We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big on space but small on comfort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Sole to your Saves list
Casa del Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 route de l aquarium | Baie des citrons, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Noumea
Te Puke
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Big on space but small on comfort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Huge two bedroom apartments which if you are not on floor 16 resonate like a bass drum from the guests above. Use and flushing of toilets above at all hours is not the melody of waves crashing on the shore. An added extra for guests on the sunny side is a disco at full blast at 3.30am. Stay on the cold side and enjoy the wonderful sea views. Things to take....plenty of anti cockroach spray, tea towels,face cloths,pegs, and strong rope to stop being blown off the magnificent balconies complete with sun beds. We were there 15 days and experienced two mornings without wind. Mornings only as y lunchtime it was a SE gale again. The reception staff are just wonderful and did all they could to make our stay comfortable. For a view and location it's very good. Overpriced.

Room Tip: Get suite 1603
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    69
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
51
38
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for a week - great size of rooms very spacious but sparcely equipped. Very clean we stayed in 1 bedroom apartment on 5th floor which was good but noisy at weekend. Hotel is round so need to decide which side to stay on. Our room overlooked Anse Vata beach but lost the sun early

Room Tip: Need to wieg up which side of hotel for view, trime of day for sun and distance from noise. We over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just spent 10 days in apartment 1405 and couldn't fault it. Casa del Sole deserves a much higher rating than 2 stars. After reading some of the reviews here I wondered if we were staying in the same place. Our apartment had two TVs- one the latest plasma - wifi, coffee machine, jug, teatowel and sponge, sun lounges and outdoor table, comfortable sofa and chair. There was an oven with rotisserie, microwave, washing machine, dishwasher, ironing board and iron and a safe- even a carpet sweeper. In the bathroom there were both French and Australian plugs. One of the pillows was a bit hard - but that was our only complaint.
After a week we were offered a service of the apartment - clean sheets, towels etc. When you check in you are given details of use of phone etc and they say if you need any cooking utensils to ask before 4pm every day. The French can opener was incomprehensible to us until a fellow guest showed us how to use it. Next time we'll take our own.
The little boutique beside the entrance has fresh bread daily and sells anything that you might need in an emergency. But the Casino supermarket 15 minutes' walk away has a terrific selection - and the Carrefour, a further few bus stops on, would have to be one of the best supermarkets in France. The market is also a few bus stops away.
We have stayed on the Anse Vata before but the Baie des Citrons is a much more sheltered beach - especially in winter. Our apartment was the Anse Vata side and affected by cool trade winds, so it would probably be better in summer as the Baie side gets afternoon winter sun. This was our sixth visit to Noumea and we will definitely return to the Casa del Sole.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you want to rent a spacious apartment in a handy location this place is for you. It is situated at the far end of Bae des Citrons. Entrance is via a busy parking lot. By taking a 3 minute walk across a 4 acre vacant lot you are on Anse Vata beach. This beach is a lot nicer than Bae des Citrons but windier. I would recommend that if you can get an apartment at Anse Vata, then that would be the better place to stay.
Casa del Sole, supplies 2 pats of soap, 2 shampoos and 2 toilet rolls. They do not service the room during your stay. So as soon as you get there you are off buying milk, tea, sugar, soap powder etc. The television sets are small and really old and the shower is over the bath but the water is hot and good pressure. The staff are pretty indifferent and will look the other way if they see you coming. If you want friendly people then go to New Zealand.

Room Tip: If you stay on the south (Anse Vata) side you will not see the sun. I don't think it's any q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The bathroom and view was very superb as well as the close cafes and tourist shop. The pool was also very clean and blue as some of the staff where very nice, kind and had a scene of humor. The water in the bathrooms was very warm and clean and the shampoo bottles and soap was very useful.But sadly the didn't have any tea towels,not enough plates and cups,the dishwasher didn't even work ,as it looked very old, and much more.The T.V was very good how there was some English channels [12 and 13] the room was very tidy [ except under the couches there was a lot of sand underneath them as the whole hotel had just been cleaned. The furniture was very nice , a little plain but still very nice, as the outside area was nice to eat at and relax.I think to improve it , it could have cushions so it wouldn't be so hard against your head and back .The rooms were all right as one of the beds didn't have a light. It could also have a bit more pillows. We had to use the quilt as a pillow because it was to low.It could use a lot more coat hangers too .The bathrooms where VERY VERY excellent 9/10 the water was the right temperature as well as there was two bathrooms.The showers was also good cause of the curtains and the fact it was a bath too.The toilets where very good as they flushed well and worked properly but if it had more towels and a hair dryer it would have been perfect.The staff was all right but not very help full. .The janitor was very chatty and nice he was very nice to be around.Sadly the noise was very annoying on Friday,Saturday and Sunday especially.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are much quieter and bring a tea towel to do the dishes as the dishwasher do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Positives: Very spacious two bedroom apartment. Close to Anse Vata and Baie des citrons. Very close to aquarium. Good restaurants and shops close by. The janitor was very genial and friendly.

Negatives: Expensive. Not very sound-proof - a lot of noise from neighbouring apartments. Very basic furnishings - no radio or clock in the bedroom. No kettle or coffee machine. No toaster. Fridge was so cold it froze all our food. Plugs didn't fit the plug holes. TV but no dvd player or cd player. Three ugly couches and a coffee table in the living area. Dining table with six chairs. Price does not include wifi or cleaning. The receptionist was very unpleasant and unhelpful. No room service. Maintenance unavailable after 4pm.

Conclusion: Poor value. Not a very good experience. Next time we will stay closer to the Noumea market and rent a car. It will be cheaper and we will be able to travel around Noumea more easily.

Room Tip: choose rooms on Anse Vata side as Baie des citrons gets noisy after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Probably the best views of any hotel in Noumea, and our apartment was very spacious and comfortable.

However, one of the bedrooms had no lighting at all, the dishwasher didn't work and the kitchen was poorly equipped. Didn't get the feeling that reception staff were going to stress out over fixing anything, so didn't pursue it.

Note to families: we've travelled to many countries but NC was by far the most expensive to eat out, and what you got was often not that good. We tried to self cater from supermarkets but that nearly bankrupted us too. We tended to live on nuts and Pringles......

Room Tip: Either side has great sea views, but try to get a higher floor to avoid noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sole

Address: 10 route de l aquarium | Baie des citrons, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
appartement une chambre de 62 m2, deux chambres de 93m2,terrasse spacieuse avec vue sur mer,appartement équipé (four,micro onde,plaque électrique,vaisselle,lave linge),boutique d'alimentation,résidence sécurisée, wc japonais dans certains appartements, cafétéria, coffre fort dans les appartements, appartement rénové avec sol en carrelage ou parquet ou moquette,salle de bain en granit,écran tv plat, a proximité de toute commodité, vue sur mer, possibilité de service personnalisé ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sole Noumea
Casa Del Sole Hotel Noumea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.