We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know what to expect” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Guest Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koror
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest Lodge Motel
Save
You added Guest Lodge Motel to your Saves list
| P.O. Box 833, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Koror
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Know what to expect”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First thing to say is: this is the Pacific, so bear in mind that standards will be lower - much lower.
In most of the rest of the world, this hotel would be a 1* at very best, but this is Palau. The rooms themselves are adequate for a night or two. They are relatively clean by Palau standards but extremely basic. Think youth hostel from the sixties or seventies and you'll get an accurate picture.

Location is fine - 5 minute walk from Koror town centre and therefore a good base from which to explore Palau. Airport pick up is offered, but it isn't free. The staff are friendly, and willing to help with all queries.

Someone reading this will no doubt be put off, but if you are looking for a good deal, there probably aren't many better options in Palau. Being a small country, choices are limited to begin with. Add in the extortionate prices of what would be no more than 3 or 4* hotels elsewhere in the world and one is left with very few options. I'd therefore call my review more realistic than negative. I'd still stay there, but please remember not to expect much beyond a bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
8
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you go to Palau simply for diving, and you have only a tight budget for accommodation, yet wanted to get a comfortable place to stay, then this is a good option. It is well located in the city center, with plenty restaurants and shops just nearby. It might first appear to be slightly run down, but you can rest assure that the room is clean (have some ants though), hot shower working with constant high water pressure, air conditioning, room made up everyday, and towel will be changed too.
Free local call directly from the room, this is helpful when we were trying to contact dive shops or restaurant for pick up. Free wifi in the room, BUT the speed is very slow.
Service is superb! If you inform them about the thing that you are looking for (example: car rental), they went to extra miles to help you check the information needed, call up car rental company and inform you the outcome.
Free tea and coffee throughout the day. There is a small kitchen allow cooking. No more laundry room, and they charge $5/load of laundry.
There are many awesome hotels in Palau, but the rate is very high, but if you are looking for a place simply for sleeping, this is a place you should go!

Remarks: They provide pick up service, with flat rate $10/pax. If you do not engage a dive shop to provide pick up service for free and if you are travelling alone, I suggest you take this option. Taxi is expensive in Palau.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Thanks to the strange flight plan of united airlines everybody needs to pays 0.5 nights more at the end. ETA is in the middle of night, same as STD, so you ll block the rooms.
That having said, the rooms are clean, tidy and the bed comfy. The shower even has hot water, in case you need it :) The staff is friendly and can book you rentals cars for very reasonable prices (30-35$ /day).

The hostel is located more or less in the middle of town, with beaches nowhere to be seen. By the way beaches are nowhere to be seen from anywhere on the island. You need to hire a boat and get out to the outer islands. There you ll have the beaches you d expect.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the street. The backside looked a bit used up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My trip to Palau Would Had never turn out this good If it Wasn't for The Guest lodges Welcoming And Warm Hospitality. They Provide nightly rates for single and double occupancy of A low $59.00 Including Tax. With unlimited WiFi access(Free), With free Coffee. A very Quiet neighborhood located on The Back roads Very Convenient to Grocery Stores, Post Office, Restaurant, And The Police Station which is Very Pleasant. Their rooms are very spacious with Air conditioning, cable TV, telephone with free local calls, motel sized refrigerator and hot showers. They also Provide a common kitchen area, fully equipped for the customers Alike To Cook Maybe some fresh Fish That was Caught on the same day with a very relaxing and a calm vibe and just have a beer or two with your neighbors! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of Feb 2013. The rooms are large and have free (although often slow) wifi internet. The balcony is shared with a few tables and chairs to enjoy outside. It is a no-frills place, but decent. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was hot and the staff were super sweet and helpful (it's a family-run place). It is a short walk to the main street of Koror and feels safe enough to walk to and from at night.

Room Tip: Choose a front room to enjoy the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Guest Lodge Motel offers divers a great value for the rate requested. I last stayed there in January 2013 for 14 nights. It's locally owned by a very nice Palauan family who are responsive to your needs. The Motel offers airport pick-up and drop-off, and, when requested, can arrange a rental car. Air conditioners worked well, bedrooms and bathrooms were kept clean, and the location offered walking access to Koror's "shopping district." There is a phone, tv, and small refrigerator in each room. Hot water for tea and coffee is available on the rooms' outdoor deck. The rooms are quiet and appear secure.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms that face the front outdoor deck and parking lot are the most desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here 10 nights on a dive trip in May 2012. When we arrived at the airport, someone was waiting for us (as well as someone from Sam's Tours regarding our diving the next morning!). When we first got to our room, it was hot--it would be nice if they had turned on the A/C in anticipation of our arrival--and we were a little worried. But it turned out great. The room cooled down and we slept quite well. The shower has plenty of water pressure, which is really nice when you need to wash salt water out of long, thick hair every day.

The room had a refrigerator, we had brought some packaged foods, like tuna and salad dressing. We bought local vegetables and made many of our own meals. After a couple of days, we discovered there is a community microwave on the front balcony, which we used for our microwave popcorn we had brought. No coffee makers in the rooms but hot water on front and back balconies. We had brought coffee and filters and improvised with a large, sturdy plastic cup & a hair band to hold the filter, put coffee in the filter, pour in some hot water and Voila! our own coffee :)

The rooms are not fancy but they are decent, the family that runs it is nice, they supply plenty of towels and clean every day. The dive operations pick up and drop off, so we only rented a car for our last day to tour the island. The hotel is within easy walking distance of stores, restaurants and the jail--the only place to buy storyboards (be sure to negotiate with them, they don't expect you to pay the posted prices). None of the stores or museum had anywhere near the variety of storyboards to choose from.

All in all, if you want to stay in Palau on a budget and have more money to spend on diving, etc., we would highly recommend the Guest Lodge. The wireless internet had something to be desired but we spoke to people we met diving, staying at mid-range and expensive resorts, and they all had the same issue. It is not a Guest Lodge issue, it is an island issue!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the back. Quiet. The family lives across the hall on the back side. Only ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Lodge Motel

Address: | P.O. Box 833, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Koror
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Guest Lodge Motel Palau, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.