We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good aquarium” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarium des Lagons Nouvelle Caledonie

Aquarium des Lagons Nouvelle Caledonie
3 route Aquarium, Anse Vata, Noumea, Grand Terre, New Caledonia
262731
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in Noumea
Attraction details
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

There's more to this place than meets the eye. An extensive selection of aquaria, including a dark room with phosphorescent corals. Some large tanks with a wide array of fish (though one always feels sorry for the sharks). There's a rock pool which seemed popular with children - they gave a presentation there but it was entirely in French. I found the exit confusing - you continue on from the dark room through a curtain into what looks like a children's area, then through past more tanks and into the gift store. Well worth the trip, and would be great for entertaining children.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    223
    61
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very nice aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited this very nice aquarium during our vist in Noumea.It is not very big but we loved to see all these different fish we usually don't see in other parts of the world.The displays are well presented . The next day I snorkeled in Baie des Pins and saw many of the same fish I had seen in the aquarium

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good time pass for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The entry price is reasonable..we got a family pass...and the kids loved everything there..and I loved to see my kids happy so it was a good experience.
The aquarium is not very big so kids are not tired during the visit...great displays with nice seating in places so you can rest as well..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One of the very best aquaria in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great displays, good signage, moderate entrance fee. The displays were wonderfully colourful and the quality of the presentations was faultless. After seeing these fantastic corals, fish, etc, who needs to go scuba diving? Deservedly popular, I'd put this right at the top of Noumea's must-sees.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a couple of hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised with this wonderful aquarium. It is quite extensive and has very large tanks with so many different species. Well laid out and very informative. English and French descriptions for each tank. The variety of fish and coral was amazing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarium des Lagons Nouvelle Caledonie also viewed

 

Been to Aquarium des Lagons Nouvelle Caledonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarium des Lagons Nouvelle Caledonie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.