We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   140 Promenade Roger Laroque | BP 18716, Noumea, Grand Terre 18 716, New Caledonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Noumea
New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just returned from a sun drenched relaxing holiday at Chateau Royal. The refurbishments made from the Club Med days (our 1st visit) are modern and stylish. Try and secure a room facing the beach from floors 4 - 7 for great views.

We read many of the previous reviews for this resort before travelling and noise and customer service feature regularly. Unfortunately a function on our last night was far too loud, however we received a prompt e-mail apology from the Manager when we got home.
The customer service we experienced was perfectly acceptable. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. All you need to do is show some courtesy in a foreign speaking country. We do not speak french but learnt Bonjour (hello), Merci (thank you) and a few other words and this went along way to building rapport.

Room Tip: A room facing Anse Vata beach gives perfect views of sunsets, action (wind & kite surfers).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Philippe Claverotte DG

Hi Again ....:)

Thank you for your comments who are very important to us and for improving our product.

Kind Regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    114
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
65
144
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel was lovely, good sized rooms with a beautiful pool area. Unfortunately they didn't book our airport transfer when we asked for one and upon checkout we discovered we had no one to take us to our flight. We then had to pay for a private car which was 4000 francs more expensive than a regular transfer. A bad end to our trip and poor form for the hotel to not pay the extra for their mistake.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Philippe Claverotte DG

Sorry about this late answer.
Your comments have help us to correct some mistakes.

Kind Regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here with two friends in a 2 bed apartment. Both bedrooms and lounge/kitchen area had french windows which opened up onto a small balcony with a fabulous view. Immaculately clean throughout the whole place. A massage at the Spa was great and the breakfasts were superb.
Everything is very expensive in New Caledonia as they import 90% of goods from France.
Hire a car and get out and see the island.

Room Tip: A higher floor is better for views and away from any low level music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Philippe Claverotte DG

Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is my 4th trip to this Hotel in the last couple of months and have not a bad word to say about it.

The hotel is located right on the beach at Anse Vata, with heaps of restaurants nearby.

The rooms all have fully equipped kitchen, complete with oventop, microwave and dishwasher.
The balcony runs the length of the lounge and bedroom with amazing views out onto the bay.
There are several restaurants and bars in the hotel. My room rate included a Buffet Breakfast which was a great start to the day.

There is a lovely swimming pool located at the front of the hotel overlooking the beach complete with swim up bar.

Reception is always welcoming and nothing to much trouble.

My only critisicm would be the pillows too hard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Philippe Claverotte DG

Thanks you for your comments,I will see what we can do for the pillows.

Kind Regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Arriving early evening at Noumea’s modern La Tontouta International Airport, we moved quickly through customs and immigration procedures, collected the luggage and went outside the terminal to meet the Arc en Ciel transportation service that was to drive us to the hotel. We had booked and paid for this service on line, prior to leaving Sydney, which streamlined the procedure. We shared the spacious mini-van with others from the plane, but if desired, a private transportation could be booked for a higher fee. The airport is 45kms from the city, so it’s a shame the flight arrives after dark, as you cannot see the beautiful scenery on the way into town. However, I did enjoy the scenic trip on the return journey to the airport.
We stayed at the newly opened Chateau Royal Hotel, located on the beach at Anse Vata, set amidst tropical gardens and lawns. Our room, which was actually a two room suite, had a full length balcony that could be accessed from both rooms, and the sweeping views across the bay could be seen from almost every part of the room. There was also a fully equipped kitchen, complete with dishwasher, oven and cooktop along with dinner plates, cups, saucers and cutlery for four people. Perfect for those wanting to try their hand at cooking some of the local produce.

There was a large flat screen TV in the lounge area as well as the bedroom.

The bathroom had a large shower recess but no bathtub.

Although the hotel is right on Anse Vata beach, there’s also a large swimming pool, surrounded by palm trees, ideal for relaxing in the sun. The hotel is also famous for their spa, providing massages and every sort of beauty treatment one would expect. With several restaurants and bars, the hotel offers almost everything for a perfect stay.

The hotel, in my opinion, is 4 star and offers almost everything for a perfect holiday - except one things - SERVICE.

The staff generally seem to be doing you a favour and were certainly more towards 1 or 2 star service. The Reception area was very unwelcoming and we had to wait a lengthy period before being acknowledged each time we went there.

Service generally in this hotel left a lot to be desired, but apart from that, we had a pleasant stay.

Little to criticise about the hotel, so if your expectations of service are low, you may enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over Anse Vata Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Philippe Claverotte DG

Dear Sir Thank you for your comments, we will work to improve Reception area services.

Kind Regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faulconbridge, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is our second trip to New Caledonia . Having stayed at another resort previously, we must say the Chateau Royal was indeed far superior. We stayed in our own apartment with cooking facilities, which were beautifully appointment. Also, the size of the apartment was very generous and spotlessly clean.
Although our holiday was in their low season, it was still very enjoyable . Not all poolside services available at this time, certainly does not detract in any way.

The buffet breakfast is more than adequate for the fussiest of diners. Meals in the restaurant are nicely presented and the children's meals are quite large .

I would certainly not hesitate in returning to this resort.

Room Tip: The apartments are the way to go for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Philippe Claverotte DG

Thank You.

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrabit
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We shared a 2 bedroom apartment with another couple and it was perfect as each bedroom sported the same spacious bathroom and opened out onto a deck. The kitchen wasn't fully equipped but we did manage to cook a couple of meals. All facilities were new and decor pleasant. The swimming pool was situated overlooking the beach which was lovely. All staff and especially the boutique manager and Phillipe the general manager. We would recommend this place to anyone. Only complaint us the pillows! Very hard and high.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Phiippe Claverotte

Thank you for your comments.
Hope to see you back in New caledonia.
Kind regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 140 Promenade Roger Laroque | BP 18716, Noumea, Grand Terre 18 716, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Noumea
#1 Luxury Hotel in Noumea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#2 Business Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tera Beach And Spa
Royal Tera Beach Hotel Noumea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Royal Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.