We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel. good location, some tweaking needed to make it great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Noumea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Noumea to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Noumea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, rue Louis Bleriot | Baie de l'Anse Vata, Noumea, Grand Terre 98807, New Caledonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Noumea
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A good hotel. good location, some tweaking needed to make it great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

-- Booking and Transfer --

Prior to booking I compared prices on a number of pages, including aggregate sites (Wotif, Booking.com etc), Wyndham’s website, and lastly the direct website of the hotel. All prices were comparable (within $100 for a week between all the sites) however for our stay the most competitive method of booking was direct through the hotel.

The online booking service allows for you to select a Transfer from the airport which was a very competitive €52, and we selected this to collect us from the airport on our arrival into Noumea.

We entered in our flight details and estimated arrival time. These were listed on our booking confirmation email, so we assumed all would be well.

When we arrived into Noumea we were distressed to find that there were no transfers waiting for us, and the general transfer bus that services Anse Vata did not have us on their list either.

After the staff at the transfer counter made a call (we assumed to the hotel – but apparently not) we were told that we definitely not on their list and would have to pay for a transfer and the hotel would reimburse us once we arrived.

When we arrived at the hotel, the counter staff apologised for not booking our transfer (it was in our booking in their system but the step of actually booking us onto the transfer had been overlooked) however were confused as to how to reimburse our transfer costs.

As we had only booked/paid for transfers one way, we asked them to simply transfer the pre-paid transfer to our return transport to the airport. This was a solution happily agreed upon.

Check-in was easy and we were given the opportunity to sign up for the Wyndham Rewards program which we did.

-- Room --

We received Room 106 – a Deluxe Room - overlooking the race track. The room was spacious and big enough for two people for a week.

The room was clean and was cleaned daily by friendly housekeeping staff. It had ample lamps and lighting, a good air-conditioner, and a TV.

For some of our stay the hotel was unable to pick up any TV stations beamed out of Australia however CNN was still available as an English language channel.

The facilities for in-room catering were good however a tea-towel wouldn’t go astray. As there is only one small dish strainer, by the time you wash up a pot, two coffee cups, two or three plates and a heap of cutlery there is no room left to have crockery drying.

After housekeeping inadvertently took our dish cloth it also took two days to get a replacement issued. Dishes you can manage washing without a cloth, but this made wiping benches etc down impossible.

The bathroom was clean, and we were provided basic amenities. It is interesting to note that the hotel provides conditioner but no shampoo. Not a big deal as we had brought our own with us, but a bit odd!

-- Hotel --

The hotel is in a good location and is maintained in good order. The staff were friendly and were happy to answer any queries that you may have for them.

They were able to give us general information about how to get around town and where to find certain things (for example, where to get a take-away pizza, and where the nearest supermarket was).

The pool was cold during our stay however this is due to both the weather, and the fact that it is hidden from the sun by the towers of the hotel. I’m sure in Summer this would be a great place to relax.

Whilst we didn’t use the revolving restaurant, we did have both dinner and drinks at the bar during our stay. The drinks were a good price during happy hour, but the food we ordered was small compared to what we were expecting, and was warm and not hot. I probably wouldn’t eat at the bar again.

We ordered some chips/frites via Room Service one night and were told that if we wanted ketchup or mayonnaise to go with it we would have to take the bowl down to the bar and squeeze some on ourselves as these weren’t able to leave the bar. This defeats the whole purpose of room service, but understand there may be only so many bottles to go around.

-- Tourist information / Concierge --

There is a lack of current tourist information available in the “concierge” area. For example, the flyers for the local Golf Driving range show 2011’s tariffs. I didn’t make it to the driving range to confirm, but would assume these prices have changed by now.

Whilst we were there we asked the staff to help us with a trip to Isle of Pines. They were happy enough to book us a taxi to meet the boat, and called to find out the times and prices for the boat, but failed to tell us that to buy tickets and board the boat you need photo identification and/or a passport.

When we arrived to buy our tickets we did not have our passports with us (we, like most travellers do, had left our passports in the hotel room safe) however thankfully had our drivers licenses with us which allowed us to buy tickets and continue with our day trip.

Another couple who were coincidently also staying at the Ramada were in line and did not have any photo ID with them so could not board and missed the boat completely. As IDP is a fairly common destination for both tourists and locals alike I would assume that staff would have known about the requirement for identification and should have conveyed it.

I would have been VERY cranky if we’d have missed the boat due to not knowing to have photo ID after we had asked the hotel to arrange the trip.

I’m not sure if the staff assumed we would have had our passport with us (it may be a common New Caledonian thing – we were asked for our Passports when changing money at the bank too) or if they didn’t know themselves and we don’t blame them for this. We found them very helpful otherwise in organising this day trip, and nothing was too much trouble.

-- Check Out --

After the dramas with the transfer from the airport initially, a few days prior to departure we checked with Hotel staff that our transfer had been booked from the hotel. It had, and would arrive at 2.15pm.

We had to check out at 11am (note that despite my signing up for Wyndham Rewards at check-in, the perk of late check-out is not offered until my membership has been processed) and the front desk staff were happy to hold our bags until the transfer came.

As 2.15 came and went, we became concerned about the transfer. The front desk staff, also confused that our transfer had not arrived, called the transfer company to be told that our flight was delayed by one hour and our transfer would arrive one hour later at 3.15pm.

We had been monitoring the flight times via various phone apps and the flight being delayed was news to us. A few phone calls by Reception staff later left them equally confused as the airport and airline also didn’t have any knowledge of the flight being delayed.

At approximately 2.35pm the hotel got an email from the transfer company with a revised schedule for our pickup. Due to only a small number of people being on the same flight that we were on, they were sending a smaller bus and as such didn’t need as much time to meet our (still on time) flight.

The transfer itself was pleasant, and we made our flight with time to spare. Everyone would have been much happier if the transfer times were accurate, and I understand that is somewhat beyond the control of the hotel.

-- Overview --

Would I stay at the Ramada again? Yes. Overall the hotel helped us to have a wonderful holiday, and we will no doubt be back when next we visit Noumea.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaNCMgr, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Noumea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear landersonic

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay here at Ramada Plaza Noumea. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.
I am pleased to inform you that our property has started a renovation program and your comment about the blackout curtains has been taken in consideration.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramada Plaza Noumea
Sincerely,

Frank Bechemilh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    120
    64
    30
    25
See reviews for
81
117
16
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was a good, clean room, and I'm not sure whether it was an upgrade or not, but it came with a kitchenette too which came in handy and provided plenty of space to spread out. The only complaint I had was the sun was a bit bright in the morning and I couldn't complete block it out with the blinds (for a good nights sleep I prefer a very dark room). Having said that I was up early anywhere to explore the beach and nearby bakery with its tasty french croissants. The hotel did have a pool, but it looked a little small, and I preferred to just go for a swim at nearby Anse Vata beach. The staff were friendly, approachable and spoke much better English than my French!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaNCMgr, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Noumea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay here at Ramada Plaza Noulea. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.
Our room are now also under renovation with new furnitures. And we hope that this new design will please you for your next stay at our property. The location near Anse Vata is good and quite, and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Ramada Plaza Noumea.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramada Plaza Noumea.
Sincerely,

Frank Bechemilh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and the staff were great as they were so helpful and always smiling. I stayed here for about nine days and they upgraded me to a fabulous room with wonderful views over the racecourse. I really enjoyed the food here too. I can't think of anything negative to say.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a room on the 14th floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaNCMgr, Responsable réception at Ramada Plaza Noumea, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay here at Ramada Plaza Noumea.
We particularly appreciate positive feedback about our staff as this is a great way for the staff member and the management team to realise that we are delivering on our Count On Me! service promise. It is very rewarding for the team when we share this feedback directly with them.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramada Plaza Noumea

Sincerely,

Frank Bechemilh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Such a great location in Anse Vata. Spoilt by bad service, confused employees and expensive pricing on food and beverages.
I have stayed here on many occaions previously and it has not improved over the years.
Average at it's best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaNCMgr, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Noumea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay here at Ramada Plaza Noumea. Please accept my apologies for the level of service you received during your stay.

The ramada is now refreshing its furniture and has started a renovation program.

I want you to know how much we appreciate your visit to the resort, and how much we value you as a guest. We hope that you will give us another opportunity at Ramada Plaza Noumea to show you our “World Class” service. I am confident we will exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,

Frank Bechemilh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiristchurch
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Ramada Plaza Noumea in New caledonia, For us very comfortable to get everything beautiful cafe restaurant, city very friendly service and We're very impressived with Emanuel.Thanks for nice holiday from you. We will be there again. Stephan Soo and Angelina

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaNCMgr, Responsable réception at Ramada Plaza Noumea, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Miss and Mister Soo

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay here at Ramada Plaza Noumea.
We particularly appreciate positive feedback about our staff as this is a great way for the staff member and the management team to realise that we are delivering on our Count On Me! service promise. It is very rewarding for the team when we share this feedback directly with them.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramada Plaza Noumea

Sincerely,

Frank Bechemilh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Check in was painfully slow and we were eventually told where our room was. No offer of assistance with the luggage. Room overlooking the race course. Nice view and the room was a good size but that was about it. Heat build up through windows was u8nbearable and you could not open a blind until the afternoon. Air conditioner leaked water onto the carpet throughout the night. They tried to fix it on a couple of occasions but they were not successful. Carpet was saturated and quite wet underfoot. The room therefore smelt dank and was not pleasant. Room lighting was very ordinary and very hard to read anything with low levels of lighting. The place had mould and was not very well cleaned and the balcony was filthy.

Swimming pool was set up as a lagoon with a beach but the pebblecrete finish to the pool was quite sharp underfoot. Beach sand was fairly dirty with cigarette butts in it.

Up side was the revolving restaurant was very good although very expensive.

The hotel is a long way from the beach and is not as close as stated in the brochures. As the crow flies it may be around 300 metres but to walk is closer to 750 metres.

Would not recommend this place to people I didn't like let alone friends!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaNCMgr, Responsable réception at Ramada Plaza Noumea, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay at Ramada Plaza Noumea. Please accept my apologies for the level of service you received during your stay.

I want you to know how much we appreciate your visit to the resort, and how much we value you as a guest. We hope that you will give us another opportunity at Ramada Plaza Noumea to show you our “World Class” service. I am confident we will exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Frank Bechemilh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Noumea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Noumea

Address: 7, rue Louis Bleriot | Baie de l'Anse Vata, Noumea, Grand Terre 98807, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Noumea 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with international brand standards, 188 rooms all equipped with kitchen, swimming pool, sport bar, the unique revolving restaurant of New Caledonia "Le 360", 5 minutes walk from beaches, private parking with kid's club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Noumea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Noumea Hotel Noumea
Ramada Noumea
Noumea Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Noumea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.