We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Namukulu Cottages & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Namukulu Cottages & Spa to your Saves list
Namukulu Cottages & Spa
PO Box 171, Alofi, Niue   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$399 (NZD)
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Namukulu cottages exceeded our expectations. Beautiful detached "Lockwood' style bungalows, spacious and well equipped. Brian and Theresa seem to have thought of everything with some lovely extras you don't normally expect. Lack of aircon might be an issue in mid summer but in August the fans were perfectly adequate. Lovely grounds, a great little pool for a dip after a hard days exploring, and a wonderful lookout to sit and watch the sun go down and the whales go by.
Namukulu is towards the Northern end of the island, about 30 mins drive from Niue dive, 15 from Alofi, but most of the best snorkelling and walking spots are close by so it really isn't a problem unless you don't have a car.
Thought the four dogs might be an issue as my partner is a bit of a dogophobe but they are all very friendly and greet you with enthusiasm as you arrive (every time you arrive!) I think the dogs are the reason Namukulu isn't plagued with Cockerels competing for who can crow the loudest at 3 am. We heard this is a problem at some of the other residences, but not here.
I would wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation.
Thanks Brian and Theresa, keep up the good work

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namukulu, Owner at Namukulu Cottages & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello, Monica, Martin & Diane

Many thanks for spending the time submitting your review of our property. We are so happy you had an enjoyable stay with us and your time on Niue. It is always nice to hear back from our guests that the extra things we provide are appreciated. Hopefully one day you will return to Niue, and Namukulu Cottages & Spa, and maybe instead of a car, try one of the scooters which we now have for hire. It was lovely having the three of you, and once again thanks and safe travels in the future.

Teressa, Brian and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What more can I say, we enjoyed our stay at Namukulu Cottages and would love to go back. The location of the cottages makes it very peaceful but then the whole Island is like that. We were met by Teressa at the airport with our car which was well used during our stay.
Pizza night on Tuesday night saved us from sorting out food for the evening and these were cooked by the lovely Donna. The lookout was a great place of mine to sit and watch out for whales or just relax. On our last morning we were treated to a lovely display by two whales, what a way to end our stay on a beautiful Island.

Room Tip: All cottages are in good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namukulu, Owner at Namukulu Cottages & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Debbie,

Many thanks for your review, and we are glad that Rebecca and you had an enjoyable time on Niue. We are still spotting whales from our lookout, and the Pizza nights are just as popular now as they were when we first started them. We will pass your comments onto Donna. Hopefully the two of you will be able to come back for another visit, and when you do return, Donna's new Cafe will be open at this end of the Island.

Take care, Teressa & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
193 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
504 helpful votes 504 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Namukulu Cottages for two weeks for NZ$2450. There are four cottages; three one bedroom and one two bedroom, along with the proprietors home, in a beautifully kept garden surrounded by forest. The cottages have views down over the sea and there is a lookout with seat which is great for whale watching, bird watching and sunsets. The pool is one of only two on the island and was clean and well maintained. We made frequent use of it.

They are cottages not cabins. In cottage 1 we had a kitchen/living room/dining room, bedroom, bathroom and balcony, and all areas were spacious. The cottages were well maintained and cleaned daily except Sundays. They were comfortably furnished, including the beds. It was not like stepping into 'vogue living' but it was the relaxed island lifestyle that was just what we were looking for. All the rooms had louver windows with insect screens. They were fully open when we arrived and in exactly the same positions when we left.

The kitchen was very well equipped and I prepared most of our evening meals there without stress. There was a perfectly functioning gas cook top, microwave and press grill as well as a barbecue on the balcony. There was a full size fridge and real equipment; sharp knives, a large pot for pasta and storage containers. None of the annoying stinginess that one so often finds in supposedly self-contained accommodation.

There were also generous start-up supplies. In addition there was an excellent list of supplies that could be purchased from the office including fairly-priced decent wine. Guests may use the washing machines and the powder is complimentary. Each cottage has it's own line for drying.

Brian and Teressa Scott are Canadian-born Australians who seemed very committed to providing excellent, friendly and personal service. Their four dogs are also a part of the service team. They were very well mannered and there was no jumping up, unreasonable barking or pushing their way into our cottage.

Namukulu Cottages are 9km north of Alofi and there are no restaurants closer than that. Don't fool yourself, you do need your own transport on Niue. We paid NZ$600 for a small car from Alohi Rentals for two weeks. This end of the island does have the easiest snorkelling sites. There are June Bugs and the bad news is that they come when they come and insect screens will not stop them. The good news is that they do not bite and you do not have to try to kill them. The property is not close to homes so we did not hear any roosters.

I left Namukulu Cottages feeling that I had chosen the best accommodation on the island and we thoroughly enjoyed our time on Niue, at a very leisurely pace.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namukulu, Owner at Namukulu Cottages & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Geoff & Catherine.

Many thanks for the great review, and we are glad you enjoyed yourself during your time on Niue. We try to make the cottages as comfortable as possible, and welcome suggestions from our guests regarding the amenities. The service team are doing just fine, and Mya still goes around on plane day and finds the guests who will pay ball with her. We are building a new Café at this end of the island which will open next year, so everyone on Niue will now have a dining option at the north end. Yes, we agree the june bugs can be a bit of a nuisance but they are everywhere on the island, and only come out at dusk, and disappear an hour or two later. Sometimes they will be here and sometimes not. It is just part of island life.
Again thanks, and have a great trip to Iran.

Brian & Teressa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Enjoyed our stay immensely. A sheltered private haven. The cottages are immaculate and have a homey feel about them. Thanks Brian and Teressa we loved everything you are doing. We had the most relaxed time we have had on a holiday and appreciated your help and friendliness. Everything about the cottages is well thought out and works! Hope the pizza night continues too.
Thanks again Ross and Sharon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namukulu, Owner at Namukulu Cottages & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Ross & Sharon, many thanks for the review, and we are happy you had a relaxing and enjoyable time on Niue. The Pizza nights seem to be a success and will still be continuing. If all goes to plan, a new Café which will be located at our end of the island will be opening next year. Many thanks again, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Brian & Teressa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Namukuku Cottages would have to be one of the best places to stay in Niue. The cottages are quiet, very well appointed and comfortable, set in a beautiful spacious garden overlooking the swimming pool and the sea. Our hosts Teressa and Brian were great, always willing to help or answer our queries. Tho' the cottages are a 20min. drive from Alofi, they are very close to some of the best snorkling, caving and reef-walking spots. A highlight for us was spotting whales from the Namukulu look-out!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namukulu, Owner at Namukulu Cottages & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Jill, Don & Wendy

Many thanks for the review. It is always nice to get positive feedback on the work we do trying to keep Namukulu Cottages to a high standard. Since you have left, some of our guests have seen the whales from the lookout, and even from their cottages. Hope the telephone charger arrived in the mail. Hope you will be able to return to Niue and join us again.

Many thanks, Brian & Teressa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toodyay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our experience with Teressa and Brian at Namukulu Cottages was excellent right from the time we arrived on the island. Brian met us at the airport and pointed us to our hire car. He also pointed out the local supermarket as we followed him to the Cottages. The cottages are situated on the northern end of the island and are quieter than accommodation in the main town of Alofi. They are close to some of the best caves and snorkelling spots on the island. From our verandah we had a beautiful view of the ocean. Each cottage has a microwave, a cook top and a barbecue to cook your freshly caught fish, crayfish and crab. Cereal, bread butter and jam are supplied for breakfast. I especially recommend this place to dog lovers as the owners have four beautiful dogs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namukulu, Owner at Namukulu Cottages & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Gillian & Jim

Many thanks for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed the local cuisine, not many visitors to Niue get to have crayfish, even we were a bit jealous. We are happy you had an enjoyable holiday on Niue and hopefully you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Namukulu Cottages were just what was required for my husand and I. A superbly well equipped, clean and serviced cottage. Brian and Teressa were very good hosts with a wealth of information about the island and kept the grounds immaculate. We would definitely recommend the cottages to friends considering going to Niue. The use of snorkels and bikes added to the enjoyment of our time spent on Niue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namukulu, Owner at Namukulu Cottages & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi Kirsty & Bryan

Many thanks for your comments. It is always nice to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay at Namukulu Cottages & Spa. You certainly gave the mountain bikes a good workout. You should come back to Niue for the Rally of the Rock race which is held on the Queens Birthday weekend next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Namukulu Cottages & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namukulu Cottages & Spa

Address: PO Box 171, Alofi, Niue
Phone Number:
Location: Niue > Alofi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namukulu Cottages & Spa, has 1 two bedroom, 3 one bedroom, and 2 studio apartments all with ocean views from our clifftop setting. Located in a totally tranquil tropical setting. You can visit the islands best snorkel & swim spots, caves and chasms all in close proximity, then return to relax by the pool or pamper yourself at the day spa. No Children under 12 years of age accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Namukulu Cottages & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namukulu Cottages Hotel Niue
Namukulu Cottages And Spa
Namukulu Hotel Alofi
Namukulu Cottages & Spa Niue/Alofi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namukulu Cottages & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.