We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, awesome food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Island Cafe

Rock Island Cafe
Main Road in Koror, Koror, Koror Island, Palau
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Koror
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Affordable, awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A full plate of delicious food for $5 USD? Really? Yes! A friend and I had drinks, entree and a main meal for about $20. The service was flawless and we left very full without spending a fortune. They also have $2 wifi. I would recommend this place absolutely for any meal of the day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    57
    21
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Because it was close to our hotel we ate here the first day we arrived on island. The food was good and our waitress was great. all came at a decent price. Tip, if you order ice tea and like it sweet,they supply liquid sweetner, no need to use the hard sugar.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great local atmosphere...great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After you get to Palau and settled into you hotel room...what's a great local place to eat at? The answer is "The Rock Island Café". This locally family owned/operated restaurant is well known in Palau and any taxi driver knows exactly where it is. The restaurant has a great menu, homey type of atmosphere, and the staff is very helpful and courteous. The food tastes great and the helpings are NOT skimpy either. If you want a good "home cooked" type of meal with good prices and portions...come on down to The Rock Island Café. You will not be disappointed by the atmosphere, cleanliness, hospitality, and what's on the menu. The Rock Island Café is where the locals come to eat and hang out. Do you want to buy a Palauan wooden "story board"...they have several to chose from on the back wall behind the bar. The prices on the story boards are pretty cheap compared to the prices paid at the local jail. My wife bought three of them from The Rock Island Café. If you want to get out of the hotel room...hang out with the locals...come to The Rock Island Café. You will NOT be disappointed by this local restaurant...trust me.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Many selections. Well done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were tired of oriental food, so we gave Rock Island a try. In fact, we probably ate there 3 - 4 nights in our 10 day stay.

The fish and chips were comical. Fish nuggets ... OK, fine with that. The chips? Tortilla chips! I'm serious. Fortunately, we asked for an order of french fries, and they came right out.

This was the only place on the island with good, soft-serve ice cream. And, the only place we ate at where a milk shake wasn't milk, flavor, and crushed ice in a blender!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hef111
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Local Hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is on the main drag in Koror, and offers a true diner experience... but in the South Pacific. Locals are friendly here and even gave us some inside track tips for things to do around the island, including the night life.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Island Cafe also viewed

 
Koror, Koror Island
Koror, Koror Island
 

Been to Rock Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Island Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.