We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Miretti Gascon

Le Miretti Gascon
Gabriel Laroque | Anse Vata, Noumea, Grand Terre, New Caledonia
264041
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 125 restaurants in Noumea
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Efficient Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This restaurant was just at the end of our street (Ramada Plaza Hotel) very convenient, got in without a reservation at 7.30. Very efficient service, lots to choose from on the menu (English on then menu) all staff also spoke English. We had Mahi Mahi with a mustard sauce and also grilled salmon with a champagne sauce (very yummy) good size meals. House wine was also good and you need to save room for deserts. We had orange creme brulee and the tarte tatin (apple and caramel tart) large serves and very good.
Great French dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    33
    37
    16
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Was recommended by two delightful local shop-owners (one of whom actually made the reservation for us).”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having dined at Miretti last night, and having now read Tripadvisor's reviews; here is my opinion. Yes, the decor is probably a little dated, and the waitress was very definitely the matriarch of the establishment; but the standard of the food and service was excellent. There were obviously many locals dining there, which to me is a recommendation in itself. It is a family-run business, and as such, has a friendly and intimate feel that can not be experienced in a larger restaurant. We would definitely go there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewantin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Excellent food Just like being in Perigord an d the Dordogne again. Top marks for the Cassoulet and Duck dishes plus attentive service and very friendly local diners

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“oh_those_sauces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner here. The sevice was excellent and the Lady who runs the place was one of life's most interesting people. The wait staff are very well trained and helpful to those without a good grasp of the french language. The food was glorious. The sauces were spectacular. Had some great wine too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Le Miretti gascon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This restaurant was at the end of the street near our hotel. We were delighted to see it open on the Monday night of our stay. Delicious food, I had snails and my partner the french onion soup and he followed with confit duck. As good as eating in France.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Miretti Gascon also viewed

 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to Le Miretti Gascon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Miretti Gascon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.