We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time or money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carp Restaurant

Carp Restaurant
P.O. Box 5, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau
(680) 488-3341
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 44 Restaurants in Koror
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is one of the worst places I have ever had the misfortune to visit. It was on a list of recommended place...why I have no earthly idea. The food was beyond terrible...to the point of being nearly inedible. The physical restaurant provides nothing of interest and is in a difficult to reach location. I am sorry I spent both my time and money in this place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Where the locals go to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We went to Carp because of its close proximity to our hotel, Palau Royal Resort, which is next door. We really enjoyed our dinner here the 2nd night we're in Palau that we returned to following evening. I suggest that you forgo all the Japanese courses and go for the authentic Palauan cuisine they offer. If they have the coconut crab course, order that. If not, the mangrove crab course is fantastic also. It comes with rice, sashimi (tuna and clam sashimi), and Palauan koroke (fried tapioca). Other standouts from the menu include the fried chicken, the papaya salad, and the Omu rice.

And if you dare, try the fruit bat soup. Beware, it takes strong will and determination to try this Palauan specialty. A fruit bat is boiled with the soup, fur and all. But if you are willing to try, you will find that the soup itself is quite tasty. So, what does the bat taste like? DUCK, but there are not enough meat to them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Plentiful and Good Food and Budget Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Small little place that serves big portions and has low prices. The decor and silverware need an extra buff but worth it for the great friendly service and the overall tasty food. The only dish that we were divided on was the clam pancake, otherwise all else was satisfying. Kind of place you can do everything family style and still have lots left over. Can get crowded so good to make a reservation.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tasty Slow lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Enjoyed our meals here, big generous portions, we shared around the table so got to sample their fresh sashimi, beef vegetable, fried rice etc. Service was not stellar, slow and had to flag the server down for refills of drinks and cutlery. During the day you can tell you are right next to the water but they don't have any view of it from inside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food; lousy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is primarily a Japanese restaurant. The food may not sound familiar (or even desirable) for many Americans, but it is excellent. I had the shrimp tempura and while it was not what I'm used to, it was yummy. Other people in our group got stir-fry, ramen, and other dishes. All was good. The shashimi was a generous portion and obviously extremely fresh.

With that said, the service was horrible. First, they put us in a separate room (there were eight of us) and seemingly forgot about us for quite some time.
We might not have minded if we had anything to drink. The food took a long time to arrive and when it did, only one person's meal came at a time. By the time the final meal came, the first person was nearly done eating.

Additionally, the bar menu is next to nothing: a couple of beers, a really bad red wine (no white), and some expensive saki's.

Again, good food, lousy service, no bar menu. If you're just looking for good Japanese food, go. If you want more, pick another spot.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carp Restaurant also viewed

Koror, Koror Island
Koror, Koror Island
 
Koror, Koror Island
 

Been to Carp Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carp Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.