We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very old hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Surf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Surf Hotel to your Saves list
Le Surf Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Prom. Roger Larroque | Anse Vata Bay, Noumea, Grand Terre 98847, New Caledonia (Formerly Novotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Noumea
Poprad, Slovakia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
1,040 helpful votes 1,040 helpful votes
“very old hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

this hotel is well situated but need a full refurbishment...room stink, walls are covered with mould, it is discusting!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    42
    69
    46
    37
See reviews for
39
70
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Just come back from a 9 day stay at Le Surf. Where does one start!! The hotel is in HUGE NEED of refurbishing! The room we had the first day was uninhabitable. The stench of damp mould was overpowering! We insisted on being moved the next morning. This room was slightly better. We had already paid for the holiday so moving hotels wasn't an option! The shower leaked. You could see where they had tried blocking the holes in the tiles. After showering the floor was one big massive puddle. There was mould all over the walls and outside ceilings. The roof had a hole in it, bits were falling off the sides of the hotel and the whole place leaked like a sieve! The pool: there was grass and weeds growing out of the cracks, the tiles in the pool were broken and we were able to actually be at the pool for 2 of the days we were there. The rest of the time the locals children overtook it and nobody got a look in!! Not a hotel I would at all recommend. The staff were friendly and helpful, this kept us going. We didn't eat there, too expensive and you had to fight the sparrows to the food!! Lots of cool places to eat down Anse Vata and Lemon Bay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasuda, Japan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

staffs are friendly! may need some renovation, but overall, it's very comfortable.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Just returned from a 7 day stay at Le Surf Hotel. Don't eat there for breakfast - too expensive and half cold. Walk up to end of Anse Vata Beach to "Le Fare" for beachfront breakfast - half the price and great food. Hotel staff were very friendly - could not fault them. Take a bottle of perfume to spray in the bathroom - only way to keep smell away from toilet - drainage prob??? Otherwise our room was clean. Location was great - a short cut through to Baie des Citrons - a bay full of restaurants, out of the wind, and spectacular sunsets. Anse Vata where Le Surf is situated on is where a glass bottom boat leaves from for the two Islands visible from your balcony (we stipulated a room with an ocean view - otherwise you might get the other wing that is run down with pool views). Water taxis available up the other end of beach also. There is a supermarket that sells french wine for about $10Aus., baguettes, terrines, fresh fruit etc. if you turn left into the street that runs near the new La Promenade Hotel and Shopping Complex on Anse Vata beach. The Vietnamese Restaurant at La Promenade Complex is fantastic and good value. Also one of the first Cafes at Baie des Citrons - a Viennese cafe - next to a Creperie - sells rolls, sandwiches, tarts and breakfasts at a reasonable price. I would recommend Le Surf for its location (maybe not for a honeymoon if you were wanting luxury), just remember the perfume and ask for a view.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

i actually liked this hotel. true all the rooms were outdated, i got locked out on my balcony twice and there was a cheezel under my bed from when i got there till i left but it was actually pretty good for the money. remember evrybody NC I FREAKING EXPENSIVE!!! the maids cleaned my room twice a day and i had a balcony over the pool with an AWESOME view of the ocean. my favourite feature was how you could walk out of the reception area, over the bridge leading over the water features, past the abr, around the pool, through a nice little path through the coconut trees and voila. right across the road is the beach. remember this is definitely not the best hotel in new caledonia but when you look at the prices of those that are the best then this gets knocked up quite a few notches.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

As you have read before New Caledonia is Expensive!! Don't think i've been anywhere that charges $NZ13 for an icecream. The hotel was good value for money, but saying that we did book on the 2 For 1 deal. The rooms were clean and the maids made a good job every day. The garden view has to be taken with a pinch of salt unless you have a vertical cliff about 10 yards up your back garden. The reception and downstairs bar were very smart and we sampled the beers on a few occasions (during 5 till 6.30pm when they were half price!!!)
The great bonus for this hotel is the Fitness Cenre out the back of the hotel which is free to use for hotel patrons. It i9s well stocked with good (but a little worn) equipment. Even if you don't go there for a work out it is worth going for a view over the bay. Stunning on a nice day!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

I just stayed at this hotel and agrre with the many negative comments on this web page. I don`t need to repeat the bad shape & quality of service, it is unfortunately true.
I rather would blame to management which must run with closed eyes around or even is not existing anymore.
Yes N.C. is an expensive place, but after all the costs I wouldn`t save on the hotel anymore. It really can ruin your trip to this paradise. The situation is also not really good as you have to walk at least 10min what ever you want to do.
Good experience I amde with Park Hotel or Ramada. Any Hotel around those to can cover minor isues with better location.
If you already booked the place , don`t worry - just don`t expect to much and spend more time outside on this lovely island ;-)

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Surf Hotel

Address: 55 Prom. Roger Larroque | Anse Vata Bay, Noumea, Grand Terre 98847, New Caledonia (Formerly Novotel)
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Surf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Surf Noumea
Hotel Le Surf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Surf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.