, but Carolines leaves a lot to be desired and it is <baffling> that it comes in at #2 in Koror. I expected rustic (and it is that) but...

1) our cabin was dark, dank and smelled of mold, especially the threadbare sheets and lumpy pillows 2) a grainy dust of termites (?) covered the bed and our possessions every day, 3) we didn’t enjoy the balcony with the great view because of the beehives and other angry throngs of flying insects, 4) the place overall just did not feel clean. We are not precious but it was like a cheap dive I’d stay in as a college student on a cross-country road trip - but it is not cheap.

On the positive side, it's not an anonymous hotel or resort, feels like your own place, the staff are very friendly and I think for people who are out on dives all day every day and only care about a place to crash at night and a decent breakfast, I can see how it fits the bill. But if you want anything more from your vacation, you need to think twice. The ability to use the facilities at the PPR resort is a huge amenity, however. As there is no place to really lounge at Carolines (no pool, no beach, no restaurant, no bar, no area in which to chill outside of your dark cabin) we spent entire days at PPR. We just wish we had booked PPR instead. . .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Carolines Resort gets major thumbs up for its authenticity, stellar views (if you're in bungalows 5-8) and overall comfort and outdoor private deck. It's a home away from home. The interior is simple but comfortable enough and staff is always charming and helpful. A major upside besides having your own private bungalow is having access to PPR's (Palau Pacific Resort) beach and activity center which is a 12 minute walk. PPR has by far the best beach for swimming and snorkeling on the island. No car needed as transporatation is quite reasonable albeit we rented one for ease and did drive around Babeldoab to go discovering.

Minor Downsides: No clothing hooks, not enough towel bars and lack of a laundry line to hang wet clothes. Also, the sheets don't fit the bed very well and pull off,

If you prefer an intimate environment vs hotel, gorgeous well maintained gardens and lots of privacy -this is a wonderful place to base yourself. There's a small refrig for beverages, coffee maker and mini bar setup and breakfast if requested in anvance shows up at your doorstep - very nice touch. Will definitely stay here again should we return to Palau.

I hear there is a new owner who may update the bungalows - nobody seemed to know when this will occur.

Room Tip: bungalows 6-8 have best views. 8 is a family bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I really enjoyed the view, extremely nice service, it's unique, and it has the local vibe. In the previous reviews people complaied about walking up the ramp...haha! Lazy! Its beautiful and being on paradise I have no complaints.

Room Tip: every single bungalow has a great view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aliiibamou Resorts Carolines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliiibamou Resorts Carolines

Address: P.O. Box 10148, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau (Formerly Carolines Resort)
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koror
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aliiibamou Resorts Carolines 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aliiibamou Resorts Carolines has 8 bungalows overlooking a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. Our bungalows are modeled after traditional Palauan architecture using local materials such as bamboo, mahogany and mangrove. The structures are made almost entirely from wood. Each bungalow has a private balcony so you can enjoy our spectacular view and wonderful sunset from each bungalow. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carolines Hotel Koror
Carolines Resort Koror
Aliiibamou Resorts Carolines Palau, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aliiibamou Resorts Carolines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.