We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A piece of paradise" (Galya and Frank Biegel)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palau Plantation Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koror
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palau Plantation Resort
Save
You added Palau Plantation Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O Box 1722, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burgas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"A piece of paradise" (Galya and Frank Biegel)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Palau Plantation Resort was the best place we have ever stayed in!!!
Great location, great service, great staff. Thank you SHEEN! Thanks to everybody who made our holiday unforgetable...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    41
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
46
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Matsumoto, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have traveled a lot in the Pacific Islands and know what to expect. The Plantation Resort was a destination that exceeded our expectations on almost every point. Not being a beach front resort turned out to be a non issue. The EXCEPTIONAL attention and service from the entire staff was second to none. The front desk delt with any and every request and question we had. Three days into our stay we were asked if we would allow them to upgrade our room for the remaining five days as they could use our room for someone else. We did not eat at the restaurant but the Jungle Bar had WONDERFUL creative food as well as a comfortable feel and can take care of both your dinner and drink needs. Two small local convenience stores next door can supply you with snacks and beer etc. Their ability to book thru their tour desk can keep you in diving, snorkeling, ocean kayak activities thru your entire stay if necessary. They have a pool two jacuzzi hot tubs and a sauna to relax in. HIGHLY recomended

Room Tip: Some rooms are jungle view, a few are Rock Island view, request your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC Candaa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Hidden Gem! Palau Plantation was a wonderful hotel. The rooms were quiet individual huts that quite different from your regular hotel room. The walls were all a dark wood, with a high A frame ceiling with a thatched roof. There is a nice patio overlooking the jungle and taro field. The air condition was efficient and quiet. Beds were made up every morning in a design that was very unique and different every day.
The bathroom is great design with a full glass window looking out on to a little garden that is walled off for privacy, with lights on the garden in the evening. The electric toilet even had a heated seat with a bidet option.
Palau Plantation caters more to the Japanese tourist but anybody from North America was made to feel very welcome. There is a funky little Jungle bar with great appetizers. I cannot say enough about the staff. They were always friendly and helpful. We mentioned that the cot that our son was sleeping on was very “creaky” and it was replaced by the next morning. The restaurant was the only negative. A little over priced for breakfast and with some great restaurants nearby, we did not have dinner there. This hotel is within walking distance from town. They provide a free shuttle that leaves every hour in the late afternoon and evening. They had a large drying room for your own towels or dive gear that was very effective. They have internet access for a small fee but it was not very fast. Overall, a great small resort.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

This was our first time in Koror, Palau for scuba diving and we chose PPR as part of our dive package.

The property is quite relaxing and definitely gives you the Micronesian feel. The customer service was amazing, especially from the Japanese women. We received an upgrade for our room and it was beautiful.

We were, however, a little disappointed with the restaurant and the spa. At the restaurant, the service by the waitpeople had many shortcomings. For instance, when we asked for some clarification on the ingredients of an item, we were met most times with blank stares as they didn't know the menu. Another time, we asked her specifically to not give us our entrees until we finished our appetizers and they came at the same time. Things like this shouldn't happen at a resort which charges $7 - $8 more than restaurants in downtown Koror that offer free transport!

Re the spa, we purchased their 2-hour treatment for $120 and it was NOT worth it. While it was possible my masseuse was a real CMT, it was the same woman who cleaned our room a few days before! (If she really did get training from either the Philippines or Palau, then their training is terrible!) In addition, the atmosphere you'd expect to have in tropical spa was non-existent - I had to tell them to turn OFF the music as what sounded like a Lizst piano sonata just didn't create a very relaxing experience!

So, overall, I think the service as you'd expect it from the Japanese was 100% there. But, from the Filipinos, it was definitely short. (This was disappointing as I am a Filipino-American.) It's all in the details, and when you pay what you pay for the PPR - especially with its restaurant and spa - it's just not there.

  • Liked — The rooms and the Japanese staff
  • Disliked — The restaurant and the spa
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan/Bahamas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a 6 day holiday in Palau and we must say that we truly had a wonderful time.
We cannot say enough about the Palau Plantation Resort. What a terrific place!

When doing a search through most of the hotel search engines on the internet, I found that only 2 or 3 were listed (In reality there must be at least a dozen hotels in Koror). It was only through TripAdvisor that we came upon the Palau Plantation Resort. On the strength of the one review (at that time) we contacted the hotel.

This is a full service hotel with a limited number of rooms (bungalows) (There are only 15 rooms). Service is wonderful. The hotel, like many in Palau is aimed at a Japanese clientele and as such, the accommodations and service are at a "Dai ichi" standard.

We stayed in a superior cabin. The setting was spectacular. With a large balcony looking out to the Rock islands, it was a wonderful place to be. The bathtub and shower also had an unobstructed view of the mountains and plantation. Incidentally, the bathroom was marble and spotless. The aircon worked very well as did everything in the room.

I have travelled extensively in the Pacific. This is my 4th trip to Palau. The Plantation Resort is the tops.

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Disliked — The quality of breakfasts could be boosted a bit
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

We booked our accommodation with Sam's Tours for 7 night trip during the week of Thanksgiving.
I was going to go with Palau Pacific Resort, but the rooms were not available for the dates.
The lady at Sam's Tour had recommend us to stay at Palau Plantation Resort. We decided to go with local recommendation and book there without much knowing about the accommodation.

To our total surprise, Palau Planation Resort was more than what we asked for and more! It's only about 3 year old, and everything inside and out look new. The plants, flowers were lush. They are beautifully planted around resort and each individual rooms.
We stayed in a bungalow with our own walk way.
The rooms were stained dark wooden planks walls reaching all the way to the triangular ceiling. The ceiling was open feel. The room make you feel like you are absolutely on vacation.

I was in total awe from the first day i was there. The plantation provide great modern amenties, including Japanese style toilet.
the towels are thick, and there's even pairs for slippers.

Room service were impeccable. Staff are friendly, helpful, and they always put a smile on their face.

the bathroom is practically all marble tiled. the bathtub is twice as big as regular bath tub.
We staying in our room every morning to have breakfast brought to us. The breakfast was delicious!! I practically have American, continental, asian, and Japanese.

I cannot say enough good things about this place, and this would be the place that I come back to on my next vacation to Palau

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palau Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Plantation Resort

Address: P.O Box 1722, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Koror
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palau Plantation Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palau Plantation Resort is a South Pacific hideaway offering travelers a wide selection of traditional styled cabins, cottages and villas surrounded by the natural beauty of a tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palau Plantation Hotel Koror
Palau Plantation Resort South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palau Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.