We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation, friendly obliging staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Matavai Resort Niue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Matavai Resort Niue to your Saves list
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tapeu-Porritt Road | Tamakautoga, Alofi, Niue   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good accommodation, friendly obliging staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at Matavai Resort for our weeks visit to Niue. The food was good, we ate breakfast there each day, continental included in the tarrif. Evening meals were enjoyable and eaten on the terrace looking out at the setting sun. The accommodation was good, beds were very comfortable and the pillows were acceptable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the Matavai. When we requested a 2 person picnic lunch for the next day, it was ready on time, and contained sandwiches, hardboiled eggs, fruit, cake, potato chips and drinks. More than adequate, all for the price of $18.00!!! Clean towells were available each day, and if required, we could have clean sheets on our bed each day. There are a few maintenance issues, but nothing impacted negatively on our stay. Thanks you to the staff at MatavaResort for wonderful service, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatavaiGM, Front Office Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Matavai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    86
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
127
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Due to the configuration of our extended family, Matavai was the best choice for us and we had a fantastic stay.

Rooms: Clean, spacious with individual balconies. We had 3 rooms side-by-side, and the great thing was that you could unlock the doors connecting the balconies so we had one long balcony to share between the 6 of us. Note that there is no in-room safe, but no one had any problems leaving money or items in their room.

Food: The food was fantastic - watch out for the hot chips tho... they are so delicious and just a little bit addictive! Highlights would be the tuna sashimi, smoked marlin & the garlic ginger chilli prawns. Don't be fooled by the word prawn... they really are just little bitty shrimps, but still very tasty.

Facilities: 2 pools which were great to cool off in. A bit too much chlorine sometimes :-( Heaps of levels of decking which gave you different views of the coast and sea. Clean toilets in all areas including by the pool, restaurant and reception areas. Gardens tended to every day. Resort store has very limited to offer, but so do the rest of the "shops" in Alofi

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatavaiGM, Front Office Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for your review of Matavai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This resort doesn't have a web page, that combined with the very little others knew about Niue (including the travel agent), felt like we were going into the unknown on this trip. However, on arriving with our two young children (4 and 6) and my elderly parents, it was soon clear that the resort and the island would be an excellent for our seven night stay.

The Matavai is small and does not have the constant activities organized that larger resorts elsewhere do, but you don't need them since there is so much to see on the island. It is also a great place to just relax, with all the rooms, the restaurant, deck and pools all having stunning views. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean and we had easily enough room sharing a studio unit with our two children. The resort’s two swimming pools are nice and well-maintained. It’s worth noting that there were mosquitoes in the evenings, so bring your repellent.

Our kids (and the adults to that matter) particularly loved the swimming / snorkeling at the small sandy beaches (yes there is more than one) at Tamakautoga Village next to the resort, Avatele and at the beach in Alofi (very safe at low tide with lots of fish). We all loved the Limu Pools and could have easily stayed all day there. The adults also went snorkeling with dolphins, which was spectacular in the crystal clear water outside the reef. We were invited to a church service on Sunday morning, which was a real experience and on the same day had a beer under the stars at Wash Away Bar (an open-air and self service bar). On another day we stopped on the side of the road to buy fresh coconuts and ended up being invited in to taste some traditional Niuean lunch. We all meet lots of interesting people – visitors and locals alike.

Niue is for the adventurous, but we had no problem with accessing all the sea tracks, chasms and other areas we visited with our mixed group. Most places have well-formed and safe tracks and steps to allow access.

Everyone is really friendly and helpful and the island is extremely safe. The resort is a great place for all and I think Niue is really worth the effort to get to. In the end, our only regret was that we did not stay 14 nights since we didn’t manage to see all the sights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatavaiGM, Front Office Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review Matavai Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Niue is how the world should be, no mobile phones, no ATM's ( who needs them anyway ), layed back at times so slow the world could stop. You need a car to get around but then don't use it that much as there is no where to go really. Swimming is great. Food is good, bakeries highly recommended. Watch out for Sundays and head to Wash Away Cafe for a lazy lunch and quiet drink. We were luckly amd swam with a Humpback whale which was a surreal experience. We would go back again !!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatavaiGM, Front Office Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for reviewing Matavai Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Imagine sipping the best NZ chardonnay on the deck of the Matavai Resort, watching the sunset over the Pacific, at peace with the world, no mobile phones, no ATM's - then this is ideal for you.
No glitzy nightlife, but good, honest appeal to those fed up with the bright lights (apart from the stars), noise and fast paced resort living.
The room I stayed with my wife was always clean, the bed so comfortable it was hard to get up for the 9am breakfast cut-off, and endless hot water (great for the ladies!!).
You need to overlook a resort that is still in the 1980's. What you do have is paradise lost. Niue is peaceful, the locals so friendly - and this is the style of the Matavai.
The Matavai staff are accommodating and generous to ensure you enjoy your stay.
The best advertisement is would I visit again? Yes, definitely!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatavaiGM, Front Office Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for reviewing Matavai Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the lovely welcome we had by the staff of the Matavai Resort in Niue. The vista as we walked through to the deck is spectacular with incredible ocean views and the beautiful reef visible through the clearest ocean waters we have ever seen. The main deck and pool area is awesome and peaceful and you can see pods of spinner dolphins frolicking just in front of the this area.
The rooms are very comfortable, clean and with full facilities including Air con which was a must if you want a comfortable night in the extra warm evening temps. Nice Ocean views from the balcony.
From our research on the internet we expected a basic facility with limited food options and amenities but were amazed by the quality of the food in the main restaurant and the choice available. The fresh Crayfish and Coconut Crab was delicious, and fresh local caught Yellowfin tuna and Wahoo steaks are a must to try. Nice breakfast with fresh fruit, toast and jam and a full cooked version if thats what you want.
The staff are awesome and so friendly, they just cannot do enough for you, nothing was too much trouble.
The only down side with Nuie is the Flys and Mozzies so pack plenty of repellent and you will be fine.
Great location with Nuie Dive right next door that do amazing dive trips in the clearest water with average visibility of 50-70m while we were there. Lots of caves, crystal clear swimming pools and a few small coves with a little beach around the island.
We would recommend the Matavai as a great place to chill out and just enjoy a peaceful vacation. We loved it so much we are going back in August for another 2 weeks!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatavaiGM, Front Office Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for reviewing Matavai Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We just got back from an incredibly relaxing week at the Matavai. Whilst in comparison with other Pacific Island hotels, this one is very low key, that's not a bad thing. The service is lovely, the location is beautiful, and the facilities excellent. Overall I would say the standard of food on the whole island (including the hotel) rated maybe 6.5/10, but they do try their best, and its not like we went there to eat anyway. It was an excellent time to be there, I believe there were only 17 tourists on the island & about another 20 business people, so wherever we went we had the place to ourselves, including the hotel pools, which were so nice after a day out in 30 degree heat.

Niue is not a place to go for nightlife or shopping, but its an astronomers dream, & I reckon cavers could be kept busy for months. If you're good at entertaining yourself, enjoy the sun, & love peace & quiet, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatavaiGM, Front Office Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for reviewing Matavai Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scenic Matavai Resort Niue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Matavai Resort Niue

Address: Tapeu-Porritt Road | Tamakautoga, Alofi, Niue
Phone Number:
Location: Niue > Alofi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scenic Matavai Resort Niue 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Matavai Resort is Niue's premier accommodation option. Designed to take full advantage of its unique environment, our resort blends into the breathtaking landscape of coral outcrops, coconut palms, rainforest, and tropical flowers. Perched over the Pacific Ocean, the resorts' cliff-top deck provides a vantage point from which to watch the resident turtles surface, spinner dolphins patrol, and humpback whales cruise right past the resort.Matavai Resort has recently undergone a multimillion dollar refurbishment and expansion to bring it's exceptional facilities in line with the very best on offer in the Pacific. The new building blends contemporary comforts and luxury with a classic, timeless style. Guests can enjoy a meal at our highly regarded restaurant, soak up the sun on the expansive cliff top decks, or relax after a long day exploring at the poolside bar. Scenic Matavai Resort Niue is the perfect place to base your Niuean adventure. The resort is 8.5 Km from Alofi Town Centre, and whilst airport transfers are included in your stay there is no public transport or taxi service on Niue so we highly recommend arranging a rental vehicle before you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Matavai Resort Niue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue Alofi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.